Hawaii Five-0 : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Hawaii Five-0 Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The re-imagining of the 1968-80s classic has Alex O'Loughlin as detective Steve McGarrett, who returns to Hawaii after his father's death and heads up the new task force to clean up the islands of crime.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. The remake of "Hawaii Five-0" is the best kind of throwback--to the buddy cop films of the 1980s. Think "Lethal Weapon" with a tropical twist.
  2. So far, O'Loughlin has come most alive when he's engaged in the premiere's close-quarters, elbow-chopping fight scenes. But it's clear that, like other CBS shows from NCIS to CSI, the team byplay is going to be the heart of Hawaii Five-0. Thank goodness Caan is here to provide gruff humor, and Kim and Park play off each other nicely.
  3. O'Loughlin's by-the-book performance is buoyed by a fast-paced script and a splendid supporting cast, including and especially Scott Caan as Danno, that radiates enough hit-making energy to render even Oahu's azure waters and perfect sunsets superfluous.
  4. 70
    This remake keeps the scenery and action--exploding cars and AK-47 gunfights appear to be to Honolulu what thieving politicians and senile I-95 motorists are to Miami--but adds some compelling post-9/11 wrinkles.
  5. The story and the chemistry work, but periodically the action feels rushed, as if we all know the drill and we might as well get it over with. Future episodes may correct that, because they'll need less setup work.
  6. Yet despite the dude-tastic charisma that Caan brings to Danno, I can't quite see a reason to watch Hawaii Five-0 again, given that each week, the stories will probably feel like something we've already seen on 'NCIS,' 'NCIS Los Angeles' or any number of the 'CSIs.' Bad guys will be caught, the team shall be triumphant. Rinse and repeat.
  7. Some things are better than they were in the '60s--including the top tier of television shows. This just isn't one of them.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Love this show. What's not to like. There is plenty of action for the guys and great looking men for the ladies. Throw in beautiful HawaiiLove this show. What's not to like. There is plenty of action for the guys and great looking men for the ladies. Throw in beautiful Hawaii and a couple references to the former show and tadaaah grab a bag of popcorn and enjoy Monday night. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    This show is amazing! It's action packed, has interesting cases and great character chemistry! Love it without a doubt ;) (and that darnThis show is amazing! It's action packed, has interesting cases and great character chemistry! Love it without a doubt ;) (and that darn theme tune is just too catchy!) Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Great show visually, fun music, and a funny cast that works together well. Although not the most complex or mind-bending show, definitely aGreat show visually, fun music, and a funny cast that works together well. Although not the most complex or mind-bending show, definitely a fun mix of action and comedy and something exciting for everybody this fall season. Hope it stays as good as the pilot and makes it longer than half a season Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    I was looking forward to Lone Star and Hawaii Five-O as "fun" shows to counterbalance the weight of Mad Men, Rubicon, and Boardwalk Empire.I was looking forward to Lone Star and Hawaii Five-O as "fun" shows to counterbalance the weight of Mad Men, Rubicon, and Boardwalk Empire. LoneStar didn't quite deliver (though I'm giving it more rope), but Hawaii Five-O truly did. It's fun, and the primary cast of 4 seems like an entertaining combo. They are absolutely watchable. Reminds me a bit of the old Dan Tanna "Vegas" episodes. Just got back from Oahu, and I'm told that Jack Lord is revered over there, as he gave a ton of his not-unsubstantial personal wealth to local causes. I'm glad that they didn't tarnish the legacy of the show with something cheesy or irreverent. It's not close to the best show on TV, but it's not supposed to be. I'll keep watching. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    A lot of people ask me which is better? The original Five-O or the reboot. My answer is always the same; you cannot compare the two as oneA lot of people ask me which is better? The original Five-O or the reboot. My answer is always the same; you cannot compare the two as one show. The original Five-O is a great old-fashion cop show and the reboot is a unique take.

    I like the reboot but not as the remake of the original. It is a good TV show but I really don't think they should have remade it. Don't get me wrong, it's a good show but it should not be compared with the original.

    A great TV show that can be watched over and over again. I do not recommend this show if you were a fan of the original. You might be a little offended.
    Collapse
  6. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    This show reminds me of all those crappy "action" flicks of the 80s, replete with all the cliiches. Alex O'loughlin is such a stiff he makesThis show reminds me of all those crappy "action" flicks of the 80s, replete with all the cliiches. Alex O'loughlin is such a stiff he makes Keanu Reeves seem lifelike (okay, almost lifelike). The only interesting thing about this show is Scott Caan. CBS has invested allot in this show so I'm sure it'll be around for a while. This one goes in the same pile as all those crappy CSI spin-offs. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2016
    0
    I can not say enough BAD things about this show WOW. I mean blatant things wrong from the ships that appear out of nowhere to kidnapping yourI can not say enough BAD things about this show WOW. I mean blatant things wrong from the ships that appear out of nowhere to kidnapping your friend and his girlfriend so you can turn him in because he stole money, YEARS and YEARS ago and you don't get in trouble for kidnapping them and you get to use the evidence that you obtained illegally and the statute of limitations has expired. Great stuff her. I think it must be a 7 yr old writing for this show. Oh yeah what about the 460lb guy who becomes a helicopter pilot for tours LOL. Have you ever been in a helicopter, well I have and NOT gonna happen. Save yourself a few brain cells and put this one to bed. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers