• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 2014
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 145
  2. Negative: 34 out of 145

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    3
    If you like jump scares, frozen monkeys, and the sound of hi-tec doors opening, you're at the right place. Well, what do you expect. Judging from the first two episodes, it's a TV mash-up of sci-fi horror elements, and nothing more. You've got, for instance, The Thing, Alien, and even The Abyss in the mix. The suspense is alright, I guess, at least if you haven't watched any of these classic movies, because in that case you will have a hard time believing how carelessly characters behave in the middle of a deadly crisis. For instance, wearing headphones when in a dark cellar all by yourself perhaps isn't the smartest thing to do when you're on a mission that involves mysteriously infected persons running wild. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    3
    Helix is disappointing ...
    'Visually' the series has a realistic look to it ... but that is it for realism ... the CDC scientists and other medical professionals behave as amateurs ... it's a joke ...
    It seems to me that this is a Horror/Sci-fi show with the usual suspense and thrills expected of this genre so for those interested in this type of program it's OK ... but there is little
    accuracy /realism ...
    I enjoy science fiction so I was disappointment in the first episode .. I may or may not continue watching the rest ...
    Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    I have watched only the pilot so far and I am in the process of deciding if I will invest any more time in Helix. So far I find it to be a major disappointment. Start off with "The Thing", add some mad-scientist experiment elements, chase scenes in the ventilation ducts, a little of this, a little of that. Have I left anything out? Oh, yes. Imagination, quality writing, skillful acting (with a few exceptions), real suspense. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    1
    Very disappointed. Terrible acting and the plot was straight from "The Thing". Lowest point was that Dr. Boyle character trying to coax the monkey out from hiding. You are in an infection zone and say "Here, monkey, monkey"? And, gasp, it then leaps out at you? I don't get all the praise for this show. Granted, it is only one episode, but I really disliked all the characters.
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    1
    So disappointing! I was really hopeful about this series but I can't stand watching supposedly smart people (scientists??) being really stupid and clueless. Everyone does everything alone even thought there are 'monsters' running amok killing people. Haven't they ever heard of the buddy system? And much of the acting is really sub-par.
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    We had a great time laughing, except this wasn't a comedy or even a comedy-drama. It was a sci-fi show with people dying in it. We couldn't stand it after 30 minutes. Delete the series record on the DVR. Another extremely disappointing Original Syfy production.
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    Wow that was worse than I expected. If the CDC were really the bumbling set of incompetents and morons in this show the human race is dead the first time anything slightly worse than the common cold hits. It was like a weak B horror movie. The concept has such potential but they made it into a bad joke.
  8. Jan 24, 2014
    4
    Helix's first two episodes may cause some major eye rolling, but one thing's for sure: this show can get intense as hell. Almost nothing is original but it doesn't dull the atmosphere too much. This is a budget TV show but the make-up is outstanding; although, the CG scenes annoyed me.

    Good Sci-Fi shows aren't overly common so it's good to see this show showing us at least a little
    promise. So-so casting, directing, and a silly love triangle are all prevalent flaws, so here's to hoping the show comes into its own and delivers.

    UPDATE:

    With the intensity steeply dropping off with each entry, I'm finding it harder and harder to justify tuning in each week. The dialogue here is beyond hackey and I can't stand another minute watching these characters. Not to mention, the bad CG has gotten to a point of annoyance. I'm dropping this show but I MAY possibly catch up later if later episodes get high acclaim. But I'm not seeing that as a strong possibility.
    Expand
  9. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    If you like TV tropes, unneeded and awkward love triangles, and badly researched subject matter, you will love this new series by SyFy. You would think with professional writers in staff ONE of them could write dialogue. All they have done here is rip off Aliens, The Thing, and the Abyss shamelessly. Lazy, lazy writing with no
    Imagination. Add all this to poorly developed characters, and
    you get a pilot not worth watching - and certainly not worth investing time into the series. Expand
  10. Feb 1, 2014
    4
    This show is a let down. The dialog is not appropriate for highly educated scientific personnel. their actions make no sense. The people cast in the various roles are inappropriate. Here are a few; Blonde Scientist: She looks like a biker (and has the vocabulary of a biker). Scientist with tumor; Looks like a college co-ed. Military guy: to young for such a mission Asian leader guy; WHY......

    Not one person in the show makes you care whether they live or die.

    Here you have scientists who work every day with viruses that can destroy the human race, yet when they are infected, they freak out like a any other person off the street. Can't see it. It would freak anyone out, but not like that. The producer drags out the time when one person comes to the others defense for drama (I guess) and it leaves you sitting there asking, "Why aren't the soldiers helping? Why didn't the other guy pick up the gun and shoot?" Just stupid. Can't see it lasting more than one season. Take notes from The Walking Dead and re-cast this show and hire writers over the age of 25.
    Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trapped in a sealed arctic base with a dangerous new virus and no communications a 'good' team of scientists tries to undo the damage caused by a 'bad' team of scientists whose attempts to militarise a virus have escaped the lab with predictable results.

    Generally poor acting, faux intrigue, pedestrian scripts, and annoyingly familiar concepts recycled from every scifi and horror movie or tv series you've ever seen.
    Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    The basic concept (trapped on an arctic base trying to prevent a secret virus from escaping) sounds good, but the result is decidedly underwhelming. This is the kind of sci-fi that seems to be genuinely trying to reference actual science, but fails miserably. The virus itself is more of a sideshow, and the evil corporation plot that replaces it is lame.

    The main reason to watch it is
    ultimately for the back and forth between Billy Campbell and Hiroyuki Sanada, both compelling actors. However, the rest of the characters and cast don't bring much to the table. None of the scientist characters are remotely credible as scientists, and the female characters are sadly unable to hold the screen when the two leads are there.

    The virus-infected zombies disappear for long stretches of time and reappear when convenient, behaving according to no discernible rules. The science scenes include a few genuine science words, but violate basic principles that are obvious even to a non-expert like me. There's an enormous amount of "magic science" wherein a single character gleans information from a test that takes two minutes, which is decidedly not how things work.

    Gratuitous mysteries on top of mysteries abound, but with the first season over, nothing worthwhile has been revealed yet. A completely nonsensical tribe of native Arctic-dwellers (seriously, you can tell they're natives to the polar realms because they wear flannel shirts), a ludicrous cancer cure, dismembered heads in cryostorage, and a telegraphed "I am your father" moment are among the unsatisfactory developments. The horror and intrigue promised by the pilot never really appears.

    The production values are minimal, and whenever they leave the base the production becomes really strained. Random guest cast pop up and leave from this supposedly isolated base, never really establishing themselves. A weird muzak element plays over parts of the show to counterpoint gore and mayhem as if the producers are trying too hard to be clever.

    The show had a few good turns, mostly in the first couple of episodes, but it's gone downhill fast.
    Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    This is what I'd call a poor man's Fringe, a compelling and entertaining concept, but without the production values and talented cast. Have watched through episode 3 (Infinity On Demand), and may give the series a chance through ep 5 or so, but if it doesn't improve, that'll be it for me.
  14. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    I'm not sure which is worse, the absurdity of this show or the moronism of the people that give this a positive review.

    The premise, the plot, the characters, the writing and especially the creative force behind this bleached piece of dog feces are all devoid of anything remotely appealing. Please can this abomination.
  15. Mar 29, 2014
    4
    The show isn't terrible, but I'm afraid that might be the best thing about it. It started off solidly, but the plot was jumbled at times. Between the acting and the writing I could get into all of maybe two characters. The show was also more than a little campy, and I'm not still sure if that was intentional or not. There were enough decent moments for the show to be watchable, but nearly as many groan inducing moments. It did have quite a bit of potential from the get-go, but failed to deliver, especially during the last few episodes. It's confusing scifi, but not in the good way (not to mention, some of the actual science is a bit screwy).

    Overall it was meh. Interesting concept but subpar acting and writing. Still finds ways to be interesting, but only up to a certain point. Overly confusing, but oddly somewhat watchable. But still not watchable enough to invest any more of my time into the show.
    Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    1.Bad acting.
    2.Stolen plot with slight changes which makes it incredibly naive and stupid at times.
    3.Simple and very poorly delivered dialog.Its like a Soap opera.Each episode someone is discovering something shocking,everyone is surprised,the end.
    4.Trying too hard to be suspenseful and thriller like but it fails miserably because of the really bad CGI(whoever says it looks good
    needs glasses),pathetic fighting scenes and bad camera work.For me personally this tv series is painful to watch mainly because of the dialog.Seriously its like The Bold and the Beautiful.I'm not exaggerating.This is not scifi.This is bad drama with scifi elements. Expand
  17. Mar 9, 2014
    2
    This show is so much alike battlestar galactica (from the same guy) that I kept looking for cylons during the all first episode. It has just about the same strengths and weaknesses. This is probably why I could not enjoy it. lots of questions, not a small answer to be expected before long. I will not bother to wait for answers considering how disapointing battlestar's were to me.
  18. Feb 4, 2014
    1
    I work in a Level 1 Trauma Center in Atlanta, GA. Contagion protocols in this TV series are rank folly. Expect everyone to be dead or infected in two more episodes. Question? When did God's last name become Damn? A very disappointing show. There are better ways to spend one's time.
  19. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Trite and obnoxious, that sums up the Pilot and first episode of Helix.
    Helix is a show where nothing happens because the circumstances demand it but because characters consistently make all the wrong decisions, and they are all supposed to be smart, pretty people in authority. I hold little hope for mankind if the CDC is really just a collection of bumbling idiots.
  20. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    It is rather unfortunate that the synopsis and reviews led to high expectations as I could not have been more disappointed and annoyed. First of all, I usually do excuse mediocre acting for the first few episodes, as actors may need some time to 'get into role', but it was poor, and found myself quickly disliking all but Dr.Hatake. Now this would be okay too, were it not for the terribly cliche and bland script/dialogue. At many times, I would hear a 'prompt' and think of the cheesiest line I wouldn't want to hear, and that exact line would be said; word for word. Having done this 5 times, it all went downhill, I couldn't take the poor dialogue anymore, and the seemingly 'intense' sypnosis/storyline I was initially captivated by was unbearable.
    Perhaps, giant fans of the sci-fy genre may enjoy this, but if you've watched any suspense or thrillers before, prepare to be hit with cliches, horrendous dialogue, tacky forced suspence and 'shock' moments and to be extremely disappointed.
    Expand
  21. Mar 29, 2014
    3
    It had a promising start, but as the season went on it became clear that the story was on a treadmill. Each episode ends with the promise of coming revelations that are either never revealed, or end up being rather disappointing. The acting, for the most part, is sub par, and the earnest idealism of Billy Campbell is unconvincing and at times rather annoying. If you are the type of sci fi viewer that needs the story to at least be plausible this probably is not for you; very little of the story makes sense. It is just one big deus ex machina. Expand
  22. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    High hopes but an overall let down. The acting is terrible. The overly dramatic dialog and reactions are straight out of Days of Our Lives. Best part of the show is the intro splash screen graphics with the waiting room / elevator music mocking the serious tone of the show.
  23. Apr 10, 2014
    2
    Beside the embarrassing and easily avoided scientific errors of this show, like looking at 15 nm viruses with optical microscopes and having distinct day-night cycles above the 85°n the real problem with this show is it´s terrible pacing and directing. Some of the actors actually are not that bad but all potential suspense was ruined by odd cuts and a way to convoluted script.
    This is one
    of those shows where people blurt out lines about retroviruses or some other scientific term completely out of context or explanation. I'm normally all over campy sci-fi series like star gate atlantis for instance but this was just atrocious. You cannot make "hard" sci-fi and then have everyone act like either naive amateurs or diabolical bond villains, and on top of that not get your science right.
    I started watching because I liked the premise of a present day sci-fi taking place in a remote place, but after watching a couple of episodes I realized that this was not what I was looking for. The show also tries to address some big ethical questions like what can be justified in the name of progress and adoption. This is unfortunately handled in the most hamfisted way imaginable.
    All in all this is one of the worst series I've watched in a long time but it kept me watching by promising to give all the answers in the end. I cannot say that I feel satisfied with the answers but at least I think most of the big questions got answered.
    Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    Helix is a disappointing offering from Ronald Moore (ST:TNG, BSG reboot). It's a show about, well, nothing...and not in a good Seinfeld kind of way. It's a show that's trying to take a page out of the Lost archives by dangling a carrot in front of viewers in hopes they return each episode. But nothing is ever answered, nothing makes sense (including air ducts you can drive a car in, and a base in the Antarctic powered by solar). And viewers will probably not follow this storytelling tactic again. Helix is not the worst show ever, but it's certainly not worthy of investing a lot of time in, especially if the story just treads water and goes nowhere.

    Some details: The scientists are perhaps the dumbest and most illogical scientists since the movie Prometheus. Some are more concerned about having sex than solving an outbreak that threatens humanity. But the cornerstone every disappointing show are characters you don't care about. Every character in Helix is dour, depressing, angsty, and completely unlikable. I hate every character on this show. I don't care if any of them live or die. Everything about the show feels rehashed, especially the black goo vectors (let's face it, they're just zombies who spread infection instead of eating brains). I will likely not be back for a season 2...if there is one.
    Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2014
    4
    This show is overrated to say the least. The pilot was interesting, but ever since it's been boring and repetitive. This joins Syfys long line of disappointing shos.s
  26. Apr 14, 2014
    2
    With Ron Moore's name on it, many thought that Helix would at least come close to the heights of Battlestar Galactica. It doesn't. Helix trots out line after line of hackneyed dialogue and increasingly absurd situations where BSG consistently broke the rule of genre television. Characters act like they've undergone a partial lobotomy with absolutely no logic to any of their decisions at any given moment. Their personalities change to fit with the plot's various convoluted turns and you never once get a feel for who they are beneath the chronic stupidity. Its only saving graces are Zagorsky, Ghanimé and Sanada, who at least give some warmth to the one-dimensional characters they play.

    If it were repackaged as a parody of genre clichés, Helix would be a masterpiece.
    Expand
  27. Sep 1, 2014
    1
    Helix is just the proof what bad writing and bad directing / acting can do to a TV show.. this show had a decent start but the story just progressed from ridiculous to very ridiculous to annoying ridiculous and cheesy. It seems to me the writers confused a horror TV show with a horrible script...
  28. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    was loving the first few episodes, but then it seemed to get progressivly worse. by the end of the season i felt it had really lost its way. i may watch the first episode of the next season to decide whether to continue and only because im a scifi junkie
  29. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first glance this series was promising. It was dark and suspenseful. Until it went downhill about four episodes in, where it appeared to not know where it wanted to go in terms of the plot. Situations are happening to the characters, but the characters haven't really been developed yet. (up to episode ten). So much so, when things do happen involving the characters they aren't really a revelation. Furthermore, one character appeared for a few episodes only, which was pointless. One character killed a Dr and it still hasn't been explained why he did this. Further, the series is boring and the Drs appear to spend more time running about the place than that doing what they came there to do - find a cure for this virus! Expand
  30. May 7, 2014
    0
    Fully Potted nonsense. Hair-raising story. Pathetic bad television. Even the actors seem completely amateurish in this environment. If nothing helps, helps only completely exaggerated facial expressions. If I did not know the actors from other series, I would think porn actors trying to be a serious actor. Outstanding bad play: Mark Ghanimé and Meegwun Fairbrother. But also the others can not allude to the bad script. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    83
    The story is an edge-of-your-seat kind of thriller. Clues are dropped, but you never know what’s coming next.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 13, 2014
    70
    Billy Campbell anchors the cast admirably as Dr. Alan Farragut.... Mr. Sanada is always intriguing to watch. And some of the show’s support players bring welcome spunk to the claustrophobic world of the research center, especially Catherine Lemieux as Dr. Doreen Boyle, a smart pathologist with a smart mouth.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 10, 2014
    70
    Helix doesn't reinvent the virus thriller, but it's a solid slice of genre entertainment that offers some creepy visuals and believable scares.