• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    The pilot was charming, wonderful and full of great acting. Kathy Bates proves why she got that Oscar. The sadly not so much utilized Shoe Store subplot is funny as hell.
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    When comparing this to its nightime counterpart, The Cape, Harry's Law is a win, Harry's law is funny, yet dramatic, gangster, yet civilized, Harry's Law will last longer and i really hope it does, just go on hulu and watch it
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    The pilot was weak and I almost gave up. But my respect for Kathy Bates drew me to watch the 2nd episode. Amazing! It was 100% better. Every part of the show gets deeper, funnier, richer and more powerful each episode. The characters and situations are complex and unpredictable. Rare for a TV show, I both laugh and am deeply moved in the same hour. It makes you laugh, think, care. ItThe pilot was weak and I almost gave up. But my respect for Kathy Bates drew me to watch the 2nd episode. Amazing! It was 100% better. Every part of the show gets deeper, funnier, richer and more powerful each episode. The characters and situations are complex and unpredictable. Rare for a TV show, I both laugh and am deeply moved in the same hour. It makes you laugh, think, care. It is Must See TV. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    This show is fun, it's interesting and the characters are a great mix. I loved other David kelley show like the Practice. It's different each week and my wife and I really enjoy it. IT's a nice change from all the reality and other attorney shows that are so serious, they are either not fun, or turn into a soap opera. I hope they keep this going, it well worth it.
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Though its a little on the 'preachy' side, i really enjoy the show. Kathy Bates character's annoyance with some of the other characters is frigging hilarious. And I"m not even a Kathy Bates fan. The recent episode on PTSD was unsettling since I'm a vet. Props to whoever wrote the story, you had the denial part down. Its not natural to watch your friend die and then have our leaders denyThough its a little on the 'preachy' side, i really enjoy the show. Kathy Bates character's annoyance with some of the other characters is frigging hilarious. And I"m not even a Kathy Bates fan. The recent episode on PTSD was unsettling since I'm a vet. Props to whoever wrote the story, you had the denial part down. Its not natural to watch your friend die and then have our leaders deny the circumstances. We either look like a nut or a liar for opening our mouth. I really wish that they had this first rate PTSD treatment center they claimed in the episode at the VA in Indianapolis. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    I love this show. It has been a long time since I have so looked forward a show. I do hope that it will be renewed and very sad that there are only two more shows this season.
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I read that NBC was disappointed that this show is watched by so many 50+ people, 'a market no advertisers want.'

    Now I know what is really wrong with the American ecomony- Advertisers! Americans 50+ control 70% of the money in the US. Brand loyalty is no longer cemented at 18-35, but the Ad trade continues to think that age group is 'where it's at' ! Loyalty today is a price thing
    I read that NBC was disappointed that this show is watched by so many 50+ people, 'a market no advertisers want.'

    Now I know what is really wrong with the American ecomony- Advertisers! Americans 50+ control 70% of the money in the US. Brand loyalty is no longer cemented at 18-35, but the Ad trade continues to think that age group is 'where it's at' ! Loyalty today is a price thing and if Walgreen's make a cheaper copy iof Dove soap, This 66 year old will try it, after using Dove for years.

    Harry's Law is wonderful- a great combo of humor and serious issues, and an eye-opener to 'inside the poor 'hoods' of a big city. Bravo to Kelley, and Brava to Bates.
    Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2011
    5
    It's essentially a far more liberal and less funny version of Boston Legal. If you like long liberal tirades about social justice then watch this show. The first episode has two in the first ten or so minutes. If liberal tirades aren't your thing, the characters or plot are not strong enough to keep your attention. Maybe it'll get better because David E Kelly has a lot of talent, butIt's essentially a far more liberal and less funny version of Boston Legal. If you like long liberal tirades about social justice then watch this show. The first episode has two in the first ten or so minutes. If liberal tirades aren't your thing, the characters or plot are not strong enough to keep your attention. Maybe it'll get better because David E Kelly has a lot of talent, but right now its kind of a dud. Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2011
    1
    The characters are decent enough. Not amazing, but serviceable. Where this show is hurt, and in many ways crippled, is that the defendants are all guilty. Everybody knows this, it's clear. But instead of trying to find something that disproved the charges, or even busting them on technicalities. They clear them by blaming others, or by being nice people. The first episode has a college kidThe characters are decent enough. Not amazing, but serviceable. Where this show is hurt, and in many ways crippled, is that the defendants are all guilty. Everybody knows this, it's clear. But instead of trying to find something that disproved the charges, or even busting them on technicalities. They clear them by blaming others, or by being nice people. The first episode has a college kid (the first in his family, keep this in mind) who got busted for buying cocaine (a repeat offender too). He gets let go because his lawyer says that he's a nice guy. Seriously. A repeat offender gets let go because he's nice. The acting and everything else is irrelevant. This show has terrible plots. Collapse
  10. Feb 1, 2011
    5
    As an avid fan of "Boston Legal" and other David E. Kelly work, I can't help but help feel disappointed by "Harry's Law". When I heard that Kathy Bates would be helming the project, my expectations skyrocketed, but when presented with the finished product, I was severely unsatisfied. Truth be told, the only one who has any real acting talent is Bates: nobody else in the show delivers theirAs an avid fan of "Boston Legal" and other David E. Kelly work, I can't help but help feel disappointed by "Harry's Law". When I heard that Kathy Bates would be helming the project, my expectations skyrocketed, but when presented with the finished product, I was severely unsatisfied. Truth be told, the only one who has any real acting talent is Bates: nobody else in the show delivers their lines convincingly (lines, for the record, that are much less witty than past Kelly efforts). I'm hoping the quality will improve; if not, "Harry's Law" will never rise above mediocrity. Expand
  11. Apr 8, 2011
    7
    This is on my DVR. I do not miss a show. Kathy Bates...she is Kathy Bates. I gave this show a 7 because the case they win are BS. Seriously the pilot case with Malcolm should have been lost. He was a repeat offender, and addict and really no defense whatsoever. However the good part is the show doesn't take itself that seriously (Seriously the DA strips in the middle of court) then inThis is on my DVR. I do not miss a show. Kathy Bates...she is Kathy Bates. I gave this show a 7 because the case they win are BS. Seriously the pilot case with Malcolm should have been lost. He was a repeat offender, and addict and really no defense whatsoever. However the good part is the show doesn't take itself that seriously (Seriously the DA strips in the middle of court) then in other areas it does. The social commentary is wall to wall and were it not for it then show would be empty. Al and All it is an enjoyable romp from Mr. Kelly. Thank you good sir. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    The first episode of Harry's Law was engaging although at times it went way beyond implausible. It is not surprising that Kathy Bates' performance was extremely strong. Her co-stars came across as far less skilled, especially the male attorney who joins the firm. His antics in court were so over the top that this portion of the script diminished the overall presentation. The fault liesThe first episode of Harry's Law was engaging although at times it went way beyond implausible. It is not surprising that Kathy Bates' performance was extremely strong. Her co-stars came across as far less skilled, especially the male attorney who joins the firm. His antics in court were so over the top that this portion of the script diminished the overall presentation. The fault lies far more with the writers than with this actor, but his seeming inability to embrace the notion that less is more doomed the scene and colored my overall impression of Harry's Law's initial outing. Overall, I believe this show has potential, and I would not bet against David E. Kelley and Kathy Bates' rescue of this legal comedy. Expand
  13. Jan 18, 2011
    4
    This is pure David E. Kelly -- good acting dragged down by over-the-top scenarios and totally unrealistic resolutions. Unfortunately, with Kelly in charge, it's more likely to get worse than better. I feel bad for the stars.
  14. Jan 20, 2011
    1
    Predictable,stupid and very unrealistic.Terrible premiere and by the looks of it.will only get worse.
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    0
    The absurd arguments and ridiculous courtroom antics might have been funny if Harry's Law was a simple comedy. Unfortunately the show tries to be both comedic and a serious drama with the result of failing utterly at both. Both episodes so far involves the protagonists defending evidently guilty criminals and winning (or at least getting their way) by delivering sermons on society's illsThe absurd arguments and ridiculous courtroom antics might have been funny if Harry's Law was a simple comedy. Unfortunately the show tries to be both comedic and a serious drama with the result of failing utterly at both. Both episodes so far involves the protagonists defending evidently guilty criminals and winning (or at least getting their way) by delivering sermons on society's ills in lieu of any semblance of a coherent legal argument. Apparently, we are expected to sympathise with the likes of an armed robber who couldn't find a less violet way to feed herself, or a Chinese laundry owner who fired a worker for being pregnant. Expand
  16. Jan 29, 2011
    0
    Horrible. This show suffers disconnect between the whimsical aspects of the show (hey look, my law office is also a designer shoe store!) and its heavy handed social commentary (hey look, my law office is in the ghetto and I'm helping the poor!). This disconnect gives us characters and cases that are unbelievable and unsympathetic. All the clients are guilty, but we're supposed to root forHorrible. This show suffers disconnect between the whimsical aspects of the show (hey look, my law office is also a designer shoe store!) and its heavy handed social commentary (hey look, my law office is in the ghetto and I'm helping the poor!). This disconnect gives us characters and cases that are unbelievable and unsympathetic. All the clients are guilty, but we're supposed to root for them because they had their reasons. For example, we are supposed to feel bad for an armed robber because she is elderly and hungry. We're supposed to like her because she's quirky and says what's on her mind. The result: she comes across as entitled and annoying, and we actually want her to be found guilty. And Kathy Bates' argument in the armed robber's defense? The government didn't give her what was hers so she had to rob the store. She had to!

    The only entertaining part of this show is seeing how the show creator tries to make the opposing lawyers caricatures we're supposed to loath, yet I find myself really really wanting their side to win. Because their arguments actually make sense. Kathy Bates' arguments center on blaming it on the government or lack of health care or whatever. Basically, no one is responsible for their own actions. If this show actually went to the real ghetto(not the Sesame Street version seen here) and truly dealt with the complexities of the marginalized, then we would have a show worth watching. Instead, we're preached the message that the poor are victims and are justified in doing whatever they want. And if there's something we need more of, its the culture of entitlement and victimhood.
    Expand
  17. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    Too preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which IToo preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which I like so I just watch it while doing some housework. Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    Why do I watch the show? For Kathy Bates. While some topics seem cliche, it's entertainment and I don't take it too seriously. I'd watch a documentary if I wanted to see real depiction of what happens in the inner city of Cincinnati. I like the character, Adam, the young lawyer, as well as Malcolm. No, I don't watch much other primetime but I like this show better than Blue Bloods,Why do I watch the show? For Kathy Bates. While some topics seem cliche, it's entertainment and I don't take it too seriously. I'd watch a documentary if I wanted to see real depiction of what happens in the inner city of Cincinnati. I like the character, Adam, the young lawyer, as well as Malcolm. No, I don't watch much other primetime but I like this show better than Blue Bloods, even when I love Tom Selleck and the rest of the cast. I hope this show sticks around. Expand
  19. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    My husband and I wouldn't miss Harry's Law. It has a wonderfully diverse cast with lots of subplots. There are serious thought provoking situations sprinkled with lots of humor. It is just the right blend. Please don't cancel Harry's Law!!
  20. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Everyone in our home absolutely love Harry's Law, especially "Harry" she is unique and does a wonderful job. The story lines are also quite unique. If it is cut, our Monday nights will be boring. Looking forward to them coming back.
  21. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    I just want to say I can't believe anything so real and truthful about facts that come up on this show is actually allowed to stay on the air. Every show seems to tell it like it is about things. Law, lawyers, the legal system, right and wrongs being done everyday and I really didn't think it would survive the first episode. I'm thrilled and love to hear the things going on in life (notI just want to say I can't believe anything so real and truthful about facts that come up on this show is actually allowed to stay on the air. Every show seems to tell it like it is about things. Law, lawyers, the legal system, right and wrongs being done everyday and I really didn't think it would survive the first episode. I'm thrilled and love to hear the things going on in life (not good things) are put out there to hear. Makes me believe there are still some people out there that believes in truth, justice and reality in the real world. The cast of characters are great and the writer is to be congratulated on having the gutts to let the honest people in the world know that others see and know how we feel about lawyers, the legal system, and other things in life. Really can't believe it stayed on after the first episode. Enjoy it tremendously. Expand
  22. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    This show's second season may kill it. All of the things I liked about its first season are gone. It's gone from a small neighborhood law office inside a shoe store, to a large firm above the shoe store. Are we supposed to believe that huge office is upstairs from that very small retail space? Come on. Too many new characters have muddied the waters. A great show with so much potential hasThis show's second season may kill it. All of the things I liked about its first season are gone. It's gone from a small neighborhood law office inside a shoe store, to a large firm above the shoe store. Are we supposed to believe that huge office is upstairs from that very small retail space? Come on. Too many new characters have muddied the waters. A great show with so much potential has become dull, dull, dull. Expand
  23. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    very good show although not as nice as "suits" still better than shows like "homeland" which is utter nonsense and so draggy; it shows the true humane side of the law. a good show.
  24. May 9, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television! David E. Kelly tackles issues facing us today that the media generally chooses to ignore. When you add that and the charming cast, you get an amazing show. Its definitely no Boston Legal, but it is still one of the only shows I watch on television.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jan 20, 2011
    30
    Unfortunately, neither Bates nor Kelley seems to have any heart in this show. Picking up pretty much where he left off with "Boston Legal," Kelley turns the courtroom into Air America.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 20, 2011
    25
    Kathy Bates' surly gravity can't prevail over the silliness of this new series. [24 Jan 2010, p.43]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    When the balance is off, as it is too frequently in Harry's Law, it undermines credibility. Bates is almost capable of making us overlook some of the show's problems.