Harry's Law : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
Harry's Law Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: David E. Kelley returns with a legal drama starring Kathy Bates as Harriet "Harry" Horn, a recently fired attorney who sets up a new office in a shoe store.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 17, 2011
    75
    An improbably entertaining outing that initially finds Kathy Bates' character reclining at her office desk while smoking pot and bemoaning her fate.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2011
    70
    Kathy Bates is just the person to deliver David E. Kelley's tart dialogue, and he surrounds her with enough quirky characters to make this Cincinnati-set spiritual companion to "Boston Legal" a breezy diversion.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2011
    70
    What the show lacks in originality it makes up for in crisp, politically tinged dialogue.
  4. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 17, 2011
    42
    The pilot's accumulation of cute - oh, for the straightforward simplicity of bowling alley lawyer "Ed" - feels overbearing long before Kelley's courtroom summation turns societal sermon.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    It's a lead performance that's completely at odds with the tone of the rest of the show, and one that makes all the other goofy things even more uncomfortable than usual.
  6. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    The show seems aware of the questions raised by this narrative dynamic, but hasn't sorted out a way to do more than note them.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2011
    10
    David E. Kelley hits rock bottom in the derivative courtroom cartoon Harry's Law, which makes last fall's defunct and equally ridiculous Outlaw look as noble as The West Wing.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I read that NBC was disappointed that this show is watched by so many 50+ people, 'a market no advertisers want.'

    Now I know what is really
    I read that NBC was disappointed that this show is watched by so many 50+ people, 'a market no advertisers want.'

    Now I know what is really wrong with the American ecomony- Advertisers! Americans 50+ control 70% of the money in the US. Brand loyalty is no longer cemented at 18-35, but the Ad trade continues to think that age group is 'where it's at' ! Loyalty today is a price thing and if Walgreen's make a cheaper copy iof Dove soap, This 66 year old will try it, after using Dove for years.

    Harry's Law is wonderful- a great combo of humor and serious issues, and an eye-opener to 'inside the poor 'hoods' of a big city. Bravo to Kelley, and Brava to Bates.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    The pilot was weak and I almost gave up. But my respect for Kathy Bates drew me to watch the 2nd episode. Amazing! It was 100% better. EveryThe pilot was weak and I almost gave up. But my respect for Kathy Bates drew me to watch the 2nd episode. Amazing! It was 100% better. Every part of the show gets deeper, funnier, richer and more powerful each episode. The characters and situations are complex and unpredictable. Rare for a TV show, I both laugh and am deeply moved in the same hour. It makes you laugh, think, care. It is Must See TV. Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Though its a little on the 'preachy' side, i really enjoy the show. Kathy Bates character's annoyance with some of the other characters isThough its a little on the 'preachy' side, i really enjoy the show. Kathy Bates character's annoyance with some of the other characters is frigging hilarious. And I"m not even a Kathy Bates fan. The recent episode on PTSD was unsettling since I'm a vet. Props to whoever wrote the story, you had the denial part down. Its not natural to watch your friend die and then have our leaders deny the circumstances. We either look like a nut or a liar for opening our mouth. I really wish that they had this first rate PTSD treatment center they claimed in the episode at the VA in Indianapolis. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    The first episode of Harry's Law was engaging although at times it went way beyond implausible. It is not surprising that Kathy Bates'The first episode of Harry's Law was engaging although at times it went way beyond implausible. It is not surprising that Kathy Bates' performance was extremely strong. Her co-stars came across as far less skilled, especially the male attorney who joins the firm. His antics in court were so over the top that this portion of the script diminished the overall presentation. The fault lies far more with the writers than with this actor, but his seeming inability to embrace the notion that less is more doomed the scene and colored my overall impression of Harry's Law's initial outing. Overall, I believe this show has potential, and I would not bet against David E. Kelley and Kathy Bates' rescue of this legal comedy. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    The pilot was charming, wonderful and full of great acting. Kathy Bates proves why she got that Oscar. The sadly not so much utilized ShoeThe pilot was charming, wonderful and full of great acting. Kathy Bates proves why she got that Oscar. The sadly not so much utilized Shoe Store subplot is funny as hell. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    Too preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible thatToo preachy. I get all the social problem news I need without my entertainment reminding me of it. If the resolutions were plausible that would be one thing but the social commentary just gets in the way of a cute premise. It reminds me of watching day time talk show where you here the blatantly obvious and the audience claps in agreement. I think this is on after The Cape which I like so I just watch it while doing some housework. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    0
    The absurd arguments and ridiculous courtroom antics might have been funny if Harry's Law was a simple comedy. Unfortunately the show tries toThe absurd arguments and ridiculous courtroom antics might have been funny if Harry's Law was a simple comedy. Unfortunately the show tries to be both comedic and a serious drama with the result of failing utterly at both. Both episodes so far involves the protagonists defending evidently guilty criminals and winning (or at least getting their way) by delivering sermons on society's ills in lieu of any semblance of a coherent legal argument. Apparently, we are expected to sympathise with the likes of an armed robber who couldn't find a less violet way to feed herself, or a Chinese laundry owner who fired a worker for being pregnant. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews