Harry's Law : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    Too preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which IToo preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which I like so I just watch it while doing some housework. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    5
    It's essentially a far more liberal and less funny version of Boston Legal. If you like long liberal tirades about social justice then watch this show. The first episode has two in the first ten or so minutes. If liberal tirades aren't your thing, the characters or plot are not strong enough to keep your attention. Maybe it'll get better because David E Kelly has a lot of talent, butIt's essentially a far more liberal and less funny version of Boston Legal. If you like long liberal tirades about social justice then watch this show. The first episode has two in the first ten or so minutes. If liberal tirades aren't your thing, the characters or plot are not strong enough to keep your attention. Maybe it'll get better because David E Kelly has a lot of talent, but right now its kind of a dud. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    5
    As an avid fan of "Boston Legal" and other David E. Kelly work, I can't help but help feel disappointed by "Harry's Law". When I heard that Kathy Bates would be helming the project, my expectations skyrocketed, but when presented with the finished product, I was severely unsatisfied. Truth be told, the only one who has any real acting talent is Bates: nobody else in the show delivers theirAs an avid fan of "Boston Legal" and other David E. Kelly work, I can't help but help feel disappointed by "Harry's Law". When I heard that Kathy Bates would be helming the project, my expectations skyrocketed, but when presented with the finished product, I was severely unsatisfied. Truth be told, the only one who has any real acting talent is Bates: nobody else in the show delivers their lines convincingly (lines, for the record, that are much less witty than past Kelly efforts). I'm hoping the quality will improve; if not, "Harry's Law" will never rise above mediocrity. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    4
    This is pure David E. Kelly -- good acting dragged down by over-the-top scenarios and totally unrealistic resolutions. Unfortunately, with Kelly in charge, it's more likely to get worse than better. I feel bad for the stars.
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    This show's second season may kill it. All of the things I liked about its first season are gone. It's gone from a small neighborhood law office inside a shoe store, to a large firm above the shoe store. Are we supposed to believe that huge office is upstairs from that very small retail space? Come on. Too many new characters have muddied the waters. A great show with so much potential hasThis show's second season may kill it. All of the things I liked about its first season are gone. It's gone from a small neighborhood law office inside a shoe store, to a large firm above the shoe store. Are we supposed to believe that huge office is upstairs from that very small retail space? Come on. Too many new characters have muddied the waters. A great show with so much potential has become dull, dull, dull. Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jan 20, 2011
    30
    Unfortunately, neither Bates nor Kelley seems to have any heart in this show. Picking up pretty much where he left off with "Boston Legal," Kelley turns the courtroom into Air America.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    Kathy Bates' surly gravity can't prevail over the silliness of this new series. [24 Jan 2010, p.43]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    When the balance is off, as it is too frequently in Harry's Law, it undermines credibility. Bates is almost capable of making us overlook some of the show's problems.