• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 769 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 133
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games thatMikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. absolutely great.I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. Expand
  3. May 22, 2013
    10
    Brilliant. The atmosphere created here is hypnotic. Sensationally filmed and acted.. visually its very appealing. gimme me more. On late butBrilliant. The atmosphere created here is hypnotic. Sensationally filmed and acted.. visually its very appealing. gimme me more. On late but worth the wait! Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seemsI must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seems to only appear when Will is in the "zone", I obviously missed something early on... Expand
  5. May 20, 2013
    9
    I was reluctant to get into this; a friend convinced me to give it a try & I love it. It's based on the book, Red Dragon and is a bitI was reluctant to get into this; a friend convinced me to give it a try & I love it. It's based on the book, Red Dragon and is a bit different from the movie. Mads Mikkelsen plays a phenomenal Hannibal and Hugh Dancy plays an interesting Special Agent Will. I actually don't mind Laurence Fishburne as Jack Crawfor, like I thought I would (had to get over my CSI issues w/ him...). I also like the female version of Freddie Lounds- also brings great dynamic to the story.

    I caught up on all the episodes via TV on Demand and I gotta say that I regret not having more faith in the series from the get-go. So far, the show has great writing, powerful imagery (great special effects and is really dark for the network), and I love the creative flashbacks or visuals for Graham's for imagining he's the killer or committing horrible acts of violence- they really nail that aspect.

    Looking forward to the remaining episodes of the show and hoping, if there's a season 2, that the writing will remain strong and that we'll see a seamless story showing how Hannibal gets bested and yet remains a force to be reckoned with behind bars.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    solid 7.5, rounded up.

    pretty far from perfect, but different and very stylised. it is both easy to follow and a piece obsessed with art
    solid 7.5, rounded up.

    pretty far from perfect, but different and very stylised. it is both easy to follow and a piece obsessed with art and aspiring to be it. this show is at once accessible and also very interesting. it isnt hannibal the early years, as its concerned less with hannibal that with its protagonist, and is of a different style and tone than the films. it does work, and it is well worth watching. its production values are top notch and its an eerily curious piece. you will need to put your suspension of disbelief in a fridge, nestled amongst some choice cuts of carrion though.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actorI was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Trailers