• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Harry's Law Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: David E. Kelley returns with a legal drama starring Kathy Bates as Harriet "Harry" Horn, a recently fired attorney who sets up a new office in a shoe store.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 17, 2011
    75
    An improbably entertaining outing that initially finds Kathy Bates' character reclining at her office desk while smoking pot and bemoaning her fate.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2011
    70
    Kathy Bates is just the person to deliver David E. Kelley's tart dialogue, and he surrounds her with enough quirky characters to make this Cincinnati-set spiritual companion to "Boston Legal" a breezy diversion.
  3. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jan 17, 2011
    70
    Harry's Law is lighthearted sanctimony.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 17, 2011
    42
    The pilot's accumulation of cute - oh, for the straightforward simplicity of bowling alley lawyer "Ed" - feels overbearing long before Kelley's courtroom summation turns societal sermon.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    It's a lead performance that's completely at odds with the tone of the rest of the show, and one that makes all the other goofy things even more uncomfortable than usual.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    Fans who've stuck with Kelley ("L.A. Law," "Ally McBeal") as his series became more outlandish (and yet repetitive) might enjoy seeing Bates in those inevitable scenes where she sways the court with the power of the writer's convictions. But there's a disconnect between Kelley's whimsy and his rhetoric here that too often leaves the cranky Harriet looking merely foolish.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2011
    10
    David E. Kelley hits rock bottom in the derivative courtroom cartoon Harry's Law, which makes last fall's defunct and equally ridiculous Outlaw look as noble as The West Wing.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. May 9, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shows on television! David E. Kelly tackles issues facing us today that the media generally chooses to ignore. When you add that and the charming cast, you get an amazing show. Its definitely no Boston Legal, but it is still one of the only shows I watch on television. Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    When comparing this to its nightime counterpart, The Cape, Harry's Law is a win, Harry's law is funny, yet dramatic, gangster, yet civilized, Harry's Law will last longer and i really hope it does, just go on hulu and watch it Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I read that NBC was disappointed that this show is watched by so many 50+ people, 'a market no advertisers want.'

    Now I know what is really
    wrong with the American ecomony- Advertisers! Americans 50+ control 70% of the money in the US. Brand loyalty is no longer cemented at 18-35, but the Ad trade continues to think that age group is 'where it's at' ! Loyalty today is a price thing and if Walgreen's make a cheaper copy iof Dove soap, This 66 year old will try it, after using Dove for years.

    Harry's Law is wonderful- a great combo of humor and serious issues, and an eye-opener to 'inside the poor 'hoods' of a big city. Bravo to Kelley, and Brava to Bates.
    Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    Why do I watch the show? For Kathy Bates. While some topics seem cliche, it's entertainment and I don't take it too seriously. I'd watch a documentary if I wanted to see real depiction of what happens in the inner city of Cincinnati. I like the character, Adam, the young lawyer, as well as Malcolm. No, I don't watch much other primetime but I like this show better than Blue Bloods, even when I love Tom Selleck and the rest of the cast. I hope this show sticks around. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    Too preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which I like so I just watch it while doing some housework. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    5
    As an avid fan of "Boston Legal" and other David E. Kelly work, I can't help but help feel disappointed by "Harry's Law". When I heard that Kathy Bates would be helming the project, my expectations skyrocketed, but when presented with the finished product, I was severely unsatisfied. Truth be told, the only one who has any real acting talent is Bates: nobody else in the show delivers their lines convincingly (lines, for the record, that are much less witty than past Kelly efforts). I'm hoping the quality will improve; if not, "Harry's Law" will never rise above mediocrity. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    0
    The absurd arguments and ridiculous courtroom antics might have been funny if Harry's Law was a simple comedy. Unfortunately the show tries to be both comedic and a serious drama with the result of failing utterly at both. Both episodes so far involves the protagonists defending evidently guilty criminals and winning (or at least getting their way) by delivering sermons on society's ills in lieu of any semblance of a coherent legal argument. Apparently, we are expected to sympathise with the likes of an armed robber who couldn't find a less violet way to feed herself, or a Chinese laundry owner who fired a worker for being pregnant. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews