• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Hannibal Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 729 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 128
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games thatMikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seemsI must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seems to only appear when Will is in the "zone", I obviously missed something early on... Expand
  3. May 17, 2013
    10
    I was reading some of those "critic reviews" and wondered what they were watching. Hannibal is a very entertaining series: quite a refresherI was reading some of those "critic reviews" and wondered what they were watching. Hannibal is a very entertaining series: quite a refresher to the usual monotonous droll that usually airs. Compared to most other crime shows, the graphic imagery presented is mediocre. I actually prefer to see more of Hannibal's techniques, since the show is covering a period in his life when he is virtually unrestrained, and suspicions are elsewhere. Mads Mikkelsen is electrifying, revealing a certain verve that resounds cheerfully in us witnesses. This series is a must watch. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This So called show "Hannibal" is the most brilliant piece of art, in the work of films, that i have managed to watch for my entire life. TheThis So called show "Hannibal" is the most brilliant piece of art, in the work of films, that i have managed to watch for my entire life. The parts in "Hannibal" where bodies is laying all over, can maybe become a little overwhelming, for some people at least, but for the most people, i think, this could be a nice and good attachment to their history in films. Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    9
    First off, this television program is marginally better than the films which preceded it. Hannibal (2001), Red Dragon (2002) and the god-awfulFirst off, this television program is marginally better than the films which preceded it. Hannibal (2001), Red Dragon (2002) and the god-awful Hannibal Rising (2006) don't come close to this series when it comes to intelligence, charisma and charm. This series follows Will Graham (played masterfully by Hugh Dancy here) as he is brought back into the FBI for a series of cases by Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne). Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) assists him in these cases and also acts as his unofficial psychiatrist.
    Laurence Fishburne plays his part brilliantly, and is the best Crawford we have seen thus far. Mads Mikkelsen provides an astonishing performance as the charming and sophisticated cannibalistic serial killer Hannibal Lecter. However, the stand-out performance of the lot is that of Hugh Dancy as Will Graham. Dancy seems to be playing to his strengths here, and fulfills the role perfectly, turning the character into his own. While the Graham in previous incarnations was simply haunted by his past in the FBI, Dancy turns the character into a sort of autistic savant.
    Dancy's character is sort of fun to watch. Sleepwalking, channeling his nightmares and feelings about the criminals he has to deal with through the ownership of an absurd number of dogs, and his diminishing mental state as the show progresses. His relationship with Lecter, and that with Abigail Hobbs, the daughter of serial killer Garret Jacob Hobbs, who Graham killed, make the character come to life. Most of the habits of Dancy's character come straight from the writings of Thomas Harris, such as his love of dogs, but otherwise it is all Dancy's intuition and his transforming of the character into his own creation.
    Let's not limit this to Dancy's performance, however. All of them were astonishing, from Laurence Fishburne's portrayal of Jack Crawford, to Mads Mikkelsen's performance as Hannibal Lecter. This has to be one of the best Lecter performances, only behind that of Anthony Hopkins in Silence of the Lambs. Mikkelsen lends himself perfectly to the role, and he doesn't disappoint. The characters, and indeed the actors, all fulfill their roles perfectly, and the casting is magnificent.
    Some, mainly those who don't enjoy horror or splatter films, will probably be put off by this film and it's level of horrific violence. You will see people impaled on antlers, with the flesh cut from their backs and spread out, and having their limbs removed while they are alive. In the event that you feel put off by this sort of thing, you should probably abandon the show immediately. However, all shows are aimed at a certain kind of audience. I don't like True Blood because of the fact that it plays out more like a soap opera than an actual TV show, but some people love it for the same reasons. I love Game of Thrones, but some would be put off by it's graphic scenes of sex and violence. Same here.
    All in all, this show is magnificent. All of the acting is done brilliantly and to it's full effect, and it's as enjoyable as ever. Though it cannot appeal to everyone, nothing can, and it thrives on what it does do, so I do believe this show should continue for another season. I hope the ratings agree with me.
    Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    As a fan of The other films starring Will Graham (Re Dragon and Manhunter) the TV series was of interest to me. I love how they have createdAs a fan of The other films starring Will Graham (Re Dragon and Manhunter) the TV series was of interest to me. I love how they have created Will as a cop who can barely handle his thoughts as a killer, and how he can still do his best to solve the crimes at hand. Having Hugh Dancy is surprisingly welcome since he seems less likely to have a sick mind the same way Edward norton or William Peterson did, yet portrays it very well.
    Mads Mikkelsen makes for a much different Hannibal than that of the iconic Hopkins, and can show even subtle touches as to how the character is thinking, be it in his quarters or when viewing a crime scene.
    The crime scenes are downright disturbing and having Will bring the scene to life adds to the freakiness. The third episode in particular had gruesome imagery, as well as some pyschological scares in what happened to some of the victims of the first episodes killer. Its truly inventive and leaves a lasting impression to the viewer.
    I am looking forward to how the rest of the season turns out, but I am hooked and cannot wait to see where the series goes next.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actorI was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Expand

See all 128 User Reviews