Hell on Wheels : Season 2

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 50
    Hell on Wheels seems to be puttering around a circular track, with no straightway in sight.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 17, 2012
    50
    Mount needs to run this thing, and he can't if he's the caboose. [27 Aug 2012, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 10, 2012
    40
    The second season of this Western finds it marginally better paced and the characters moderated a bit from the broad archetypes seen in Season 1, but I still find little to compel me in the story of a robber baron and an ex-soldier teaming up to get a transcontinental railroad built.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 10, 2012
    40
    Dramatically, the show feels as stalled as the trains, which have nowhere to go. Studiously gritty but rarely convincing in its clich├ęd characterizations and pretentious posturing, Wheels is hell on one's endurance.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    5
    I can't understand how people loved this season more than the previous one. First season was perfect but this?! Awful! Full of soap opera,I can't understand how people loved this season more than the previous one. First season was perfect but this?! Awful! Full of soap opera, full of disappointment. I hated season 2. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I have loved this show from the beginning. The writing leaves me each week in a state of looking forward to the next episode at BattlestarI have loved this show from the beginning. The writing leaves me each week in a state of looking forward to the next episode at Battlestar Gallactica. The characters are so evolving each episode that I don't care what part of the story ie.. the rail... is driven forward but what the characters are doing. Too bad more folks don't know their history or more would appreciate the show. There is so much that can be said without saying much. Thanks AMC. Full Review »
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    The first season was great, reminded me of Deadwood's excitement and believability. Seasons 2 episodes have the same arc...boring, boring,The first season was great, reminded me of Deadwood's excitement and believability. Seasons 2 episodes have the same arc...boring, boring, boring, cliffhanger. AMC does best when they stick with the original show runner see seasons 3 and 4 of Walking Dead. Full Review »