• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hannibal Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 636 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 116
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I Almost just made this account to tell the writers and people about this incredible rare and unique series broadcast on Nbc, Axn. The Hannibal series is terribly underestimated and underapreaciated, this will cause the series to fall. Please support hannibal series and bring them up, i just hate silly series beeing broadcasted in tv like pawn stars pawn this pawn that too many comic series, please stop! .. Bring up the good series, good police series. Start watching good shows or we will find ourselves with **** series like pawn stars and even if you know its stupid it has a lot more views than hannibal, how is that even possible!! , this is a masterpiece, you are making tv look stupid!, yes you! , the consumers dont support art and support crappy tv shows. I hope somebody hear me. Im sorry for my english im from Argentina. Cheers! Expand
  3. May 17, 2013
    10
    I was reading some of those "critic reviews" and wondered what they were watching. Hannibal is a very entertaining series: quite a refresher to the usual monotonous droll that usually airs. Compared to most other crime shows, the graphic imagery presented is mediocre. I actually prefer to see more of Hannibal's techniques, since the show is covering a period in his life when he is virtually unrestrained, and suspicions are elsewhere. Mads Mikkelsen is electrifying, revealing a certain verve that resounds cheerfully in us witnesses. This series is a must watch. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This So called show "Hannibal" is the most brilliant piece of art, in the work of films, that i have managed to watch for my entire life. The parts in "Hannibal" where bodies is laying all over, can maybe become a little overwhelming, for some people at least, but for the most people, i think, this could be a nice and good attachment to their history in films. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    At first, I hated it. But then I understood its premise. It's a psychological horror thriller. It sets a mood. It's not logical. It's art made of gore.. and it's really well done.
    I am not a horror person so I didn't understand the genre. Not that I totally 'get it' now but I feel like I am coming to appreciate what I think he is trying to do with this show. Which is to a) make horror-fun of a society that overvalues "fine-anything" to extremes and b) creep the bejesus out of us while he, the director/creator is doing it. He succeeds! You are watching people being FED to other people.... AGGHHH!! that is horrific and revolting and yet, there you are watching it and almost, ALMOST celebrating Hannibal's deeply disgusting "justice". Hannibal is a monster, no doubt about it, but the way the show is done, you find yourself forgetting that fact, often. And that is super creepy on it's own! This show is very well done and even though I am not one to ever recommend horror, this is worth watching.
    Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    This is a show you simply cannot miss. Expect great acting from almost every cast member, spectacular visuals, and memorable dialogue. That being said, be prepared for a painfully formulaic first half of the first season. It's not bad or boring; the episode structure is just very evident pretty soon. But if you can get past that, the second half shows more promise with an interesting plot arc. Then get ready for some of the finest television around with the Season 2, because that's where it's all at! Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Expand

See all 116 User Reviews