• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hannibal Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 649 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Laurence Fishburne, Hugh Dancy, Caroline Dhavernas
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 118
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I Almost just made this account to tell the writers and people about this incredible rare and unique series broadcast on Nbc, Axn. The Hannibal series is terribly underestimated and underapreaciated, this will cause the series to fall. Please support hannibal series and bring them up, i just hate silly series beeing broadcasted in tv like pawn stars pawn this pawn that too many comic series, please stop! .. Bring up the good series, good police series. Start watching good shows or we will find ourselves with **** series like pawn stars and even if you know its stupid it has a lot more views than hannibal, how is that even possible!! , this is a masterpiece, you are making tv look stupid!, yes you! , the consumers dont support art and support crappy tv shows. I hope somebody hear me. Im sorry for my english im from Argentina. Cheers! Expand
  3. May 17, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, my favourite new show this year! While undoubtably not "fun for the whole family" I would highly recommend this for fans of Dexter and similar shows. Mads Mikkelsen is a gripping Hannibal Lecter with solid performances from Dancy and Fishburne as well as the supporting cast. Aside from brilliant acting, the show really shines through its presentation contrasting Hannibal's immaculate feasts and some legitimately shocking murders. While drawing criticism the fact that the show doesn't hold back is the show's greatest strength separating it from a miasma of mediocre cop dramas that flood modern television. I must admit the show lacked direction in its early episodes but now each episode is compelling and drives the story forward, leaving me "hungering" for more Hannibal. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This So called show "Hannibal" is the most brilliant piece of art, in the work of films, that i have managed to watch for my entire life. The parts in "Hannibal" where bodies is laying all over, can maybe become a little overwhelming, for some people at least, but for the most people, i think, this could be a nice and good attachment to their history in films. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Brilliantly shot, creepy, refined, dark, good ending to season one. A little bit out there, and slightly hard to follow, high hopes for seasons going forward. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    As a fan of The other films starring Will Graham (Re Dragon and Manhunter) the TV series was of interest to me. I love how they have created Will as a cop who can barely handle his thoughts as a killer, and how he can still do his best to solve the crimes at hand. Having Hugh Dancy is surprisingly welcome since he seems less likely to have a sick mind the same way Edward norton or William Peterson did, yet portrays it very well.
    Mads Mikkelsen makes for a much different Hannibal than that of the iconic Hopkins, and can show even subtle touches as to how the character is thinking, be it in his quarters or when viewing a crime scene.
    The crime scenes are downright disturbing and having Will bring the scene to life adds to the freakiness. The third episode in particular had gruesome imagery, as well as some pyschological scares in what happened to some of the victims of the first episodes killer. Its truly inventive and leaves a lasting impression to the viewer.
    I am looking forward to how the rest of the season turns out, but I am hooked and cannot wait to see where the series goes next.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews