Hell's Kitchen : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: May 30, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. The Globe and Mail (Toronto)
    Reviewed by: Andrew Ryan
    Jul 18, 2013
    100
    Hell's Kitchen is a cut above the rest of the current crop of reality shows because of its unique approach and, of course, the bombastic host. [30 Jul 2005]
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 18, 2013
    60
    And therein lies the main flaw of this otherwise entertaining show. Not much time is devoted to actually teaching the novices the top-notch technique that they'd need to make it in one of Ramsay's successful London establishments, let alone the restaurant that gives the program its name.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    It's painfully derivative on so many fronts that it sometimes seems you're watching five reality shows at once.
  4. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: John Maynard
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Ramsay is mean to the point of being unlikable. ... But viewers who like their reality shows with a dash of nastiness may revel in just how cruel he can be. [29 May 2005]
  5. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 18, 2013
    40
    Not surprisingly, watching a functional maniac pitching fits gets old pretty quickly. It's like listening to "You are the weakest link" on a loop for an hour straight. [30 May 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    Though [Ramsay's] bleep-filled rants are supposed to bring out the best in his staff, they seem like blatant workplace harassment. When he turns his ire on the customers, it's even harder to stomach.
  7. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 18, 2013
    30
    "Hell's Kitchen" cribs both the format of "The Apprentice" and that show's major problems. As with the two "Apprentice" sequels, the cast is filled with people who appear to have no clue what they're doing - or, at least, are placed in positions in which they'll inevitably fail so Ramsay can cuss them out. [30 Sep 2005]
  8. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 18, 2013
    30
    I suppose sadomasochists or anyone craving abuse will enjoy "Hell's Kitchen," but I won't be tuning in again. [29 May 2005]
  9. Variety
    Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2013
    20
    Some will doubtless embrace the show's camp qualities, but I simply kept thinking "Check, please" through the first two episodes. [27 May 2005]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    3
    It has normally avoided the use of their worrying about meals and acts as well as unprofessional conduct by all chefs followed by the mainIt has normally avoided the use of their worrying about meals and acts as well as unprofessional conduct by all chefs followed by the main chef, Gordon Ramsey. Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    5
    I am mixed up on Gordon Ramsey's personality and telling the contestants off like "Do you want me to *beep* repeat the ticket again!?" II am mixed up on Gordon Ramsey's personality and telling the contestants off like "Do you want me to *beep* repeat the ticket again!?" I really don't like his bad language. On the bright side, the restaurant is astonishing what I see and the contestants stay on task but sometimes, Gordon speaks the recipe too fast, making the team too stressed, but still I'm fifty percent like. Full Review »
  3. May 28, 2012
    4
    This show would be fun and entertaining if it weren't for the filthy language of Chef Ramsey. I am surprised that he doesn't get in troubleThis show would be fun and entertaining if it weren't for the filthy language of Chef Ramsey. I am surprised that he doesn't get in trouble for the racist and sexist remarks that he makes. Definitely not a show that young children should watch... he is a BAD role model when it comes to respectful interactions with other people. I cannot believe the show is still on the air. Full Review »