• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hannibal Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 687 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Laurence Fishburne, Hugh Dancy, Caroline Dhavernas
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 122
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games thatMikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    The BEST series i've seen so far! Amazingly well written and directed, acting is magnificent, graphics and effects are WOWW!! What's best isThe BEST series i've seen so far! Amazingly well written and directed, acting is magnificent, graphics and effects are WOWW!! What's best is the art of killing involved, aws each episode is presented with a delicate murder served with a side of some fine body parts. You'll fall in love with it, guaranteed. Expand
  3. May 16, 2013
    10
    This is a truly incredible show and a breath of fresh air for main stream television. Every year the big networks chew something old up andThis is a truly incredible show and a breath of fresh air for main stream television. Every year the big networks chew something old up and spit it out with a new name and a couple new actors and call it 'fresh.'
    It's is great to see a show that plays like a movie. Some find it too slow, or boring. I call that character and plot development, and it used to be important in entertainment. I am honestly surprised a show of this quality isn't on HBO or Showtime. And sadly, it's general acceptance by the masses may cut short a true gem on the 'knob channels.'
    I hope I'm wrong.
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Hannibal, unlike other shows on television, isn't afraid to be different from everything else on free-to-air networks. It is impeccablyHannibal, unlike other shows on television, isn't afraid to be different from everything else on free-to-air networks. It is impeccably executed, featuring some of the best, if not the best, cinematography on television - along with fantastic writing and a chilling and eerie soundtrack by Brian Reitzell. The series is also an incredibly moody one, with plenty of disturbing and grotesque imagery that many television series nowadays try to avoid. The characters are fantastically written and they feel realistic - the acting also is brilliant, especially from the lead cast members, Hugh Dancy and Mads Mikkelsen, who convey realism and humanity to their characters - also the chemistry between them is fantastic. Season 1 overall is pure brilliance; an underrated gem that deserves more recognition and I certainly hope the series continues for a long time. Expand
  5. May 20, 2013
    9
    I was reluctant to get into this; a friend convinced me to give it a try & I love it. It's based on the book, Red Dragon and is a bitI was reluctant to get into this; a friend convinced me to give it a try & I love it. It's based on the book, Red Dragon and is a bit different from the movie. Mads Mikkelsen plays a phenomenal Hannibal and Hugh Dancy plays an interesting Special Agent Will. I actually don't mind Laurence Fishburne as Jack Crawfor, like I thought I would (had to get over my CSI issues w/ him...). I also like the female version of Freddie Lounds- also brings great dynamic to the story.

    I caught up on all the episodes via TV on Demand and I gotta say that I regret not having more faith in the series from the get-go. So far, the show has great writing, powerful imagery (great special effects and is really dark for the network), and I love the creative flashbacks or visuals for Graham's for imagining he's the killer or committing horrible acts of violence- they really nail that aspect.

    Looking forward to the remaining episodes of the show and hoping, if there's a season 2, that the writing will remain strong and that we'll see a seamless story showing how Hannibal gets bested and yet remains a force to be reckoned with behind bars.
    Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    This is a show you simply cannot miss. Expect great acting from almost every cast member, spectacular visuals, and memorable dialogue. ThatThis is a show you simply cannot miss. Expect great acting from almost every cast member, spectacular visuals, and memorable dialogue. That being said, be prepared for a painfully formulaic first half of the first season. It's not bad or boring; the episode structure is just very evident pretty soon. But if you can get past that, the second half shows more promise with an interesting plot arc. Then get ready for some of the finest television around with the Season 2, because that's where it's all at! Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actorI was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Expand

See all 122 User Reviews