• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 168

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    A dark, gritty new supernatural murder mystery with an excellent cast of familiar faces. The plot is moderately intricate yet at times fails to deliver a clear transition on previously established plot devices. Don't expect this show to explain everything to you straight up there remains a certain level of mystery throughout the entire season. Can't wait for season 2!
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Besides Janssen's accent, the show is pretty good. Good acting, story is interesting. Creepy and weird at the same time. Hope for more great original series from Netflix.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    3
    Just watched the Pilot and...wow, what a chore that ended up being. Terrible script, terrible acting, pacing issues galore, no interesting characters. Jannsen's accent is a total mess. This NF original doesn't come close to the quality of House of Cards. Avoid it.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    3
    This is really hard to watch. the main characters are decent actors, but a lot of the show is spoiled by terrible acting from the supporting cast and extras etc. I almost immediately felt like someone was trying to make a serious show based off The Monster Mash. It's just too far of a stretch to get on board with.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Really liked this show, cinematography was gorgeous, interesting storyline. There is a uniqueness to it. Hope for season 2!
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    I binge watched this whole series in one sitting which most people won't. That is unfortunate. You could not accurate summarize "Lost" by only watching the pilot. You get the beginning premise and an introduction to the characters but the entire arc as a whole is what matters. This is definitely the case with Hemlock Grove...it is a 13 hour feature that continually ramps up. This is a show you can really sink your fangs/claws into.

    Though it has some flaws, the characters have depth and personalities. The settings and cinematic approach to the visuals make it a feast for your eyes. It's Cruel Intentions or Twin Peaks with vampires and werewolves or it's Twilight if it were NC-17. I hate to draw the parallel, because the only thing in common is that there's 2 guys and a girl. The rest is great and engaging Stephanie Meyer wishes she could create. I enjoyed the series' pragmatic approach to the super natural and magic. Nothing is overt and it all seems very incidental. To me, this sort of subtly is what makes high concept shows more compelling. I enjoyed that there is room for a continuation, but also that every character had a definitive conclusion to their story this season. Worth watching if you have Netflix. It may start slow, but the payoff is worth it.
    Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    dog sh!t would be too kind a description for this show. the acting is awful, the accents are unbelievable, the people are irrational. It's basically twilight the TV show (or what I imagine to be twilight the TV show since I've never seen or read twilight).. I couldnt take more than 20 minutes of episode one and was tempted to just cancel my netflix subscription in protest of this rancid manure

    It's a sad showing that the shown in the first 30 seconds are probably the best thing to come from this garbage
    Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Puzzled that is the only feeling I could use to describe my state of being after completing the first episode of hemlock grove. Unlike pilot episode from other series I was unable to really grasp the entire concept of the show or the direction in which it might proceed.One sentiment that I continually felt throughout the entire episode was that I had been dropped into a world that has been going on for sometime without me like starting a book at the halfway point. The amount of bland unnamed characters that were dragged onto the screen in succession over the course 40 minutes was quite off putting as well as the acting quality of this characters as they were paraded across the screen I could not help but feel no sense of realism to the events. I will say that show peeked my interest enough for me to continue watching the series one of the few characters who did intrigue me was Olivia Godfrey (played by Famke Janssen of X-Men and Taken) her character appears to be one of the deeper characters in the story so far. The mother of one of the main characters Roman Godfrey she appears to be a woman of many faces and I felt the acting was above the rest although her accent for the show was unnecessary and pulled attention away from what was going on. Overall I found the story and premiss intriguing but almost felt that we had arrived at the end of the story, while the characters were too many and too bland it will be interesting to see if in the coming episodes some of the characters can be flushed out and given a bit of humanity. Expand
  10. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Not yet finished with the show, but other reviews seem harsh. The acting is not terrible but it is not great. Interesting characters and gritty cinematography keep the show going. If you are looking for a show to watch on a boring weekend give it a try.
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I had to turn it off about 2/3 through the first episode. The acting was ridiculous and Famke Janssen's accent was so bad that I was embarrassed for her. The production value looks like an amateur high school project and the dialogue is cheesy and robotic. A serious misstep for Netflix. Nowhere near the quality of House of Cards.
  12. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I watched the first seven episodes in one go, and I haven't been as entertained in a very long time. It was difficult to get away from the screen and into bed. It's three o'clock in the middle of the night and I'm working early.

    Reading other reviews, the show seems like a "love it or hate it" kind of thing, although it seems to me that those who didn't like it only watched one episode
    or less.

    Anyway, if you like mystery, horror, fantasy with a light dash of sci-fi, you should stop reading this silly review and go watch Hemlock Grove. Now.

    And to Netflix: Keep this up and you can take all my money.
    Expand
  13. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I thought this series was great. I'm really glad it was renewed for a second season, even if it is shorter. I always say "If the critics don't like it, I will" and that still holds true here. Maybe it's not your cup of tea, but it's a really good show. I'm not a teen, I'm a 30yr old adult and I found it engaging, insightful and had some really great twists/ideas surrounding the supernatural. Different from all the other mundane ideas or the sparkly ones. 10/10. Looking forward to Season 2. Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Ok, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end of episode 2 and it starts to pay off. From there it just gets better and better. Yes, this is a supernatural mystery horror melodrama, that's what you signed up for so hopefully that's what you want... but! But! For once you don't spend most of the show hating the main characters or yelling at the screen about how stupid they are being. I genuinely liked ALL of the characters and felt empathy for them, even for 'the bad guys'.

    And there is some serious horror in there. Both of the psychological and gore based varieties.

    If you liked Twin Peaks you will probably like this show, it does not have the brilliance of Lynch behind it... but it's a lot less difficult to watch than anything he has ever filmed.

    All that said I didn't love the stingers at the end of season one... I did like that a day after finishing it I am still processing what happened in the last fine minutes of the show though. Here's hoping that they male all of that make sense in season 2!
    Expand
  15. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    (Bear in mind; I'm only on episode 5 of season 1)....Hemlock Grove is trash. But just the kind of trash I was looking for. It's like Twin Peaks meets Twilight with a touch of mad scientist thrown in. The script's not great, nor is the acting, however the set and filming are satisfying. It's gross and lurid and corny; but somehow winds up being fun. It's like Twinkies for my brain. If you like trashy, cliche, murder mystery, horror, weird science, small town, teen angst, monster family drama; this show is for you. Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    The show is slower to start, but it's a refreshing change from the generic, white-washed shows usually marketed as supernatural horror. The show has some real horror elements to it, and isn't shy about it. Yes, at times it can remind you of something like Vampire Diaries, but the difference is that it doesn't dissolve into high-school-romance-drivel.

    The show is very reminiscent of Twin
    Peaks, and it definitely carries the tone of an abnormal small town with mounting tensions. The show isn't episodic, and much of the series is set up for the finale, which finally gives answers in the last few episodes.

    Like many shows or books that play with the gothic horror genre, there are references to other, more famous, works such as Frankenstein and Wuthering Heights.
    Expand
  17. CKA
    Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Great Show! Never judge a show based on the pilot (they are just introducing you to everyone, unfolding relationships and connections with everyone, building the story). By the end of the 2nd episode you are dying to know what happens next and to find out the details. Looking forward to a continuation.
  18. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    Janssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. The writing and acting needs a lot of improvement. The potential is there for a good series. Liboiron, Skarsgard, Scott and Taylor are carrying the show. The other actors need to step up their game so that their scenes don't seem so amateur.
  19. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    It's a sad thing to see how crap TV has rotted the minds of most people. They can't see a good thing, even when all 13 episodes hit them smack in the face. There are professional critics out there comparing this to The Vampire Diaries which is unbelievable. I don't think I'll ever trust a critic again, because by and large, they've proven that they're not to be trusted and maybe illiterate as well.

    Hemlock grove is a masterpiece, put simply. An effin' masterpiece. And if you can't see that then God help you. Seriously, I'm praying every night for God to help you. It's gorgeous to look at, it's gorgeous to listen to, and Famke? I wasn't a fan of hers from before, but her portrayal of a melodramatic pseudo-human mimicking her way through life was just lovely. What accent is she supposed to have she's not human, people, why would you expect her to pull out a perfect Judy Dench impersonation?

    Skarsgard goes through it with the expression of a guy who *needs* to be on cocaine and should be on it, and I'd say he's the MVP of the show. He goes through the dialogue as if he's never been outside of Hemlock Grove a day in his life natural. Like a swan, the evil swagger just roles off him. The entire cast is recognizable though, and everybody does their role to the fullest extent.

    If you want it fast, and flashy with less substance than a coke zero then this isn't for you. Recommended for people who can read, and have read something other than Twilight.
    Expand
  20. May 14, 2013
    9
    I stumbled onto this show by accident and spent the entire weekend watching it. Some of it was corny/stupid, but how silly was it if I couldn't stop...?
    It was beautiful omg, Olivia's outfits were to-die for, so to speak.
    I wished there was English subtitles for all the Romanian/Gypsy words.
    And I absolutely loved it. I then downloaded the book and will make an animal sacrifice to
    pray for a 2nd Season. Expand
  21. May 22, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is a good show. It starts off slow, but it's worth a chance. The bad reviews are from people who watched five minutes of the first episode.
  22. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    What a weird, grotesque, slightly stupid & uniquely perplexing show. I've never been so confused, grossed out and shocked by a show in my life! It's so strange and full of gore, lose ends and eerie characters that I couldn't look away... it watches like a really long movie instead of like a show and no matter how much you keep guessing- you can't find much reason or rhyme for what happens... which makes it really fun to watch! Often one "answer" was accompanied by 10 more questions! No singular part of the show is great but it all works together to somehow "pull-off" a weird, dream like show that keeps the watcher guessing and interested. The acting is usually okay but sometimes lacked, however it was forgivable. The mood and shock factor was probably what made it such a unique viewing experience. I hope they decide to make a second season... would really love another "wtf?!" moment. Expand
  23. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Honestly I have to say Hemlock Grove is one of the best series i've ever watched. Needless to say I wasn't sure about it at first but once you get through the first episode it's addicting, I just cant wait till the second season!
  24. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    This series separates itself from others "like it" by being vastly more mature gritty funny and mystical than them. There are moments in this fine series that are genuinely rapturous. It doesn't pull any punches. Character is woven into every scene. Force yourself to watch the first couple if you must. You will binge watch the rest and be left wanting more.
  25. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I don't get really engaged with a lot of shows, but this one drew me right in. It's like reading a book, revealing the story one page at a time. Love it and can't wait for season 2
  26. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I was actually surprised by how much I loved this show. It was actually well put together and had possibly the most realistic werewolf transformation I've ever seen! The characters are real interesting along with all their stories. Some episodes are real emotional. This is what it would be like to be a werewolf or vampire in real like. But be warned, this show does not sugar coat ANYTHING gore or sex wise and the story line will take you on a crazy ride! Expand
  27. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Sometimes you can read the user reviews and see they are higher than the 'professional critics' reviews and think to yourself it's just some dumb ass teens or some idiot social media marketing gimp employed by the film company but here, the professionals are wrong. Hemlock grove was really really enjoyable! It has that kind of quirky Twin Peaks vibe and a kind of 'this is our style, get used to it' about it as a netflix original that house of cards had, that draws you in and makes you think someone up there in netflix towers is all about good drama and not set pieces designed to make you come back from the next ad break. Who keep burbling on about it being twilight?? It really IS NOT, its way more intimate and thought enjoyable, Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    1. the script is lackluster and poor, and that's being generous. everything about the show is mundane. sure there's a guy that turns into a dog, but that's about it. nearly all of the show involves actors standing delivering lines OR having softcore porn on screen, which i hate with a passion, it's just evidence of wasting 15 minutes, without dialogue. This is a detective story with one character having psychic powers and the other being able to turn into a dog, which doesn't help the plot at all.
    2. the actors are terribad. literally it is like they are reading the script as they film it. the fake accent is over the top bad.
    3. the gore is unnecessary and misplaced. the writers literally are like, "oh and we need gore this episode", and the pull out a flash back of a gore scene or randomly show someone being pummeled, with blood oozing out.
    4. this series is about tricks and not about story. There is one episode where they have 10 sex scenes, including a lesbian one. so let's count, that's the entire episode. They literally had nothing to write about that day. and, if sex doesn't do it for you, wait up, someone is going to get mad over nothing, so you can see some anger drama. but, wait, if that's not your gig, they'll pull out the gore stick, here boy, fetch, look at the gore.
    5. sloooooooooooooooooow, everything is slow in this series. for 9 episodes we have no clue what the real plot is, who they are talking about, who this dragon is, why does one character have psychic powers; why does one character turn into a dog; why do the two main women hate each other; why is the uncle screwing his sister, when he is married. At some point some of these answer need to come to light.
    Expand
  29. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    As a fan of werewolf movies, I was eagerly looking forward to this show. I went in with no expectations or biases, having never so much as viewed a trailer for it. Sadly, Hemlock Grove fails to deliver in every possible way. The first episode's narrative was impossible to follow, the characterization is shallow, the music is amateur and heavy-handed, the camera-work and editing choices absolutely baffling, and the acting is absolutely
    painful to behold.

    I want not only 50 minutes of my life, but the brain cells I lost while
    watching this show's first episode back really couldn't subject
    myself to view any more of it.

    Don't waste your time on this one.
    Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Great show, its like a new age twin peaks so far, acting isn't bad and I really like the season hoping for a season 2, I would like to see what a some of the characters develop into!!!!
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.