Hawthorne : Season 1

  • Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 16, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 23 out of 43

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ThereseW.
    Aug 11, 2009
    0
    I've been a nurse for over 20 years and I have never in my life ever seen such nonsense in a TV show that's supposed to representing real life. I have never seen a CNO on the floor of a hospital let alone touch a patient. The show is an embarrassment to the nursing profession.
  2. OliverG
    Aug 12, 2009
    0
    This is a comic book show. It is poorly written, maudlin, 2-dimensional, and has little worth, although it is okay if there is no grass to watch growing. Pinkett-Smith is an overacting caricature of herself. She wears camisoles to work in a hospital, and is sprayed down with oil to make her look like a comicbook superheroine. (To be fair, some of the other actors and actresses are also This is a comic book show. It is poorly written, maudlin, 2-dimensional, and has little worth, although it is okay if there is no grass to watch growing. Pinkett-Smith is an overacting caricature of herself. She wears camisoles to work in a hospital, and is sprayed down with oil to make her look like a comicbook superheroine. (To be fair, some of the other actors and actresses are also sprayed to look sweaty). Jada is now too old to be a sex symbol (shapely arms and good implants notwithstanding) and she can't act (she always overacts and never seems real or sincere), so it's time for her to retire and be simply a stage mother and wife. This week's next-to-last episode finished with her crying to get her way and her male boss capitulating because she cried. Yay! Cry if you want your way. Despite Jada's talented and connected husband Will, I hope this isn't renewed. If it is, I sure won't be recording it. Expand
  3. judyw
    Aug 4, 2009
    5
    HawthorNE has great potential, however the writing is weak and lazy, obviously, these scenarios have been done to death on other shows.It is however very clean and decent, which is it's saving grace, I beg the writers to stay away from "issues" or the show will fail. "issues" are boring we have all seen and heard it all before. Such as child abuse spousal abuse ethnic bias abortion HawthorNE has great potential, however the writing is weak and lazy, obviously, these scenarios have been done to death on other shows.It is however very clean and decent, which is it's saving grace, I beg the writers to stay away from "issues" or the show will fail. "issues" are boring we have all seen and heard it all before. Such as child abuse spousal abuse ethnic bias abortion and so on I wish all shows would give it a rest already if we want to see that stuff on tv we will watch the news. DO YOU GET IT? ALL YOU LAZY WRITERS OUT THERE? For God's sake use your own imagination, and above all, keep it clean. Expand
  4. sodomypigs
    Jun 18, 2009
    0
    Horribly predictable. This show is so unoriginal that it makes it insufferable. Yet another medical show. What is this, the 50th. Unbelievable, this is one of the more boring of them all. I hate the characters and the writing is profoundly unoriginal and the ideas and problems surrounding the main character are unengaging and just prosaic. I've seen it all before. This show is a Horribly predictable. This show is so unoriginal that it makes it insufferable. Yet another medical show. What is this, the 50th. Unbelievable, this is one of the more boring of them all. I hate the characters and the writing is profoundly unoriginal and the ideas and problems surrounding the main character are unengaging and just prosaic. I've seen it all before. This show is a parrot copying everything else. Just garbage. Expand
  5. JacquelineS
    Jul 10, 2009
    2
    Hawthorne has potential. I looked forward to watching the series partially because it is the first nighttime drama series that features a non-white lead. So kudos to the network for showing this type of progressive thinking. I am not sure Jada knows where her strength lay. I believe she needs to take a gut check . Like the character,Hawthorne, Jada seems to be searching for an identity. Hawthorne has potential. I looked forward to watching the series partially because it is the first nighttime drama series that features a non-white lead. So kudos to the network for showing this type of progressive thinking. I am not sure Jada knows where her strength lay. I believe she needs to take a gut check . Like the character,Hawthorne, Jada seems to be searching for an identity. She appears to have the potential, skill and acting ability but I do not feel her...she just does not come. Expand
  6. ConcernedPatient
    Jul 14, 2009
    2
    The medical & nursing errors I'm the show makes me wonder if they have a licensed person advising them or not. ( IVs going wrong direction on a scalp vein on a baby, insulin given IM rather than SQ, and more). The show also is demeaning to professional nurses. And the role of a chief nursing officer is nothing like the one in the show.
  7. AndreaP.
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    This is a pretty bad show. I'm not sure how they could not know it. The dialogue is cliche and the acting is mediocre at best.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2009
    2
    The show needs to decide if it is going to be a dramatic or comedic entity. The medical advisors to the show obviously have no idea what nurses today are responsible for, and much of the sterotyping is quite insulting to the profession.
  9. AnitaD
    Jul 6, 2009
    5
    Hawthorne had a unforgivably faulty portrayal on last week's show. Her daughter video tapes patients for a school assignment. This is illegal according to HIPPA, and Hawthorne doesn't say a word. She's just so darn proud of her daughter. I don't expect a tv show to be a documentary, but to show such a glaring error is disgusting.
  10. BoydC.
    Aug 12, 2009
    1
    This show is bad. Very predictable and corny storylines. There is obviously no medical direction from real medical professionals. I've worked as a nurse in a hospital and never encountered any of these situations. They try and take typical nursing realities ie. overworked and underappreciated and throw it all out of proportion. Even interactions between nurses and doctors are way out This show is bad. Very predictable and corny storylines. There is obviously no medical direction from real medical professionals. I've worked as a nurse in a hospital and never encountered any of these situations. They try and take typical nursing realities ie. overworked and underappreciated and throw it all out of proportion. Even interactions between nurses and doctors are way out of proportion with reality. Some of the plots are absurd and way overboard as if trying to copy some of the funky plot lines reminiscent of ER. Although I do appreciate the show trying to convey the abilities of well trained nurses with a strong knowledge base equivalent to other medical professionals with higher credentials, I've never seen a renegade nurse run from department to department ruling the roost. I actually watch this show for the comedic value of how bad it is. Remember when people used to watch bad soap operas just to crack up laughing at how tacky and rediculous they were? This is in the same category. Ha. Expand
  11. CamN
    Aug 4, 2009
    0
    Dreadful overacting, ridiculous characters and story lines. Can't even stand to watch the commercials for it.
  12. AdamR.
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    This is one of the worst medical dramas I have ever tried to watch. The story is lacking reality. The actors have little to no chemistry, and I can't believe it made it past the pilot episode.
  13. nessa
    Jul 18, 2009
    1
    I personally do not think this show is going to go anywhere. There are too many unrealistic and unfathomable inconsistencies when looking at the things taking place. There are so many other medical dramas on television that are more entertaining and keep things more realistic by having true medical professionals guiding the storyline. I am not a big fan of Jada's work and this show I personally do not think this show is going to go anywhere. There are too many unrealistic and unfathomable inconsistencies when looking at the things taking place. There are so many other medical dramas on television that are more entertaining and keep things more realistic by having true medical professionals guiding the storyline. I am not a big fan of Jada's work and this show is typical of her work. She really needs to be more informed before she chooses to take a part. She should take some lessons from her husband. Expand
  14. MichelleM
    Jul 31, 2009
    4
    I really want to like this show - the actors on it are some of my favorite supporting actors from some of my favorite TV shows. I like some of Smith's character. She just seems too much - like she is all over the hospital in every one else's business. Is everyone else so incompetent that she has to do their job. If she really was a nurse manager she would need to learn to I really want to like this show - the actors on it are some of my favorite supporting actors from some of my favorite TV shows. I like some of Smith's character. She just seems too much - like she is all over the hospital in every one else's business. Is everyone else so incompetent that she has to do their job. If she really was a nurse manager she would need to learn to delegate. No wonder her daughter is so screwed up - by the time she actually went to her office to do the paperwork someone in that position would have to do she would never make it home! Expand
  15. phineasb.
    Aug 11, 2009
    2
    Dreadful but tolerable. The supporting actors are all refreshing and I hope to see them in other, more worthy shows in the future, but Pinkett-Smith is a huge disappointment. She seems to have only one or two facial expressions (except when she's overacting and screaming, as in the ads) It seems there isn't much in the way of story line, just Jada trying to be cute or sexy with Dreadful but tolerable. The supporting actors are all refreshing and I hope to see them in other, more worthy shows in the future, but Pinkett-Smith is a huge disappointment. She seems to have only one or two facial expressions (except when she's overacting and screaming, as in the ads) It seems there isn't much in the way of story line, just Jada trying to be cute or sexy with an attitude. Give me ER, Grey's Anatomy, or even General Hospital. Expand
  16. torig
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    I LOVE THIS SHOW!!!!!!!! If people stop worrying about which way the IV is inserted and pay attention to the storylines they will realize that these are real issues that people deal with. I think its a refreshing spin seeing what nurses have to deal with instead of glorifying the doctors all the time. We've all known for years that nurses are the heartbeat of any hospital and I LOVE THIS SHOW!!!!!!!! If people stop worrying about which way the IV is inserted and pay attention to the storylines they will realize that these are real issues that people deal with. I think its a refreshing spin seeing what nurses have to deal with instead of glorifying the doctors all the time. We've all known for years that nurses are the heartbeat of any hospital and it's nice to see a show that gives them their props! Keep it comin HawthoRNe!!!!!!!! Expand
  17. roxanneb
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    I think the show will grow onto people i think the cast is great iuts people new on the scene and everybody needs a chance to grow and create the charter into what that person is believed to be i think jada is doing a great job and i would support her on anything she does give the show a chance.
  18. SheriB.
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Love this show!
  19. L.F.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    I loved every moment of the show. I felt all emotions. I can't wait for next week.
  20. VivE
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    Love this show,it`s not real heavy medi drama stuff like ER etc but I like! Love the characters though and that`s much more interestesting than all the ailments of run through guests on the show..BTW having Mike Vartan as eye candy does help somehat.
  21. LaChinaM.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I love this show! Normally I dislike all hospital dramas, but the writing is great and realistic, and I love the all the characters. It has something for everyone, Isabel is wonderful as a homeless woman who is more comfortable in that world than the working one.
  22. DeeW
    Jun 17, 2009
    7
    I think this show has potential. There were several different storylines going on but that's ok. That's like everyday life, many different issues going on at the same time. I think Jada showed why she is such a good actress. Looking forward to see which way the show goes.
  23. Joan
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    Surprised at some of the poor reviews. I liked the show...the characters were interesting, the plot lines were engaging and moved along nicely, and the acting was first-rate. I hope this show gets the chance it deserves considering the excellent people both in front of and behind the camera.
  24. JackS
    Jul 10, 2009
    2
    Jada has potential, not sure if she know where here strength lie. I believe she needs a gut check on her strength. Hawthorne is a show that is lie her, searching for an identity. Skill misdirected
  25. PFW.
    Aug 18, 2009
    6
    I like the show. I don't what people are expecting. It's a hospital drama.
  26. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Love the episode on July 5th. Every strong female character got air time. Wonderful to see vanessa bell callaway , loved her lines , really felt it. Finally seeing suleka mathew leading , really cool, she is handling herself well. anne ramsay did good work and is more and more warming the screen. the male eye candy is nice (in the background of course) ..Oh and did I mention jada didntLove the episode on July 5th. Every strong female character got air time. Wonderful to see vanessa bell callaway , loved her lines , really felt it. Finally seeing suleka mathew leading , really cool, she is handling herself well. anne ramsay did good work and is more and more warming the screen. the male eye candy is nice (in the background of course) ..Oh and did I mention jada didnt rant at anyone (for a big warm welcome change).. So nice when she realizes she can star without stealing every scene and being the center of attention (even when we know and realize the show is about this fantastic Nurse and woman , who cares about people, and about her friends and family). Lets hope that can be shown without ruining the show for the rest of this multi-faceted and very talented cast.
    Kudo's to Jada . I may have misjudged . really want to say I'm wrong. holding judgement.
    Expand
  27. Jul 31, 2011
    2
    ok my review score was wrong - forgot to move the meter - sorry really not liking this show as much as I did the first 2 seasons - it is no longer about the goings on at the hospital - time to get back to the core story and give the rest of the cast decent air time - JMO
  28. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    This show is so bad I get annoyed watching the commercials. The acting is terrible as is the writing. All I can think is that Mrs Smiths husband is so powerful that he has secured this show for her. It seems that each episode is merely a vehicle for flaunting Jada's non existent skills as an actress.
  29. Aug 18, 2011
    0
    This is a HORRIBLE SHOW! She is a horrible nurse, horrible mother and a horrible wife in the later seasons. I cant see why anyone likes this show. I have watch a number of episodes wondering if I am missing something, and other than a selfish self absorbed egocentric woman I just cant see it. She will do ANYTHING she wants a puts everyone in the hospital at risk continuously. Then when sheThis is a HORRIBLE SHOW! She is a horrible nurse, horrible mother and a horrible wife in the later seasons. I cant see why anyone likes this show. I have watch a number of episodes wondering if I am missing something, and other than a selfish self absorbed egocentric woman I just cant see it. She will do ANYTHING she wants a puts everyone in the hospital at risk continuously. Then when she does get into trouble she still wont step back. She is ALWAYS right and ALWAYS cares more about the patients than anyone else... just stupid and impossible to believe. I would SO FIRE her! Expand
  30. Jul 1, 2013
    6
    This show is entertaining. That's what matters to me, and that's what matters to you (I think). I don't see it as a drama, I see it more as a dramedy. It can be sad, and it can be lively. That being said, it's nothing too special either.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. 50
    HawthoRNe seems bent on being reverential, complete with musical montages meant to break our hearts. It's not awful, by any means, just too good to be true.
  2. 12
    Pinkett Smith is an engaging actress, but even her formidable energy can't liven up this sodden drama.
  3. The results here are mostly mawkish and predictable.