Helix : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 178

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    The show isn't terrible, but I'm afraid that might be the best thing about it. It started off solidly, but the plot was jumbled at times. Between the acting and the writing I could get into all of maybe two characters. The show was also more than a little campy, and I'm not still sure if that was intentional or not. There were enough decent moments for the show to be watchable, butThe show isn't terrible, but I'm afraid that might be the best thing about it. It started off solidly, but the plot was jumbled at times. Between the acting and the writing I could get into all of maybe two characters. The show was also more than a little campy, and I'm not still sure if that was intentional or not. There were enough decent moments for the show to be watchable, but nearly as many groan inducing moments. It did have quite a bit of potential from the get-go, but failed to deliver, especially during the last few episodes. It's confusing scifi, but not in the good way (not to mention, some of the actual science is a bit screwy).

    Overall it was meh. Interesting concept but subpar acting and writing. Still finds ways to be interesting, but only up to a certain point. Overly confusing, but oddly somewhat watchable. But still not watchable enough to invest any more of my time into the show.
    Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    The basic concept (trapped on an arctic base trying to prevent a secret virus from escaping) sounds good, but the result is decidedly underwhelming. This is the kind of sci-fi that seems to be genuinely trying to reference actual science, but fails miserably. The virus itself is more of a sideshow, and the evil corporation plot that replaces it is lame.

    The main reason to watch it is
    The basic concept (trapped on an arctic base trying to prevent a secret virus from escaping) sounds good, but the result is decidedly underwhelming. This is the kind of sci-fi that seems to be genuinely trying to reference actual science, but fails miserably. The virus itself is more of a sideshow, and the evil corporation plot that replaces it is lame.

    The main reason to watch it is ultimately for the back and forth between Billy Campbell and Hiroyuki Sanada, both compelling actors. However, the rest of the characters and cast don't bring much to the table. None of the scientist characters are remotely credible as scientists, and the female characters are sadly unable to hold the screen when the two leads are there.

    The virus-infected zombies disappear for long stretches of time and reappear when convenient, behaving according to no discernible rules. The science scenes include a few genuine science words, but violate basic principles that are obvious even to a non-expert like me. There's an enormous amount of "magic science" wherein a single character gleans information from a test that takes two minutes, which is decidedly not how things work.

    Gratuitous mysteries on top of mysteries abound, but with the first season over, nothing worthwhile has been revealed yet. A completely nonsensical tribe of native Arctic-dwellers (seriously, you can tell they're natives to the polar realms because they wear flannel shirts), a ludicrous cancer cure, dismembered heads in cryostorage, and a telegraphed "I am your father" moment are among the unsatisfactory developments. The horror and intrigue promised by the pilot never really appears.

    The production values are minimal, and whenever they leave the base the production becomes really strained. Random guest cast pop up and leave from this supposedly isolated base, never really establishing themselves. A weird muzak element plays over parts of the show to counterpoint gore and mayhem as if the producers are trying too hard to be clever.

    The show had a few good turns, mostly in the first couple of episodes, but it's gone downhill fast.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    1.Bad acting.
    2.Stolen plot with slight changes which makes it incredibly naive and stupid at times.
    3.Simple and very poorly delivered dialog.Its like a Soap opera.Each episode someone is discovering something shocking,everyone is surprised,the end. 4.Trying too hard to be suspenseful and thriller like but it fails miserably because of the really bad CGI(whoever says it looks good
    1.Bad acting.
    2.Stolen plot with slight changes which makes it incredibly naive and stupid at times.
    3.Simple and very poorly delivered dialog.Its like a Soap opera.Each episode someone is discovering something shocking,everyone is surprised,the end.
    4.Trying too hard to be suspenseful and thriller like but it fails miserably because of the really bad CGI(whoever says it looks good needs glasses),pathetic fighting scenes and bad camera work.For me personally this tv series is painful to watch mainly because of the dialog.Seriously its like The Bold and the Beautiful.I'm not exaggerating.This is not scifi.This is bad drama with scifi elements.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    High hopes but an overall let down. The acting is terrible. The overly dramatic dialog and reactions are straight out of Days of Our Lives. Best part of the show is the intro splash screen graphics with the waiting room / elevator music mocking the serious tone of the show.
  5. Apr 10, 2014
    2
    Beside the embarrassing and easily avoided scientific errors of this show, like looking at 15 nm viruses with optical microscopes and having distinct day-night cycles above the 85°n the real problem with this show is it´s terrible pacing and directing. Some of the actors actually are not that bad but all potential suspense was ruined by odd cuts and a way to convoluted script.
    This is one
    Beside the embarrassing and easily avoided scientific errors of this show, like looking at 15 nm viruses with optical microscopes and having distinct day-night cycles above the 85°n the real problem with this show is it´s terrible pacing and directing. Some of the actors actually are not that bad but all potential suspense was ruined by odd cuts and a way to convoluted script.
    This is one of those shows where people blurt out lines about retroviruses or some other scientific term completely out of context or explanation. I'm normally all over campy sci-fi series like star gate atlantis for instance but this was just atrocious. You cannot make "hard" sci-fi and then have everyone act like either naive amateurs or diabolical bond villains, and on top of that not get your science right.
    I started watching because I liked the premise of a present day sci-fi taking place in a remote place, but after watching a couple of episodes I realized that this was not what I was looking for. The show also tries to address some big ethical questions like what can be justified in the name of progress and adoption. This is unfortunately handled in the most hamfisted way imaginable.
    All in all this is one of the worst series I've watched in a long time but it kept me watching by promising to give all the answers in the end. I cannot say that I feel satisfied with the answers but at least I think most of the big questions got answered.
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    Apparently no one in this series understands quarantine protocol. But other than the silliness in the scientific ignorance of the show, it's pretty entertaining.
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Expectations are let down, met, and exceeded in SyFy's new sci-fi thriller Helix. It definitely oscillates. There are many disappointing moments that involve any and all combinations of stiff acting, hackneyed dialogue, and contrived plot points (then again, it IS television). However, it's the savory moments of unbridled suspense and scientific curiosity that make this show enjoyable, andExpectations are let down, met, and exceeded in SyFy's new sci-fi thriller Helix. It definitely oscillates. There are many disappointing moments that involve any and all combinations of stiff acting, hackneyed dialogue, and contrived plot points (then again, it IS television). However, it's the savory moments of unbridled suspense and scientific curiosity that make this show enjoyable, and possibly even worth watching. Diseased super-humans crawl through air ducts while the CDC slowly unravels the twisted research that is going on in the Arctic. Technicians are violently infected to the beat of ditzy elevator soundtracks. There are also smaller story lines, such as Dr. Farragut and Dr. Walker's distant romantic pasts, and whatever the hell conspiracies Major Balleseros is running. But trust me, you won't give a second thought to those.
    The show's all science fiction fun, playing off the notions and fears that modern science and genetics present in the pursuit of a more perfect human being (haven't we seen that premise before). And yes, you'll roll your eyes at least five times an episode. But I would give at least the first two episodes a shot. This spiffy and safely produced approach towards biogenetics gone wrong may appeal to you.

    FINAL SCORE: 70 (pretty good)
    Expand
  8. Jan 28, 2014
    1
    So disappointing! I was really hopeful about this series but I can't stand watching supposedly smart people (scientists??) being really stupid and clueless. Everyone does everything alone even thought there are 'monsters' running amok killing people. Haven't they ever heard of the buddy system? And much of the acting is really sub-par.
  9. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    Wow that was worse than I expected. If the CDC were really the bumbling set of incompetents and morons in this show the human race is dead the first time anything slightly worse than the common cold hits. It was like a weak B horror movie. The concept has such potential but they made it into a bad joke.
  10. Jan 24, 2014
    4
    Helix's first two episodes may cause some major eye rolling, but one thing's for sure: this show can get intense as hell. Almost nothing is original but it doesn't dull the atmosphere too much. This is a budget TV show but the make-up is outstanding; although, the CG scenes annoyed me.

    Good Sci-Fi shows aren't overly common so it's good to see this show showing us at least a little
    Helix's first two episodes may cause some major eye rolling, but one thing's for sure: this show can get intense as hell. Almost nothing is original but it doesn't dull the atmosphere too much. This is a budget TV show but the make-up is outstanding; although, the CG scenes annoyed me.

    Good Sci-Fi shows aren't overly common so it's good to see this show showing us at least a little promise. So-so casting, directing, and a silly love triangle are all prevalent flaws, so here's to hoping the show comes into its own and delivers.

    UPDATE:

    With the intensity steeply dropping off with each entry, I'm finding it harder and harder to justify tuning in each week. The dialogue here is beyond hackey and I can't stand another minute watching these characters. Not to mention, the bad CG has gotten to a point of annoyance. I'm dropping this show but I MAY possibly catch up later if later episodes get high acclaim. But I'm not seeing that as a strong possibility.
    Expand
  11. Feb 1, 2014
    4
    This show is a let down. The dialog is not appropriate for highly educated scientific personnel. their actions make no sense. The people cast in the various roles are inappropriate. Here are a few;

    Blonde Scientist: She looks like a biker (and has the vocabulary of a biker). Scientist with tumor; Looks like a college co-ed. Military guy: to young for such a mission Asian
    This show is a let down. The dialog is not appropriate for highly educated scientific personnel. their actions make no sense. The people cast in the various roles are inappropriate. Here are a few;

    Blonde Scientist: She looks like a biker (and has the vocabulary of a biker).
    Scientist with tumor; Looks like a college co-ed.
    Military guy: to young for such a mission
    Asian leader guy; WHY......

    Not one person in the show makes you care whether they live or die.

    Here you have scientists who work every day with viruses that can destroy the human race, yet when they are infected, they freak out like a any other person off the street. Can't see it. It would freak anyone out, but not like that. The producer drags out the time when one person comes to the others defense for drama (I guess) and it leaves you sitting there asking, "Why aren't the soldiers helping? Why didn't the other guy pick up the gun and shoot?" Just stupid. Can't see it lasting more than one season. Take notes from The Walking Dead and re-cast this show and hire writers over the age of 25.
    Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    First impressions of the show are good, I enjoy seeing similar stories pushed to the limit to keep us hanging on the edge of our seats. For me the acting is important but can get by some inexperienced actors with a good story.

    Helix is trying to force us to expect the unexpected, and I'm eating it up, the earlier episodes are a little slow as we engage the characters then incomes the
    First impressions of the show are good, I enjoy seeing similar stories pushed to the limit to keep us hanging on the edge of our seats. For me the acting is important but can get by some inexperienced actors with a good story.

    Helix is trying to force us to expect the unexpected, and I'm eating it up, the earlier episodes are a little slow as we engage the characters then incomes the corporation who has plans (which are still not clear except that they want the virus.... Is it going to be the normal pharmaceutical trap of infect and sell the cure for profits???? Having said that does that explain the immortality of some characters, could this turn to be a creation of a new race and only the strongest can survive?

    However whatever the final episode brings... lets hope for the network order a 2nd season.
    Expand
  13. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I'm amazed at how much I like this show. It is very suspenseful and chilling. I was skeptical at first since I'm not a huge fan of syfy series but this one I'm glad to make an exception. the story is about members of the CDC go to a base in the arctic to contain a possible outbreak, as you can expect things go BAD and things just get worse from there. I don't want to spoil any of theI'm amazed at how much I like this show. It is very suspenseful and chilling. I was skeptical at first since I'm not a huge fan of syfy series but this one I'm glad to make an exception. the story is about members of the CDC go to a base in the arctic to contain a possible outbreak, as you can expect things go BAD and things just get worse from there. I don't want to spoil any of the story because it needs to be experienced by the viewer. The acting is also well done as are the special effects and CG. The way things are going I think this series will be one, if not the best syfy series on this season. Helix is a gripping, suspenseful and at times chilling tv series that shows what could happen when scientist try to play god. 9/10 Expand
  14. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Show has a real sense of mystery and suspense that really hooks you early in the first 3 episodes. Makes you want to stick around and see what happens. Really looking forward to see what the writers come up with next.
  15. Mar 9, 2014
    2
    This show is so much alike battlestar galactica (from the same guy) that I kept looking for cylons during the all first episode. It has just about the same strengths and weaknesses. This is probably why I could not enjoy it. lots of questions, not a small answer to be expected before long. I will not bother to wait for answers considering how disapointing battlestar's were to me.
  16. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    A 9 is too high for this show but I think a 6.0 is so incorrect that I am giving it a 9. Firstly, this show is entertaining. It's fun and interesting to watch. The science is actually pretty accurate sometimes and the ideas are interesting as well. They even got the pupil dilation with the morphine injection correct (Unlike Requiem for a Dream. The characters are pretty good but couldA 9 is too high for this show but I think a 6.0 is so incorrect that I am giving it a 9. Firstly, this show is entertaining. It's fun and interesting to watch. The science is actually pretty accurate sometimes and the ideas are interesting as well. They even got the pupil dilation with the morphine injection correct (Unlike Requiem for a Dream. The characters are pretty good but could certainly use some more depth and background. Normal isn't interesting, the show seems to grasp this with the overall plot but not with he characters. Each character has quirks like any human being, but this is television, so making things more dramatic and interesting is good and fun to watch, and thus it would have been nice for some of the main characters to be a greater extent of abnormal. The show is predictable at times, and unpredictable on rare occasions thus far, but that's fine with me. It's great entertainment overall. Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Helix is a show unlike any show you've seen before. It is however, not unlike any movie you've seen before. Helix plays out very much like a movie, or it's TV equivilent, a mini-series. It's premise has never been done before in a week to week format. Movies such as "The Thing" or "Contagion" are the closest examples I could think of to describe Helix. Helix is an original, powerful dramaHelix is a show unlike any show you've seen before. It is however, not unlike any movie you've seen before. Helix plays out very much like a movie, or it's TV equivilent, a mini-series. It's premise has never been done before in a week to week format. Movies such as "The Thing" or "Contagion" are the closest examples I could think of to describe Helix. Helix is an original, powerful drama by the people that brought you the epic space odyssey, Battlestar Gallatica. As a viewer, you are given solid elements, constants that remain the same. There is a base in the arctic, there is a deadly virus. These things don't change. And then you are given the variables, the things that fluctuate, the characters. In this show, there are many sides, many agendas, and many goals. You dont know who you can trust. Everyone has secrets, everything is a mystery and questions are always being raised. But what makes helix so great, is that questions ... are also being answered. Together, along with Dr. Alan Farragut and his CDC team, you delve into the mystery of the base, the virus, and the people who run it. And it's all brilliant.

    I cannot recommend a more intelligent, and well produced series, than Syfy's Helix.
    Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    If you like TV tropes, unneeded and awkward love triangles, and badly researched subject matter, you will love this new series by SyFy. You would think with professional writers in staff ONE of them could write dialogue. All they have done here is rip off Aliens, The Thing, and the Abyss shamelessly. Lazy, lazy writing with no
    Imagination. Add all this to poorly developed characters, and
    If you like TV tropes, unneeded and awkward love triangles, and badly researched subject matter, you will love this new series by SyFy. You would think with professional writers in staff ONE of them could write dialogue. All they have done here is rip off Aliens, The Thing, and the Abyss shamelessly. Lazy, lazy writing with no
    Imagination. Add all this to poorly developed characters, and you get a pilot not worth watching - and certainly not worth investing time into the series.
    Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    Not the smartest newcomer of this season; however, I'm compelled to say that this show grows on you (not like a wart).

    First, I want to address the first two episodes, which aired as one, in its premiere on Syfy. The first half works a lot like Andromeda Strain, setting up the storyline and the claustrophobic atmosphere. By the end of the third episode, the show hits its stride with
    Not the smartest newcomer of this season; however, I'm compelled to say that this show grows on you (not like a wart).

    First, I want to address the first two episodes, which aired as one, in its premiere on Syfy. The first half works a lot like Andromeda Strain, setting up the storyline and the claustrophobic atmosphere. By the end of the third episode, the show hits its stride with some nice intensity. Should the effects be better? Sure. But I start to care for the characters and buy into the mystique to look the other way. Is it derivative? Yes, but I think that's the play...like homage after homage...playing into our own pop culture bricolage and giving us a pastiche based on our worst fears--especially for hypochondriacs.

    The show does need better writing in terms of dialogue and perhaps bringing in more "tip of the hat" to philosophy like what LOST was able to accomplish--the type of fodder that creates a canon for science fiction fans to devour, scrutinize, and blog about to get through the week until the next episode.

    RDM and company needs to trust their audience more and give us a density of ideas that makes our Friday night (or DVR) watching a more rich experience in fear and nightmarish gore.
    Expand
  20. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trapped in a sealed arctic base with a dangerous new virus and no communications a 'good' team of scientists tries to undo the damage caused by a 'bad' team of scientists whose attempts to militarise a virus have escaped the lab with predictable results.

    Generally poor acting, faux intrigue, pedestrian scripts, and annoyingly familiar concepts recycled from every scifi and horror movie or tv series you've ever seen.
    Expand
  21. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    I'm not sure which is worse, the absurdity of this show or the moronism of the people that give this a positive review.

    The premise, the plot, the characters, the writing and especially the creative force behind this bleached piece of dog feces are all devoid of anything remotely appealing. Please can this abomination.
  22. Apr 1, 2014
    7
    There's some pretty bad (over)acting and the plot is often silly, but the suspense works and somehow we got to like it enough to keep on watching, even the silly bits.
  23. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    4 episodes in, this Syfy drama has shown its willingness to create mystery. It's utilized the horror associated with the virus to explore character histories and the mythology of Helix's world in general. The biggest pitfalls result from the archetypal characters. But a few of these characters are already being fleshed out. That said, it's been fun trying to unpack the source of the virus4 episodes in, this Syfy drama has shown its willingness to create mystery. It's utilized the horror associated with the virus to explore character histories and the mythology of Helix's world in general. The biggest pitfalls result from the archetypal characters. But a few of these characters are already being fleshed out. That said, it's been fun trying to unpack the source of the virus and the duplicitous intentions of several of the characters. Expand
  24. Feb 4, 2014
    1
    I work in a Level 1 Trauma Center in Atlanta, GA. Contagion protocols in this TV series are rank folly. Expect everyone to be dead or infected in two more episodes. Question? When did God's last name become Damn? A very disappointing show. There are better ways to spend one's time.
  25. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Trite and obnoxious, that sums up the Pilot and first episode of Helix.
    Helix is a show where nothing happens because the circumstances demand it but because characters consistently make all the wrong decisions, and they are all supposed to be smart, pretty people in authority. I hold little hope for mankind if the CDC is really just a collection of bumbling idiots.
  26. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    It is rather unfortunate that the synopsis and reviews led to high expectations as I could not have been more disappointed and annoyed. First of all, I usually do excuse mediocre acting for the first few episodes, as actors may need some time to 'get into role', but it was poor, and found myself quickly disliking all but Dr.Hatake. Now this would be okay too, were it not for the terriblyIt is rather unfortunate that the synopsis and reviews led to high expectations as I could not have been more disappointed and annoyed. First of all, I usually do excuse mediocre acting for the first few episodes, as actors may need some time to 'get into role', but it was poor, and found myself quickly disliking all but Dr.Hatake. Now this would be okay too, were it not for the terribly cliche and bland script/dialogue. At many times, I would hear a 'prompt' and think of the cheesiest line I wouldn't want to hear, and that exact line would be said; word for word. Having done this 5 times, it all went downhill, I couldn't take the poor dialogue anymore, and the seemingly 'intense' sypnosis/storyline I was initially captivated by was unbearable.
    Perhaps, giant fans of the sci-fy genre may enjoy this, but if you've watched any suspense or thrillers before, prepare to be hit with cliches, horrendous dialogue, tacky forced suspence and 'shock' moments and to be extremely disappointed.
    Expand
  27. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well im all caught up to Episode 9 , and i must say it started slow, , the following episodes 4,5 and 6 began getting Decent. they begin to flesh out the characters as well as building suspense and mystery as to WTH is up with The EYES ?? ;> .........Episodes 7-9 Really Kick the action up and begin to unfold kind of whats all going on between the several subplots....I.E , Mika times 2 , Balisares, Julia and hitake, the Brothers Boss Vector , and ends with The Missing VIAL being walked out of the DOME.......ALL in all i love the show, definetly glad i stayed for the first 3 or 4 episodes as it is now one of my favorites shows and DEFINITELY MY FAV. ScyFy Show and ONLY show i watch on ScyFy cause 90% of the rest of their programming is GHOST CHASERS but i digress ....... 10 Thumbs up.....GIVE it 4 episodes if you are on the Fence you wont be Dissapointed !!!! Expand
  28. Mar 29, 2014
    3
    It had a promising start, but as the season went on it became clear that the story was on a treadmill. Each episode ends with the promise of coming revelations that are either never revealed, or end up being rather disappointing. The acting, for the most part, is sub par, and the earnest idealism of Billy Campbell is unconvincing and at times rather annoying. If you are the type of sci fiIt had a promising start, but as the season went on it became clear that the story was on a treadmill. Each episode ends with the promise of coming revelations that are either never revealed, or end up being rather disappointing. The acting, for the most part, is sub par, and the earnest idealism of Billy Campbell is unconvincing and at times rather annoying. If you are the type of sci fi viewer that needs the story to at least be plausible this probably is not for you; very little of the story makes sense. It is just one big deus ex machina. Expand
  29. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    Helix is a sci fi series set at an arctic research base where a virus gets loose and infects half the staff.A group from the CDC arrive to investigate and then the fun begins.Right off the bat,I love it.This is one of the SYFY channels better series I can ever recall.Fully fleshed characters run the gamut of emotions and are 3 dimensional.Well so far all except the main male character heroHelix is a sci fi series set at an arctic research base where a virus gets loose and infects half the staff.A group from the CDC arrive to investigate and then the fun begins.Right off the bat,I love it.This is one of the SYFY channels better series I can ever recall.Fully fleshed characters run the gamut of emotions and are 3 dimensional.Well so far all except the main male character hero who has yet to impress me as 3 dimensional..ot it could be the script is not giving him a chance..Everyone else -excellent.I'm fussy so I do not let actors off the hook easilly for cardboard portrayals.I am grateful SYFY is learning a thing or two about good television.If you like The Walking Dead and Regenesis ,well put em together and you have Helix.Another element that stands out is the soundtrack-it is engaging and effective.I can't predict if Helix will stay interesting but I love it so far. Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2014
    3
    If you like jump scares, frozen monkeys, and the sound of hi-tec doors opening, you're at the right place. Well, what do you expect. Judging from the first two episodes, it's a TV mash-up of sci-fi horror elements, and nothing more. You've got, for instance, The Thing, Alien, and even The Abyss in the mix. The suspense is alright, I guess, at least if you haven't watched any of theseIf you like jump scares, frozen monkeys, and the sound of hi-tec doors opening, you're at the right place. Well, what do you expect. Judging from the first two episodes, it's a TV mash-up of sci-fi horror elements, and nothing more. You've got, for instance, The Thing, Alien, and even The Abyss in the mix. The suspense is alright, I guess, at least if you haven't watched any of these classic movies, because in that case you will have a hard time believing how carelessly characters behave in the middle of a deadly crisis. For instance, wearing headphones when in a dark cellar all by yourself perhaps isn't the smartest thing to do when you're on a mission that involves mysteriously infected persons running wild. Expand
  31. Jan 13, 2014
    1
    Very disappointed. Terrible acting and the plot was straight from "The Thing". Lowest point was that Dr. Boyle character trying to coax the monkey out from hiding. You are in an infection zone and say "Here, monkey, monkey"? And, gasp, it then leaps out at you? I don't get all the praise for this show. Granted, it is only one episode, but I really disliked all the characters.
  32. Jan 16, 2014
    3
    Helix is disappointing ...
    'Visually' the series has a realistic look to it ... but that is it for realism ... the CDC scientists and other medical professionals behave as amateurs ... it's a joke ...
    It seems to me that this is a Horror/Sci-fi show with the usual suspense and thrills expected of this genre so for those interested in this type of program it's OK ... but there is little
    Helix is disappointing ...
    'Visually' the series has a realistic look to it ... but that is it for realism ... the CDC scientists and other medical professionals behave as amateurs ... it's a joke ...
    It seems to me that this is a Horror/Sci-fi show with the usual suspense and thrills expected of this genre so for those interested in this type of program it's OK ... but there is little accuracy /realism ...
    I enjoy science fiction so I was disappointment in the first episode .. I may or may not continue watching the rest ...
    Expand
  33. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    We had a great time laughing, except this wasn't a comedy or even a comedy-drama. It was a sci-fi show with people dying in it. We couldn't stand it after 30 minutes. Delete the series record on the DVR. Another extremely disappointing Original Syfy production.
  34. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Excellent series full of suspense and a lot of mystery to keep you coming back for more. The pure isolation element with all of the various characters conflicting motives (although the full picture behind a lot of these motives has yet to be completely revealed) make for a dark entangled web. I find a couple of the negative reviews quite humorous where they site standard CDC proceduresExcellent series full of suspense and a lot of mystery to keep you coming back for more. The pure isolation element with all of the various characters conflicting motives (although the full picture behind a lot of these motives has yet to be completely revealed) make for a dark entangled web. I find a couple of the negative reviews quite humorous where they site standard CDC procedures when the unique location, the base's nature and the disease itself make for anything but a standard situation. Awesome show. Expand
  35. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    The dialogue can be a little cheesy, and the story line a little far fetched, but the show has proved to be exciting and unpredictable. I really find myself looking forward to this show on Friday nights.. I wasn't sure after the first episode or two, but I am definitely hooked.
  36. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    I have watched only the pilot so far and I am in the process of deciding if I will invest any more time in Helix. So far I find it to be a major disappointment. Start off with "The Thing", add some mad-scientist experiment elements, chase scenes in the ventilation ducts, a little of this, a little of that. Have I left anything out? Oh, yes. Imagination, quality writing, skillfulI have watched only the pilot so far and I am in the process of deciding if I will invest any more time in Helix. So far I find it to be a major disappointment. Start off with "The Thing", add some mad-scientist experiment elements, chase scenes in the ventilation ducts, a little of this, a little of that. Have I left anything out? Oh, yes. Imagination, quality writing, skillful acting (with a few exceptions), real suspense. Expand
  37. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    This is what I'd call a poor man's Fringe, a compelling and entertaining concept, but without the production values and talented cast. Have watched through episode 3 (Infinity On Demand), and may give the series a chance through ep 5 or so, but if it doesn't improve, that'll be it for me.
  38. Feb 17, 2014
    5
    Not great but good enough to keep me watching with some judicious fast forwarding. Deadly viruses are always interesting, the arctic base setting is cool, and the plot is interesting albeit sometimes mysterious in a confused rather than compelling way. The dialogue is weak, actions and reactions sometimes unrealistic, sometimes predictable, and the whole hallucination thing is a drag.Not great but good enough to keep me watching with some judicious fast forwarding. Deadly viruses are always interesting, the arctic base setting is cool, and the plot is interesting albeit sometimes mysterious in a confused rather than compelling way. The dialogue is weak, actions and reactions sometimes unrealistic, sometimes predictable, and the whole hallucination thing is a drag. And what's up with the muzak during the breaks, is there a Stepford Wife plot in here that I'm missing? Expand
  39. Feb 8, 2014
    5
    6 episodes into Helix and regrettably have moved from enjoyment to meh. Loved the initial Andromeda Strain/Outbreak science premise and the tension of all the action taking place on successive days, a great hook, full of promise. The anxiety was further amplified by the Aliens-ness of the setting, a fortress built in the shape of a space outpost, hunkered down in a storm-swept arctic6 episodes into Helix and regrettably have moved from enjoyment to meh. Loved the initial Andromeda Strain/Outbreak science premise and the tension of all the action taking place on successive days, a great hook, full of promise. The anxiety was further amplified by the Aliens-ness of the setting, a fortress built in the shape of a space outpost, hunkered down in a storm-swept arctic wilderness. And then there's the alarming calmness of resident meglomaniac, Dr. Hatake, and his menacing giant guardian, Daniel contrasted with the flailing, bile spewing infected and the arrogant CDC team. But, somehow the show has managed to waste all this great setup. Too many indistinguishable characters passing through the plot, not enough real world science thinking and methodology, and too much torpid love triangle backstory. The core problems of the show can be illustrated through the fate of one of the few characters who didn't seem cloned: arrived at the base, went right to work, made a discovery, stupidly convinced to keep the information a secret from their boss, died gruesomely, apparently purely for shock value, since the hidden information was discovered shortly on an unencrypted communication device stupidly left in a villain's hidey hole. Finally, the sad boss has a moment by the body in a bag stored on the ice outside. Yuck. Half way through the season, and my inclination is to borrow an idea from Hicks "All right. We take off. Nuke the site from orbit." Expand
  40. Feb 10, 2014
    5
    The tone of the Music of this show is WAY off. It's suppose to be suspenseful, but sounds like a cartoon skit on suspenseful scenes. As soon as you get engaged into the suspenseful plot, a not so thrilling song comes on...throws everything off.
  41. Feb 12, 2014
    6
    Helix requires a bit of patience. It's a good plot - there are some interesting characters. It would be better if the lead character 'Daniel" had a better backstory. He's a bit boring. The 'vectors' are not as well developed as they could be. In 'Lost" almost every character had a chance to evolve alongside the main characters. I don't see this happening here. However ... it's a goodHelix requires a bit of patience. It's a good plot - there are some interesting characters. It would be better if the lead character 'Daniel" had a better backstory. He's a bit boring. The 'vectors' are not as well developed as they could be. In 'Lost" almost every character had a chance to evolve alongside the main characters. I don't see this happening here. However ... it's a good premise for a series and it's though provoking. What happens when we dare to play God? I would stick with it, improve the writing and see where it goes. Expand
  42. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like a child prodigy gone astray, I wish, oh how I wish Helix would live up to its initial promise. Instead, it wanders the darkened hallways, jumps out with a "Boo!" every once in a while, but mostly just sits in the corner sucking its thumb, wondering why nobody loves it. I've never watched a series with so many premises running off in all directions - mutant viruses, legions of zombies, CDC SWAT team, lettuce growing in the director's office, hidden stairways, duplicity - it's all there, it's just sprouting malignantly in all directions, like that weird mega-virus - wait, what ever happened to that? And the monkeys out in the snow? And the heads in the jars? Jeez, where IS this all going, and how's it all going to tie up? I feel like there are 6 different shows competing all at once for our attention here.

    Every episode flashes a teasing glimpse of the show it could be, like the first time Dr. Hataki revealed his special eyes, then yanks it back, as we saw when Balleseros, bleeding out in the snow, is dragged off by an Inuit cop, who happens to wander by, in the middle of the night, from a previously unmentioned village just a snowmobile ride away. What?! I thought they were all stranded in this hermetically sealed research vault, hundreds of miles from the nearest habitation, so the icky viruses wouldn't leak out and contaminate humanity.

    I'll stick it out to the end of the season, 'cause I'm just so invested in finding out what the #$@!@& is going on with Julia and Hataki. The rest of 'em, smirking Balleseros, pudgy Meeksa, even Zombie-God Peter, well, meh. Meh.
    Expand
  43. May 7, 2014
    0
    Fully Potted nonsense. Hair-raising story. Pathetic bad television. Even the actors seem completely amateurish in this environment. If nothing helps, helps only completely exaggerated facial expressions. If I did not know the actors from other series, I would think porn actors trying to be a serious actor.

    Outstanding bad play: Mark Ghanimé and Meegwun Fairbrother. But also the
    Fully Potted nonsense. Hair-raising story. Pathetic bad television. Even the actors seem completely amateurish in this environment. If nothing helps, helps only completely exaggerated facial expressions. If I did not know the actors from other series, I would think porn actors trying to be a serious actor.

    Outstanding bad play:
    Mark Ghanimé and Meegwun Fairbrother.

    But also the others can not allude to the bad script.
    Expand
  44. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    Helix is a disappointing offering from Ronald Moore (ST:TNG, BSG reboot). It's a show about, well, nothing...and not in a good Seinfeld kind of way. It's a show that's trying to take a page out of the Lost archives by dangling a carrot in front of viewers in hopes they return each episode. But nothing is ever answered, nothing makes sense (including air ducts you can drive a car in, andHelix is a disappointing offering from Ronald Moore (ST:TNG, BSG reboot). It's a show about, well, nothing...and not in a good Seinfeld kind of way. It's a show that's trying to take a page out of the Lost archives by dangling a carrot in front of viewers in hopes they return each episode. But nothing is ever answered, nothing makes sense (including air ducts you can drive a car in, and a base in the Antarctic powered by solar). And viewers will probably not follow this storytelling tactic again. Helix is not the worst show ever, but it's certainly not worthy of investing a lot of time in, especially if the story just treads water and goes nowhere.

    Some details: The scientists are perhaps the dumbest and most illogical scientists since the movie Prometheus. Some are more concerned about having sex than solving an outbreak that threatens humanity. But the cornerstone every disappointing show are characters you don't care about. Every character in Helix is dour, depressing, angsty, and completely unlikable. I hate every character on this show. I don't care if any of them live or die. Everything about the show feels rehashed, especially the black goo vectors (let's face it, they're just zombies who spread infection instead of eating brains). I will likely not be back for a season 2...if there is one.
    Expand
  45. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    I waited with big hope this Helix. Indeed we are talking about the creator of Battlestar Galactica, but unluckily, for yet, we are in front of a sloppy show.
    Characters are flat and the actors who play them are even worse.
    The setting is very bad. The claustrophobic feel is made of boredom more than entertainment. The visual effects and photography are the worst i ever seen in a sci-fi
    I waited with big hope this Helix. Indeed we are talking about the creator of Battlestar Galactica, but unluckily, for yet, we are in front of a sloppy show.
    Characters are flat and the actors who play them are even worse.
    The setting is very bad. The claustrophobic feel is made of boredom more than entertainment.
    The visual effects and photography are the worst i ever seen in a sci-fi show. I understand that the budget is low, but the lack of details just show how there was no time or will to make a better output.

    As for the main plot, it's interesting and every sci-fi lover will try to stand the poor general quality of this show to understand what is really going on.
    Expand
  46. Mar 16, 2014
    4
    This show is overrated to say the least. The pilot was interesting, but ever since it's been boring and repetitive. This joins Syfys long line of disappointing shos.s
  47. Apr 14, 2014
    2
    With Ron Moore's name on it, many thought that Helix would at least come close to the heights of Battlestar Galactica. It doesn't. Helix trots out line after line of hackneyed dialogue and increasingly absurd situations where BSG consistently broke the rule of genre television. Characters act like they've undergone a partial lobotomy with absolutely no logic to any of their decisions atWith Ron Moore's name on it, many thought that Helix would at least come close to the heights of Battlestar Galactica. It doesn't. Helix trots out line after line of hackneyed dialogue and increasingly absurd situations where BSG consistently broke the rule of genre television. Characters act like they've undergone a partial lobotomy with absolutely no logic to any of their decisions at any given moment. Their personalities change to fit with the plot's various convoluted turns and you never once get a feel for who they are beneath the chronic stupidity. Its only saving graces are Zagorsky, Ghanimé and Sanada, who at least give some warmth to the one-dimensional characters they play.

    If it were repackaged as a parody of genre clichés, Helix would be a masterpiece.
    Expand
  48. Sep 1, 2014
    1
    Helix is just the proof what bad writing and bad directing / acting can do to a TV show.. this show had a decent start but the story just progressed from ridiculous to very ridiculous to annoying ridiculous and cheesy. It seems to me the writers confused a horror TV show with a horrible script...
  49. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    was loving the first few episodes, but then it seemed to get progressivly worse. by the end of the season i felt it had really lost its way. i may watch the first episode of the next season to decide whether to continue and only because im a scifi junkie
  50. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first glance this series was promising. It was dark and suspenseful. Until it went downhill about four episodes in, where it appeared to not know where it wanted to go in terms of the plot. Situations are happening to the characters, but the characters haven't really been developed yet. (up to episode ten). So much so, when things do happen involving the characters they aren't really a revelation. Furthermore, one character appeared for a few episodes only, which was pointless. One character killed a Dr and it still hasn't been explained why he did this. Further, the series is boring and the Drs appear to spend more time running about the place than that doing what they came there to do - find a cure for this virus! Expand
  51. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    It oscillates all the first shows were really good. Not that there have been bad shows .

    It is a good history considering all takes place in a claustrophobic environment
  52. Mar 2, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (Spoilers) I'm in the middle of the final episode of the first season. I get how I need to suspend disbelief and step into the world of the show. But the cliffhangers and double-crosses within that world are now officially stupid. What I thought was a good thriller, then pot-boiler has now turned into an afternoon soap-opera disguised as science fiction.

    In the final moments of the episode, the show turns into a semi-spy thriller, with a CDC official leaving marks on buildings and other spycraft. Plus there's another -gasp- apparent double-cross. I finished the episode, but I'm 30% sure I'll make it through all of Season 2.

    Overall, Season 1 has it's moments, especially within the first half. Those episodes were resolving themselves into itself. The second half felt like the show got money for a second half, but the show runners weren't quite ready with good scripts.
    Expand
  53. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    At first it doesn't appear too original but it is a slow burner and despite the at times poor dialogue the characters get stronger over time. It takes some well known concepts and carries them out effectively with the addition of a few unexpected twists and turns
  54. Sep 25, 2016
    8
    First half of S1 was amazing - straight up 9/10, with possibilities of going to a 10/10 if it had kept up the pace. But keep up the pace it didn't, it just quickly degraded around mid-season and started doing really cheap, cheesy and stupid things (like introducing absolutely childish and cartoony characters like "The Scythe", or like the decidedly too many close-up horror scenes withFirst half of S1 was amazing - straight up 9/10, with possibilities of going to a 10/10 if it had kept up the pace. But keep up the pace it didn't, it just quickly degraded around mid-season and started doing really cheap, cheesy and stupid things (like introducing absolutely childish and cartoony characters like "The Scythe", or like the decidedly too many close-up horror scenes with happy music). So sadly I had to take it from a 9 and demote it to an 8. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    The story is an edge-of-your-seat kind of thriller. Clues are dropped, but you never know what’s coming next.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Billy Campbell anchors the cast admirably as Dr. Alan Farragut.... Mr. Sanada is always intriguing to watch. And some of the show’s support players bring welcome spunk to the claustrophobic world of the research center, especially Catherine Lemieux as Dr. Doreen Boyle, a smart pathologist with a smart mouth.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 10, 2014
    70
    Helix doesn't reinvent the virus thriller, but it's a solid slice of genre entertainment that offers some creepy visuals and believable scares.