• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Hart of Dixie Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Tim Matheson, Cress Williams, Rachel Bilson
  • Summary: After her dreams to follow in the footsteps of her big-city heart surgeon father are crushed, Zoe Hart (Rachel Bilson) accepts an offer to work in a small clinic in Bluebell, Alabama.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: Leila Gerstein
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Episode Length: 45
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Sep 26, 2011
    83
    This show, which reunites the undeniably charming Bilson with The O.C. creator Josh Schwartz, is a goodie that mixes heartstring-tugging moments with lines like this: "There it is. Rock bottom. I just played 'Dixie' with my butt."
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    It's a good cast, and Porter in particular works very well with Bilson. The show just needs to find a way to transcend both formula and Southern stereotypes.
  3. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    There are parts of Hart of Dixie that need addressing. The pace lags at certain points. And some of the characters, sometimes even Bilson, are more like caricatures.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 26, 2011
    40
    If you're looking for some sentimental lesson-learning, the wafer-light Hart of Dixie may fill an hour for you.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 26, 2011
    30
    This CW show is so silly and lightweight it might possess unexpected appeal for its sheer camp factor, as well as the opportunity to see the South depicted as a place as exotic as the dark side of the moon.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 22, 2011
    30
    The smart way to go would be to turn this mess into a savvy comedy, but that may be asking too much.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Hart of Dixie is basically "Northern Exposure" dumbed down to a nanoscopic scale.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Love this show! I hope there will be a season 2...Lemon drives me nuts but other than that I love it! In my top 5 for sure! I love Wade he does an amazing job, so does Bilson, I am glad its not like her role she did in the O.C. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    This show is a breath of fresh air. I get tired of all the violent police shows, bored with the corporate law shows and the hospital shows. Not too mention the stupid and drama filled reality shows. It's time for a different type of entertainment. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    omg this show is so addicting! i love it so much! i really hope theres a season 2! Its so exciting and hart warming *see what i did there(; * There were some funny parts, and parts that made me tear up a bit. It has an interesting plot , and i just cant wait till every mondays(: Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    You can't say this show is amazing but you can say that it is campy and a great escape. It's the right mix of taking a fun trip of silly fun. The actors are great! Glad it's going to survive all these awful cuts the CW is doing this season! Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I heard about this show and thought my wife would love it. I sat down to watch it with her and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Sure the show is cheesy but it is promising and the pilot was full of twists that I did not see coming. Bilson's character is complex and was a bit annoying for the first ten minutes with the "I'm from New York and the South is full of morons" mentality but by the end I found myself wanting to know what happens next. This show will be ok if they stay away from the big city girl in little hick town genre. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    I have to start by saying that this review may be a little biased and skewed. The bias comes from my love of Rachel Bilson, loved her since the O.C and i know that my love for all things "romantic comedyesque" will cloud my judgement. I can't help it, I have even tried to fight it, but I am a huge sucker for any and all things romantic comedy. Needless to say, this show fits that criteria and when each episode is over, I find myself wanting it to be Monday again for the next episode. I can understand some of the negative reviews, that sometimes the story lags. That is true, however I suspect as more of the back story unravels, the pace will pick up with it. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    I absolutely hate this show. It's a normal teen drama, but set in a small town; really nothing special. The setting annoys me very much. Although I will say the title is clever. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews