• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After her dreams to follow in the footsteps of her big-city heart surgeon father are crushed, Zoe Hart (Rachel Bilson) accepts an offer to work in a small clinic in Bluebell, Alabama.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Sep 26, 2011
    83
    This show, which reunites the undeniably charming Bilson with The O.C. creator Josh Schwartz, is a goodie that mixes heartstring-tugging moments with lines like this: "There it is. Rock bottom. I just played 'Dixie' with my butt."
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    It's a good cast, and Porter in particular works very well with Bilson. The show just needs to find a way to transcend both formula and Southern stereotypes.
  3. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    There are parts of Hart of Dixie that need addressing. The pace lags at certain points. And some of the characters, sometimes even Bilson, are more like caricatures.
  4. Reviewed by: Kate Dries
    Sep 26, 2011
    40
    Hart of Dixie doesn't look to be much more than what you'd unfortunately expect.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2011
    30
    Watching Hart of Dixie is like mainlining praline. Your mind will rot before your teeth do.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 22, 2011
    30
    The smart way to go would be to turn this mess into a savvy comedy, but that may be asking too much.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Hart of Dixie is basically "Northern Exposure" dumbed down to a nanoscopic scale.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. cute, small town, good characters. Sometimes I think they need to make it more believable that Zoe is a doctor. It's fun and makes me want to move to the south and a small town. Love the Zoe, Wade, Lavon, George, Lemon love pentagon or triangle or whatever. Collapse
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    This show is a breath of fresh air. I get tired of all the violent police shows, bored with the corporate law shows and the hospital shows.This show is a breath of fresh air. I get tired of all the violent police shows, bored with the corporate law shows and the hospital shows. Not too mention the stupid and drama filled reality shows. It's time for a different type of entertainment. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    There are not a lot of non "reality" shows that have southern roots. This is a fun, romantic with just the right amount of drama show. IThere are not a lot of non "reality" shows that have southern roots. This is a fun, romantic with just the right amount of drama show. I really hope they keep it. It would be such a shame to lose such a great show on the lineup with such a unique story line. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Although it is another medical drama, I found the storyline of this show (so far) to be refreshing compared to the rest of its genre. ThisAlthough it is another medical drama, I found the storyline of this show (so far) to be refreshing compared to the rest of its genre. This show is in a small town GP office in the south vs. a major city hospital. The pilot introduced the different characters well and alluded to their background just enough to intrigue without becoming boring. I like the main character so far (which isn't always the case) so that's a good start! Looking forward to more. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Bilson was stellar in her performance! The shoe doesn't have the best writing, but there's still time to improvement, so this is the one toBilson was stellar in her performance! The shoe doesn't have the best writing, but there's still time to improvement, so this is the one to watch, however there's only so much more time before the show is endangered if it doesn't improve. Jaime King however was destesable in her role of Lemon Breeland. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    I have to start by saying that this review may be a little biased and skewed. The bias comes from my love of Rachel Bilson, loved her sinceI have to start by saying that this review may be a little biased and skewed. The bias comes from my love of Rachel Bilson, loved her since the O.C and i know that my love for all things "romantic comedyesque" will cloud my judgement. I can't help it, I have even tried to fight it, but I am a huge sucker for any and all things romantic comedy. Needless to say, this show fits that criteria and when each episode is over, I find myself wanting it to be Monday again for the next episode. I can understand some of the negative reviews, that sometimes the story lags. That is true, however I suspect as more of the back story unravels, the pace will pick up with it. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    I absolutely hate this show. It's a normal teen drama, but set in a small town; really nothing special. The setting annoys me very much.I absolutely hate this show. It's a normal teen drama, but set in a small town; really nothing special. The setting annoys me very much. Although I will say the title is clever. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers