• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 9, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Haven Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FBI agent Audrey Parker (Emily Rose) arrives in a small town in Maine to investigate a murder in this series loosely based on the Stephen King novella, "The Colorado Kid."
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. No vampires (so far). But no matter what materializes in the town, it's satisfying to see in the first episode that Haven already revolves around grown-ups.
  2. 70
    As a cop drama, Haven--marred by busy and blurry story lines--is barely competent. But as a narrative of eccentric, slightly damaged yet ultimately warm characters, it's quite successful. The deadpan my-badge-is-bigger-than-yours needling between Rose and Bryant is particularly engaging.
  3. 70
    It's not bad. It's actually sort of promising.
  4. The mysteries of Haven do offer some intrigue but coupled with fairly unextraordinary situations and plots, the show may have a tough time convincing viewers to become weekly visitors.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    42
    King didn't actually write Haven but "developed" it for the small screen, which is a form of plausible deniability if things go wrong. With Haven--as somnolent as a summer afternoon--they most likely will.
  6. 40
    The characters are so shallow, it's hard to invest interest in them.
  7. 37
    A ludicrously see-through supernatural crime drama that wastes a perfectly fine performance from Emily Rose as an FBI agent who tracks an escaped convict to a Maine town.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite sci-fi TV shows. The story centers around the strange events that occur in a fictional town in Maine. The town has a very puzzling and bizarre history and many of its inhabitants suffer from specific afflictions (called "The troubles") that often give them unwanted or dangerous powers. The protagonist of the series is an FBI agent, Audrey, who follows an escaped convict to the town and ends up staying after discovering that her past is somehow connected to the town. Haven has a unique story with a well-developed plot and great cliffhangers at the end of the 2nd season. The acting is terrific and the chemistry between the three main characters (Audrey, Nathan and Duke) is a big draw. I'm really surprised that it isn't on one of the major network stations in the USA. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this show. The production quality isn't as high as many of the bigger shows, but what they do with what they have is awesome. To many shows that have lead character as a female make is overly sexual. While the lead female is beautiful, she is smart and can rely on things other than her looks. It is a puzzle show that delves into the supernatural. Based somewhat loosely off of the Stephen King Novel "The Colorado Kid", it has just enough suspense and horror to not turn it into a slasher flick. Like usual the critics give one of my favorite shows mixed to negative reviews. I own all the seasons and will continue to buy them. Expand
  3. ksb
    Jul 27, 2011
    9
    I really like the mystery element and trying to figure out the "who" and "why/how" of the situations they run into. I like the main characters. I can't believe the number of unanswered questions from Season 1 to Season 2. Still, that is one of the main reasons I watch too :) Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    I enjoy this show, not for the characters but for the events that parallel the x-files with a sense of humor. I keep thinking that wanting to find the main characters mother is important, but there is not enough drama to get me there yet. The main characters are not driving the show for me, just the way events. Not even the way they solve the crime seems to be special. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2010
    6
    Fun to watch. Not boring at all. I like to see how the story line unfolds over the next few weeks. Steven King is one of America's movie icons. I don't think there are many like him. He is a master in his own category. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I came to this show being a fan of Supernatural, Grimm, and the X-Files. I wasn't expecting a well written gem... just an entertaining sci-fi show. After watching the first episode, though, the writing stuck out... in a very, very bad way. The show begins with Audrey (could barely remember her name) driving to Haven to catch a criminal we don't know much about... by herself. She crashes on a bridge, and this is where things get really bad.

    Half of her car is dangling off the cliff. She isn't the least bit paniced. She actually turns off the radio while her car is dangling there. I thought "maybe this show is supposed to be a comedy", but it isn't. But it gets worse... a guy comes and asks her if she needs help. While her car is sitting there about to fall off the cliff. She says no... this is not a time normal people joke around, yet they're doing it.

    So he pulls her out anyways, and the car crashes. I didn't think it could get any worse. I was very wrong. He sees that she's wearing a gun on her belt and they draw on each other. What the He saves her life, then pulls a gun on her for no reason. They begin asking who the other one is. The terrible writing is so thick here that it's pathetic.

    So later on in the episode, she gets thrown into the ocean unconscious after a power box explodes. She gets rescued by a smuggler... and when she wakes up, she's not the least bit disoriented. Her first question is "where are my clothes?".

    Unfortunately the entire first season is like this. The characters treat life or death situations like they're some big joke, they do things that make no logical sense, and they jump to ridiculous conclusions. The only part of the movie where they show emotion is during the "romantic" scenes. And they're so overacted that it might as well "the bold and the beautiful 2.0". It's thicker than a soap opera.

    This type of writing just bores you. The characters never really fear for their life, so why should you? I think a good way to describe this show is smallville meets ripoff of xfiles.
    Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Haven is a small town with a case of "The Troubles". Unfortunately the troubles don't originate within the town but within the writing. Even the phrase "The Troubles" is painful. It's like something a loathed aunt would say to you if you had a stomach ache. It is almost as bad as the term "werepanther" from True Blood. Almost.

    The story centers around 3 characters: An FBI agent, a local cop and a smuggler who investigate problems that arise in a port town of Maine. It sounds like a decent set up for television series but the characters are bland, they have no chemistry and the script is so nasty it continues to push you out of the story as you shake your head in shame and disbelief. At points in the series you can just see the anguish in the actor's faces as they have to work their way through scenes that make no sense within the story or their character.

    The series feels like the writers have no one editing their work. No litmus test for realism or consistency. The characters swap love interests faster than a daytime drama, and that is no easy feat. By the end of the first episode Audrey is ready to leave the FBI behind to dive deep into Haven's mysteries. I could see it coming but it makes no sense. She has spent a lifetime becoming an FBI agent to throw it away on a photo a couple of news hacks show her. Who writes stuff like this? And every episode has gems like this.

    After the third episode I actually decided to turn the show into a drinking game. Every time a character would say or do something stupid I would take a drink. There has yet to be an episode where I don't finish a beer.

    I would say this show is a vision of the future when emotionless robots take over and write television dramas but that is an insult to robots since they must, by design, be logical and this show rarely achieves that.

    Unless you are looking for a laugh, a drink or an example of writing gone horribly wrong skip this and tune into fringe or x-files reruns.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews