• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 194

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    A dark, gritty new supernatural murder mystery with an excellent cast of familiar faces. The plot is moderately intricate yet at times fails to deliver a clear transition on previously established plot devices. Don't expect this show to explain everything to you straight up there remains a certain level of mystery throughout the entire season. Can't wait for season 2!
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    3
    Just watched the Pilot and...wow, what a chore that ended up being. Terrible script, terrible acting, pacing issues galore, no interesting characters. Jannsen's accent is a total mess. This NF original doesn't come close to the quality of House of Cards. Avoid it.
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    3
    This is really hard to watch. the main characters are decent actors, but a lot of the show is spoiled by terrible acting from the supporting cast and extras etc. I almost immediately felt like someone was trying to make a serious show based off The Monster Mash. It's just too far of a stretch to get on board with.
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Besides Janssen's accent, the show is pretty good. Good acting, story is interesting. Creepy and weird at the same time. Hope for more great original series from Netflix.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Really liked this show, cinematography was gorgeous, interesting storyline. There is a uniqueness to it. Hope for season 2!
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    I binge watched this whole series in one sitting which most people won't. That is unfortunate. You could not accurate summarize "Lost" by only watching the pilot. You get the beginning premise and an introduction to the characters but the entire arc as a whole is what matters. This is definitely the case with Hemlock Grove...it is a 13 hour feature that continually ramps up. This is a show you can really sink your fangs/claws into.

    Though it has some flaws, the characters have depth and personalities. The settings and cinematic approach to the visuals make it a feast for your eyes. It's Cruel Intentions or Twin Peaks with vampires and werewolves or it's Twilight if it were NC-17. I hate to draw the parallel, because the only thing in common is that there's 2 guys and a girl. The rest is great and engaging Stephanie Meyer wishes she could create. I enjoyed the series' pragmatic approach to the super natural and magic. Nothing is overt and it all seems very incidental. To me, this sort of subtly is what makes high concept shows more compelling. I enjoyed that there is room for a continuation, but also that every character had a definitive conclusion to their story this season. Worth watching if you have Netflix. It may start slow, but the payoff is worth it.
    Expand
  8. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    I had to turn it off about 2/3 through the first episode. The acting was ridiculous and Famke Janssen's accent was so bad that I was embarrassed for her. The production value looks like an amateur high school project and the dialogue is cheesy and robotic. A serious misstep for Netflix. Nowhere near the quality of House of Cards.
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    Janssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. The writing and acting needs a lot of improvement. The potential is there for a good series. Liboiron, Skarsgard, Scott and Taylor are carrying the show. The other actors need to step up their game so that their scenes don't seem so amateur.
  10. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Ok, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end of episode 2 and it starts to pay off. From there it just gets better and better. Yes, this is a supernatural mystery horror melodrama, that's what you signed up for so hopefully that's what you want... but! But! For once you don't spend most of the show hating the main characters or yelling at the screen about how stupid they are being. I genuinely liked ALL of the characters and felt empathy for them, even for 'the bad guys'.

    And there is some serious horror in there. Both of the psychological and gore based varieties.

    If you liked Twin Peaks you will probably like this show, it does not have the brilliance of Lynch behind it... but it's a lot less difficult to watch than anything he has ever filmed.

    All that said I didn't love the stingers at the end of season one... I did like that a day after finishing it I am still processing what happened in the last fine minutes of the show though. Here's hoping that they male all of that make sense in season 2!
    Expand
  11. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    dog sh!t would be too kind a description for this show. the acting is awful, the accents are unbelievable, the people are irrational. It's basically twilight the TV show (or what I imagine to be twilight the TV show since I've never seen or read twilight).. I couldnt take more than 20 minutes of episode one and was tempted to just cancel my netflix subscription in protest of this rancid manure

    It's a sad showing that the shown in the first 30 seconds are probably the best thing to come from this garbage
    Expand
  12. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Puzzled that is the only feeling I could use to describe my state of being after completing the first episode of hemlock grove. Unlike pilot episode from other series I was unable to really grasp the entire concept of the show or the direction in which it might proceed.One sentiment that I continually felt throughout the entire episode was that I had been dropped into a world that has been going on for sometime without me like starting a book at the halfway point. The amount of bland unnamed characters that were dragged onto the screen in succession over the course 40 minutes was quite off putting as well as the acting quality of this characters as they were paraded across the screen I could not help but feel no sense of realism to the events. I will say that show peeked my interest enough for me to continue watching the series one of the few characters who did intrigue me was Olivia Godfrey (played by Famke Janssen of X-Men and Taken) her character appears to be one of the deeper characters in the story so far. The mother of one of the main characters Roman Godfrey she appears to be a woman of many faces and I felt the acting was above the rest although her accent for the show was unnecessary and pulled attention away from what was going on. Overall I found the story and premiss intriguing but almost felt that we had arrived at the end of the story, while the characters were too many and too bland it will be interesting to see if in the coming episodes some of the characters can be flushed out and given a bit of humanity. Expand
  13. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Not yet finished with the show, but other reviews seem harsh. The acting is not terrible but it is not great. Interesting characters and gritty cinematography keep the show going. If you are looking for a show to watch on a boring weekend give it a try.
  14. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    Sometimes you can read the user reviews and see they are higher than the 'professional critics' reviews and think to yourself it's just some dumb ass teens or some idiot social media marketing gimp employed by the film company but here, the professionals are wrong. Hemlock grove was really really enjoyable! It has that kind of quirky Twin Peaks vibe and a kind of 'this is our style, get used to it' about it as a netflix original that house of cards had, that draws you in and makes you think someone up there in netflix towers is all about good drama and not set pieces designed to make you come back from the next ad break. Who keep burbling on about it being twilight?? It really IS NOT, its way more intimate and thought enjoyable, Expand
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    1. the script is lackluster and poor, and that's being generous. everything about the show is mundane. sure there's a guy that turns into a dog, but that's about it. nearly all of the show involves actors standing delivering lines OR having softcore porn on screen, which i hate with a passion, it's just evidence of wasting 15 minutes, without dialogue. This is a detective story with one character having psychic powers and the other being able to turn into a dog, which doesn't help the plot at all.
    2. the actors are terribad. literally it is like they are reading the script as they film it. the fake accent is over the top bad.
    3. the gore is unnecessary and misplaced. the writers literally are like, "oh and we need gore this episode", and the pull out a flash back of a gore scene or randomly show someone being pummeled, with blood oozing out.
    4. this series is about tricks and not about story. There is one episode where they have 10 sex scenes, including a lesbian one. so let's count, that's the entire episode. They literally had nothing to write about that day. and, if sex doesn't do it for you, wait up, someone is going to get mad over nothing, so you can see some anger drama. but, wait, if that's not your gig, they'll pull out the gore stick, here boy, fetch, look at the gore.
    5. sloooooooooooooooooow, everything is slow in this series. for 9 episodes we have no clue what the real plot is, who they are talking about, who this dragon is, why does one character have psychic powers; why does one character turn into a dog; why do the two main women hate each other; why is the uncle screwing his sister, when he is married. At some point some of these answer need to come to light.
    Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I watched the first seven episodes in one go, and I haven't been as entertained in a very long time. It was difficult to get away from the screen and into bed. It's three o'clock in the middle of the night and I'm working early.

    Reading other reviews, the show seems like a "love it or hate it" kind of thing, although it seems to me that those who didn't like it only watched one episode
    or less.

    Anyway, if you like mystery, horror, fantasy with a light dash of sci-fi, you should stop reading this silly review and go watch Hemlock Grove. Now.

    And to Netflix: Keep this up and you can take all my money.
    Expand
  17. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    As a fan of werewolf movies, I was eagerly looking forward to this show. I went in with no expectations or biases, having never so much as viewed a trailer for it. Sadly, Hemlock Grove fails to deliver in every possible way. The first episode's narrative was impossible to follow, the characterization is shallow, the music is amateur and heavy-handed, the camera-work and editing choices absolutely baffling, and the acting is absolutely
    painful to behold.

    I want not only 50 minutes of my life, but the brain cells I lost while
    watching this show's first episode back really couldn't subject
    myself to view any more of it.

    Don't waste your time on this one.
    Expand
  18. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    (Bear in mind; I'm only on episode 5 of season 1)....Hemlock Grove is trash. But just the kind of trash I was looking for. It's like Twin Peaks meets Twilight with a touch of mad scientist thrown in. The script's not great, nor is the acting, however the set and filming are satisfying. It's gross and lurid and corny; but somehow winds up being fun. It's like Twinkies for my brain. If you like trashy, cliche, murder mystery, horror, weird science, small town, teen angst, monster family drama; this show is for you. Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    The show is slower to start, but it's a refreshing change from the generic, white-washed shows usually marketed as supernatural horror. The show has some real horror elements to it, and isn't shy about it. Yes, at times it can remind you of something like Vampire Diaries, but the difference is that it doesn't dissolve into high-school-romance-drivel.

    The show is very reminiscent of Twin
    Peaks, and it definitely carries the tone of an abnormal small town with mounting tensions. The show isn't episodic, and much of the series is set up for the finale, which finally gives answers in the last few episodes.

    Like many shows or books that play with the gothic horror genre, there are references to other, more famous, works such as Frankenstein and Wuthering Heights.
    Expand
  20. CKA
    Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Great Show! Never judge a show based on the pilot (they are just introducing you to everyone, unfolding relationships and connections with everyone, building the story). By the end of the 2nd episode you are dying to know what happens next and to find out the details. Looking forward to a continuation.
  21. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    It's a sad thing to see how crap TV has rotted the minds of most people. They can't see a good thing, even when all 13 episodes hit them smack in the face. There are professional critics out there comparing this to The Vampire Diaries which is unbelievable. I don't think I'll ever trust a critic again, because by and large, they've proven that they're not to be trusted and maybe illiterate as well.

    Hemlock grove is a masterpiece, put simply. An effin' masterpiece. And if you can't see that then God help you. Seriously, I'm praying every night for God to help you. It's gorgeous to look at, it's gorgeous to listen to, and Famke? I wasn't a fan of hers from before, but her portrayal of a melodramatic pseudo-human mimicking her way through life was just lovely. What accent is she supposed to have she's not human, people, why would you expect her to pull out a perfect Judy Dench impersonation?

    Skarsgard goes through it with the expression of a guy who *needs* to be on cocaine and should be on it, and I'd say he's the MVP of the show. He goes through the dialogue as if he's never been outside of Hemlock Grove a day in his life natural. Like a swan, the evil swagger just roles off him. The entire cast is recognizable though, and everybody does their role to the fullest extent.

    If you want it fast, and flashy with less substance than a coke zero then this isn't for you. Recommended for people who can read, and have read something other than Twilight.
    Expand
  22. May 14, 2013
    9
    I stumbled onto this show by accident and spent the entire weekend watching it. Some of it was corny/stupid, but how silly was it if I couldn't stop...?
    It was beautiful omg, Olivia's outfits were to-die for, so to speak.
    I wished there was English subtitles for all the Romanian/Gypsy words.
    And I absolutely loved it. I then downloaded the book and will make an animal sacrifice to
    pray for a 2nd Season. Expand
  23. May 22, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is a good show. It starts off slow, but it's worth a chance. The bad reviews are from people who watched five minutes of the first episode.
  24. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    What a weird, grotesque, slightly stupid & uniquely perplexing show. I've never been so confused, grossed out and shocked by a show in my life! It's so strange and full of gore, lose ends and eerie characters that I couldn't look away... it watches like a really long movie instead of like a show and no matter how much you keep guessing- you can't find much reason or rhyme for what happens... which makes it really fun to watch! Often one "answer" was accompanied by 10 more questions! No singular part of the show is great but it all works together to somehow "pull-off" a weird, dream like show that keeps the watcher guessing and interested. The acting is usually okay but sometimes lacked, however it was forgivable. The mood and shock factor was probably what made it such a unique viewing experience. I hope they decide to make a second season... would really love another "wtf?!" moment. Expand
  25. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I thought this series was great. I'm really glad it was renewed for a second season, even if it is shorter. I always say "If the critics don't like it, I will" and that still holds true here. Maybe it's not your cup of tea, but it's a really good show. I'm not a teen, I'm a 30yr old adult and I found it engaging, insightful and had some really great twists/ideas surrounding the supernatural. Different from all the other mundane ideas or the sparkly ones. 10/10. Looking forward to Season 2. Expand
  26. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Honestly I have to say Hemlock Grove is one of the best series i've ever watched. Needless to say I wasn't sure about it at first but once you get through the first episode it's addicting, I just cant wait till the second season!
  27. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    This series separates itself from others "like it" by being vastly more mature gritty funny and mystical than them. There are moments in this fine series that are genuinely rapturous. It doesn't pull any punches. Character is woven into every scene. Force yourself to watch the first couple if you must. You will binge watch the rest and be left wanting more.
  28. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I was actually surprised by how much I loved this show. It was actually well put together and had possibly the most realistic werewolf transformation I've ever seen! The characters are real interesting along with all their stories. Some episodes are real emotional. This is what it would be like to be a werewolf or vampire in real like. But be warned, this show does not sugar coat ANYTHING gore or sex wise and the story line will take you on a crazy ride! Expand
  29. luv
    Apr 3, 2014
    2
    This show is a more boring version of "True Blood" apparently aimed at a younger audience with sociopathic tendencies. I mean, that's why gore and sex are the show's fall backs, right? It's too bad because they have a decent cast and the show is shot well. The dialog, however, is forced and the story lines don't make up for it. The characters are shallow and uninteresting. Five episodes in I still didn't care about any of them. There's a lot of sex and nudity, which I guess is supposed to make it feel edgy. Instead, it just seems they're trying to distract you from the fact that NOTHING IS HAPPENING. Well, that's not fair. A lot happens, just not anything that you care about. And the big "revelations" aren't enough to make you care what's coming next. It's like someone wrote down every idea he got from a drunken binge-watching of "American Horror Story" and then hired the producers of "True Blood" to make this junk for Netflix. Sure, my writing isn't great, but it's Pulitzer-prize winning material compared to this tripe. Expand
  30. Oct 20, 2013
    3
    This show is pretty terrible. The more I watch, the worse it gets. I really enjoyed the first two or three episodes but it just keeps declining in quality.

    I don't even know what Famke Janssen is trying to do when she speaks, her accent is well off. The storyline just drags and halfway through the season doesn't seem to go anywhere.

    The only good thing to say is that several of the
    actors are great as are the effects.

    They're lucky this is a Netflix show because if this aired on TV it would've been cancelled.
    Expand
  31. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Great show, its like a new age twin peaks so far, acting isn't bad and I really like the season hoping for a season 2, I would like to see what a some of the characters develop into!!!!
  32. May 4, 2013
    8
    This show was very slow at the start Through character development and murder mystery there was a lot of ground to cover. I think with all of its minor flaws, some people fail to see the true beauty in this show. From the transformations of the monsters to the minor details installed from the mysteries, this show has a lot of depth. Not only that but it is very dark and left me wondering what is going on where most other shows have a pretty obvious direction. I see a lot of complaining about the acting and accents in this show. Though it does seem rough at times, all the acting seems to have an underlying reason behind it all. The first episode is kind of rough to get through and at times you may feel lost while watching, but these are the reason I kept watching. After finishing the series I really like the new things they did that seem pretty original.
    WATCH THIS SHOW IF:
    1. You are looking for a dark series to watch with a new spin on the supernatural.
    2. You find it easy to figure out a plot in a TV series after watching the first episode.
    3. You like murder mysteries.
    Expand
  33. May 5, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love Hemlock Grove. I cannot wait for Season Two! Every show keeps you wanting more and more, it is so captivating. This show deserves a 100/100.
  34. May 5, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love it! Can't get enough! Thought it was just one of those brainless teenage werewolf dramas. I was so wrong! It was smart, clever,with a new twist around every corner. I can't wait for season 2.
  35. May 6, 2013
    10
    For being someone that does not get into series and stick with them, This show had me glued to Netflix. Hemlock Grove is an awesome series if you love a mystery world that's filled with werewolves and other creatures that seem human but have a dark side. I really hope that there will be a second Series!!
  36. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I’m glad Netflix renewed the series. Just finished watching all of Hemlock Grove, it was a bit slow the first 2 episodes but when it did reach climax it was hard not keep watching. I liked the story line unique and fresh with a great mix of thriller and mystery combination. Can’t wait for season 2!
  37. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    I don't get really engaged with a lot of shows, but this one drew me right in. It's like reading a book, revealing the story one page at a time. Love it and can't wait for season 2
  38. May 27, 2014
    10
    Started kind of slow then the show sinks in. Very suspenseful with great characters. I commend the choice of actors. Overly sexual at times yet wonderfully gory.
  39. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Worth watching more than just the pilot. I enjoyed the series quite a bit. I felt it picked up a few episodes in, slowed down a bit in the middle, then picked up in the end. The acting aside from a couple characters was done really well.

    There was quite a bit left unsolved and seems as though it is set up for a 2nd season.
  40. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    The dialogue sounds like it was written by aliens that think this is how humans talk. Truly terrible, but very enjoyable. Go into it expecting very little and enjoy it for a spectacular example of what happens when total creative control goes wrong.
  41. May 6, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good show. Much better than other supernatural teen franchises it could be compared to. Slow pacing ultimately falls away as the number of questions and subplots grow thicker.

    Hope it gets a Season 2, as it hasn't hit the sweet spot yet, but certainly should do if given the chance.

    Cannot understand the poor critic's ratings, but most are based on the low budget pilot. I don't think any review that doesn't take the series as a whole is very narrow minded. The rules of regular TV don't apply to the new media, and a show that drops all episodes at once should be viewed in it's entirety. Anything else is misinformed.

    FYI, I hate most supernatural stuff, especially werewolves and vampires but it still held my attention. There's enough there to keep the sci fi fans hooked too.
    Expand
  42. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow, Famke's accent is ridiculous and the only reason I finished watching the series was because it was such a train wreck I had to see how much worse it could get. The craziest part of the series is that there were rooms full of producers, directors and executives s at Netflix that saw this once it was done and didn't yank it immediately and throw it into the trash. Expand
  43. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Who's idea was this series? I had some hopes for this Netflix production after watching House of Cards, but this is unwatchable. Clearly this is a craven attempt to cash in on the backs of all the strandedTwilight fans, but this makes Twilight look like Shakespeare.The primarily young cast is certainly attractive enough and the locations outside of Toronto look quite good in HD, but the amateurish writing, bad accents (and even worse acting)as well as the seemingly arbitrary character and plot development makes you squirm in your seat. Famke's accent (vaguely Euro-Something) stands out as the worst among many bad ones Lily Taylor talent is especially wasted in this mess. Don't bother. Your time will be better spent watching Buffy reruns. Expand
  44. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Hemlock Grove is nothing like twilight. Hemlock is as much a twilight clone as twilight is an interview with a vampire clone...

    The Good:

    Famke Janssen as Olivia
    Romanian Mythology
    Never really knowing what is happening

    The Bad:

    Big cast of characters that never really fully develop.
    Pacing seems off at times.
    The ending rushes through the explanation.
  45. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    This show can be summed up in five words: failure to close the deal. Eli Roth, you let me down, man. This show's first 6 episodes are a well-written, tense unfolding of characters and sub-plots that hook and intrigue you. The next 7 episodes go the way of a big budget, summer action flick: how much destruction can we toss against the screen before anyone notices there's no plot here?

    The show started off walking that tightrope of grisly, over the top revelations and grounding character development. For the first several episodes, they pulled off the tightrope walk and looked sexy doing it. More importantly, they pulled back before they lost the story under the shock.

    Unfortunately, right around episode 7, the writers/director seemed to realize that they didn't have any sensors to appease and they went the way of American Horror Story season 2 towards the end. They stopped writing and started ramping up the skin-crawling taboos factor. They left plots unraveling with no progression. Then at the tail end, it's as though they realize they have all this ground they should cover so they can set up the teaser for season 2. The finale was the longest 58 minutes of my life in recent memory. I know I've got first world problems, but I was literally talking to the screen willing it to be over.

    As a life-long sci-fi horror fan, I commend Netflix for reaching across genres for their original programming content. Keep it up. As for this show, I'm tempted to read reviews of the book this is based on to see if the problem was straying from the script or sticking to it.

    Writers' Side Note: I think I'm getting too old for the "everything with a vagina must be filleted on screen" method of storytelling. Get some therapy and take a real risk.
    Expand
  46. May 2, 2013
    0
    My wife and I tried to watch Hemlock Grove on Netflix last night, but it was apparently written by an immature teenage boy. Within the FIRST MINUTE, there were cheerleaders, teacher/student lesbianism, a "bad boy" from a "bad family", a hook up and prostitution. It was poorly implemented and forced. Thumbs way down for that drivel.
  47. Jun 28, 2013
    1
    Here are some headlines that should follow this show: ...Frustrating ...The worst TV Show of the year ...Netflix's second original show a real dud! ...Seriously?! I just wasted hours of my life! ...You (Netflix) renewed this crap for a 2nd season?! ...I'd rather ask my brother hit me in the face with a hammer! This show is terrible! From the blatant story holes to the weird dialogue which no one speaks like that) the show is a plethora of terrible cliche's and horrible stories. Does anyone understand what's going on half the time?! It's terribly frustrating and the characters are just plain awful. I read the review for the book the show is based on, and the reviews for the book are almost identical to that of the show.

    Perhaps Eli Roth was a one hit wonder with Hostel because this show might be the worst garbage I've ever seen.
    Expand
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This is a captivating new series. I easily lose interest in tv series but this it's unlike many I have seen. I do however suggest they try to speak to all viewers. There is a great deal of female nudity so I assume they believe the majority of viewers will be male, but on the contrary, I know four out of five of my friends whom watch this show are women.
  49. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Think 'Twin Peaks' not 'Twilight.' Along with Janssen's accent, (which is supposed to sound as if she's from her own made up reality people, she's a fantastic actress and it took work to get that accent to sound so manufactured) the whole show is supposed to feel a little "off." The jokes misplaced, the demeanor of people exaggerated. You can't have the expectation of it being a "vampire show." It doesn't fit into that category. It's a murder mystery with an array of monsters. Some of them you know what they are, some of them you don't. Like what exactly is Shelley? Maybe we'll find out next season, maybe not. All you can count on for sure? It will be a ride. People without open minds are bound not to connect to the show. You have to be patient and not just watch the first 20 min of the first episode, jump to conclusions, and say it's a crap show. I think it's one of the best shows I've seen in the last handful of years at least. It's vexing and frustrating, beautiful and terrible. The look of the show is also one of the things I love. It's that dark, sort of yellowing around the edges feel. Oddly enough the only thing that continued to bother me throughout the whole season was how hairy they claim Peter is when he's just got normal to less than the average amount of body hair. Everything else I can wrap my head around. You just have to keep an open mind and not expect anything. Take it for what it is and enjoy! Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have only recently watched Hemlock Grove, in early November 13. And i have to say I thought the brooding, mystery of it all was phenomenal. Being a young adult I have completely indulged myself with the thirteen episode thriller. Dark demons and hidden depths suck you in and leave you speechless. The gore, fantastic. Completely gripping. And the characters, perfectly portrayed, exactly how they should be. As a budding actress myself and looking to go into the darker genre, i was glued to the screen, every actor and actress had that dark spark. It's not just the gorgeous guys i'm infatuated with either, the twists, romance, action and the supernatural element are thrown together in a way that suits this gruesome jaw-dropping series. I am definitely looking forward to the release of the second! And as for the werewolf transformation, it's never been done like that. I have spent countless hours trawling through all things supernatural. Never have I come across one so realistic and in detail. I'm really not sure what all these negative reviews are all about, they must be on the wrong site. Thank you Netflix! Expand
  51. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    I happen to come across the show when I was not sure what to watch, I am so glad I started watching it. I love the show and look forward to season 2. I also plan to tell my friend's and family in case they were not aware of the show so they are able to also become addicted to it lol
  52. Feb 17, 2014
    2
    The story was confused, pulled in too many directions, and felt like a re-run of so many other shows we have seen in this genre. I feel the show runner had many ideas for this show and tried to use them all in one season. It ended in a big mess.
  53. Lvy
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent series, the best horror, passion, mystery and love drama series I have seen so far!!!!!!
    I can't wait to see season two coming soon in New Zealand.
    Expand
  54. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    Wow just Wow I will start by saying I absolutely love this show. I just finished season one today and the whole premise is Epic in my opinion. The setting is Impeccable and very dreary in the best way possible. I love the characters in the show all of them shine but specifically "Landon Liboiron" as Peter Rumancek and "Bill Skarsgard" as Roman Godfrey. I will say that Eli Roth has such a creative imagination that shouldn't be overlooked nor is it in this show. I did expect a tad more violence then there was but that is to be expected due to character development. I would recommend this to anyone. I'm so excited for season two coming this Friday on July 11th!!!!! Expand
  55. May 12, 2014
    10
    It reminds me of Twin Peaks in a way. I can understand if it's not somebodies cup of tea. I didn't see anything wrong with Famke Janssen's accent. She is playing an American with a British accent. I have British friends that have lived in America for a few decades and their accents aren't as refined as somebody who is living in the UK! Get over it!
  56. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    When I first started watching this show, my husband and I laughed when we shouldn't have and I started to think it was horrible but I couldn't stop watching it. My husband gave up on it on episode 2 but I stayed the course and was pleasantly surprised to actually like Hemlock Grove for what it is. Does it have pacing issues? Yes. Are there accent issues? Yes. But i consider a show good if i can keep pushing through it and be thoroughly entertained.

    So check this out if you are bored and cannot find anything on Netflix. And watch until at least episode 3 before you pass judgement. It is like LOST in that way.
    Expand
  57. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    A steady build-up to an epic finale of the season with very unexpected but brilliant conclusion. It was different from the rest of the tv series you'd usually watch in a positive way. Only negative thing i could say is that it felt almost as if the whole first season's purpose was to be a prologue for the main story to unfold in the upcoming seasons and i understand why some people would review the so called "prologue" season as a bad one but myself on the other hand don't really mind if it leads to an even more epic continuation of the series. I really recommend this for those interested in mystery and fantasy. Expand
  58. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    This is like Anne Rice meets Stephen King . This thriller series is one of the best I have seen in a long time . Sorry True Blood but there is a new show in town . I give the acting and casting a 9 and plot and storyline a 9 and give it a 10 overall for bringing them together . Bill Skarsgård (as Roman Godfrey) and Landon Liboiron ( as Peter Rumancek) have shown there is a future for young Hollywood. The only bad thing I have to say is 10 episodes for season 2 really ? This show leaves you wanting for more and I am already wanting to see season 3 . Expand
  59. May 6, 2013
    2
    Sloooowwwww.....when we got to the middle of Episode 7 we just could not stand it any more and had to fast forward to hope to get thru the remaining ones quickly. We stopped at E10.

    I got so fed up with this show that I searched the internet to find the ending before I went to bed. From what I read the ending left a lot of answers unanswered, guess to attempt to stretch it out into
    Season 2,3,4.....oh please, NO!!!! No more!!!!! How many more times do we need to see these characters having sex (not even good scenes), and listen to their same long drawn boring conversations?! This book should have been a two hrs show and that's it!!!

    TO: TV executives, please make note that not every book or a show idea needs to be a multiple season show. Do what other countries do, create an interesting show that ends in six months, than move on to another story. When you stretch out a show by inserting reruns between episodes, and the audience has to wait five months for the new episodes, audience like us would have forgotten the storyline and lost interest with the characters to follow it further. It is a big turnoff to look forward to watch the show and it turned out to be a rerun.Good example for us are: Once Upon a Time, Revenge, Lost...we have stopped watching it all together.
    Expand
  60. May 4, 2013
    7
    Everything about this series is really peculiar and I can see that it makes it hard to like for some people. I can't seem to decide if the series is really brilliant or just utterly dumb. Anyway, I gave the series a chance and it was worth it and I'm interested to see how it continues.
  61. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    I watched this over the weekend and came away with mixed feelings. I would agree it takes a little while to get things moving, but it's worth the investment.

    Production values are very high. A lesser effort would have yielded a Sci-Fi Channel result....cheap and forgettable. This show is definitely not easy to forget.

    I worked with Famke on another project, and have always liked her
    work. She is terrific in this. The rest of the cast is very good to just OK. A couple of familiar faces from Battlestar Galactica play prominent roles.

    Lots of subtle and not so subtle nods to the horror, sci fi, and several other genres. The major flaw of the show is it both treads water and tries too hard at the same time.

    In short; didn't love it, didn't hate it, will probably watch again.
    Collapse
  62. May 1, 2013
    8
    Although has shades of teen-horror yarns like 'Twilight', Hemlock Grove manages to not fully commit to a young audience. Takes a few episodes to get going, but it's enjoyable, with decent performances from the two young front men especially. If you're a fan of True Blood, you'll probably enjoy this.
  63. May 7, 2013
    3
    I went into this show with no expectation other than the hope of it being watchable but it WAS not even that for me. It felt uneasy to watch because I could not make sense of what it wanted to say. It just seemed to be going nowhere. Although the sister who was tall and had a disfigurement was the most intriguing of the characters.
  64. May 13, 2013
    3
    I've never written a review before but feel the need to express my opinion on this piece of work. It started out well...but the characters towards the end fail to make sense. There are scenes where they seem to gloss over important events. Also, there are times they are smoking where there is no smoke..? ...it just seemed sloppy for how much money was put into it. And the storyline at the end is just disappointing....lets just kill off every female character under the age of twenty........who can route for Roman anyway after what he did? He's a psycho rapist. Eh, I don't know....just too far out for me... Expand
  65. Jun 9, 2013
    3
    I am torn on this series. First off, I really enjoy the storyline and how it still keeps things mysterious and interesting. The acting got progressively worse as the series went along. It got so bad that its what ruined it for me. However, I do think that the actor that plays the Werewolf is the exception to that. I've always liked Famke but she doesn't pull off the accent AT ALL. Also, the actor that plays Roman has a real life accent that shows through in his character so this character sometimes has an accent. I didn't notice it at first but the more the show went on the worse it got. Ugh. It's really annoying and it throws me off of what I'm watching. I wish Netflix had put more into their casting because its a very interesting story. Sure it has Werewolves and other unknown creatures but its different enough to not be just another monster show. With a name like Skarsgaard (Roman), I expected more but was let down. The female "cop" is really dragging the show down also with poor acting. Since a recast is not going to happen I hope that season 2 keeps the story going since the story and the Werewolf actor are its saving graces. Dear Netflix, please work on the Skarsgaard accent and the Famke accent...PLEASE!!! It's HORRIBLE!!! Expand
  66. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this show, it's unique and it doesn't hold back. I feel they did an excellent job with the cast and the special effects are top notch everything looks so realistic. I'm really looking forward to season 2.
  67. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a huge werewolf fan so when I saw the title of this series I knew I was going to enjoy it. I did not expect what Hemlock Grove had in store. This series is constantly keeping you wondering & just when you think you have a character figured out something happens & your back to wondering, especially when it comes to trying to figure out if a character is good or bad, it seems everyone is a little bit of both especially the Godfrey family. The son Roman is a tortured rich kid that comes off as not entirely human, along with his mother Olivia (played by Famke Jannsen a.k.a Jean Grey/Phoenix in X*Men) who is so cold its scary. And his sister Shelley is a mystery of her own that seems like a questionable individual at first but before you know it you are rooting for her & her fight for independence from her control freak mother, with the help of her big brother who cares for her to the point of making any girl swoon. Peter Rumancek is a gypsy werewolf town outcast that moves to Hemlock with his mother (Lili Taylor!!) & befriends Roman regardless of their families "differences". The scene where the werewolf changes is by far the best turning scene I've ever seen, it gave me goose bumps & I had to rewatch it a few times. This series will keep you guessing & wondering & will make you want more & more, just when you think you know what's going on something challenges your theory. Hemlock Grove is exclusively on Netflix & worth it! I can't wait for season 2. The series is so great I've started reading the book its based on my Brian McGreevy, equally amazing & poetically beautiful. Expand
  68. Jan 31, 2014
    7
    This series seems to provoke very strong reactions, both positive and negative, but I thought it was pretty good. Better than average for TV horror, but nothing made it really special. I haven't seen many reviews mention the lack of humour though and that surprises me. All the great horror series had humour; Hemlock doesn't –– And that's what places it somewhere near the top of the second division for me Expand
  69. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    First let me just say~ WOW!!! Kudos Netflix!! Brilliant, suspenseful, VERY NEW materials adding to the usual mystery ordinarily associated w/ werewolves; etc. producing an awesome sense of wonderment that stays w/ u every episode. I'm perplexed by any rating under a ten....it REALLY is that good! Great choice in cast and such cast chemistry!! I love Famke Janssen! The neg review said over dramatic, but aren't most people? Her character is sometimes over dramatic which she makes awesome to watch tho! It's far better than I could've imagined a netflix original~No offense~Just thought low budget would be in order, ha! I was ever SO wrong! This show should be one of the classics of our time. It embodies everything people love watching right now. It BETTER have at LEAST 10 more seasons to come- anything less would just be wrong! Lol, jk 8 will work~I guess! I encourage all to give at least all 1st episode a try- b/c u will then be hooked!! Again SUPER, SUPER job to ALL involved on this film project~can't wait for more!! (^_^) Expand
  70. Aug 2, 2014
    4
    I watched it based on the fact that Netflix originals have been entertaining and well done (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black). Hemlock Grove, however, lacks the movie quality acting that have differentiated other Netflix originals.

    While the directing is decent, poor screenwriting condemns the cast to canned and often cliche lines. Each episode includes multiple cliff hangers and
    quirky mysteries to keep the viewer progressing through the show without, however, delivering on the anticipation that the show builds. Expand
  71. May 9, 2013
    7
    While it never really got amazing, I did watch the show start to finish. I found it layered too many mysteries on top of one another without offering enough explanation. Eventually it seemed like every character on the show knew what was going on while we, the audience, were in the dark. However, I found it enjoyable enough and would probably watch a second season if it would refine some of the areas that weren't as great. I would be really excited if there were more special effects shots and supernatural goings ons. Expand
  72. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    This is the third netflix original tv series I've watched and so far I'm 1 out of 3! Yet again, netflix has released another terrible show onto unsuspecting people! This one is worse than "orange is the new black", at least story wise. Hemlock grove starts off with some guy in a store just staring at the entrance door, some girl looks in and walks away, the next scene is those same two people having sex in and a car. The guy she's screwing obviously has a thing for blood as you find out later in this horrible series. Next up, some girl is invited to her teacher's home(female teacher) but she gets mauled by an animal in a field. I've never seen a collection of UNINTERESTING characters in a tv show....ever! i literally hated every characterexcept Olivia, she was the only reason i watched the first season,her son wasn't just a spoiled little brat, his acting is TERRIBLE!, and he's completely unlikable! peter(he's a wolf) is a gypse and lives with his mom and is also unlikable....the somewhat friendship isn't even worth discussing since their always at each other's throats, also, I've never seen high school kids look so grown up...they spend the majority of their time getting drunk,smoking and snorting coke. The first few deaths occur between episodes 1 and 2 and after that, NOTHING interesting happens until episode 7! Its just terrible, there's a scene where peter is getting harnessed by his school mates, he pushs one of them and he tries to get away but guess where he runs....the freaking school bus!? After the first person is killed, the police dont even check the girls phone and questions the teacher....oh and shelly...well what can i say, she's just some disfigured girl...nothing to see here..i guess...all through season 1 there's no hint of the killers identity(which is good) but when you see who it is....well lets just say that i wasn't buying it. The story is weak and full of plot holes and generally doesn't make sense...to become a wolf all you have to do is drink from it's paw print!? how absurd! And about that scene in the final episode..my god, that had to be THE. WORST. final ten minutes I've ever seen, did she want him to eat the baby? or just feed on it a little? In any case, it left more questions then answers which i doubt is worth finding out in season 2! Watching each episode was hard since i just hated the characters, they were so bland and uninteresting too me,i didn't have an inkling of sympathy for any character save for Olivia. 3/10 Expand
  73. May 19, 2014
    8
    If you like supernatural shows which consists of werewolves, mad scientists, dragons, gypsies and a crazy story line to follow this show is for you. Netflix has just announced the season 2 premiere for Hemlock Grove this July 2014, I am looking forward to it. It's not the best Super Natural series out there, but it is worth a chance to continue forward.
  74. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Hemlock Grove is REALLY weird, and REALLY gross. But it is SO weird, and SO gross, that you have to keep watching to find out what happens. It's haunting and clever and does supernatural in an original and spooky way. I couldn't think of any series that I would compare to Hemlock Grove, except for maybe Bedlam. If you're a fan of adult supernatural dramas and horror movies, Hemlock Grove is a great choice of a series for you. Just be warned that the last episode makes no sense whatsoeever. Expand
  75. May 27, 2014
    8
    The show's weirdness and intrigue got me going right from the outset. In every scene, it just manages to make me want to watch more by doing this. It's dark, gritty, witty, and weird. Kudos, Netflix!
  76. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    Beautiful and chaotic. Every conversation reads like poetry. Every set looks like an oil painting. Compeling characters, slow burn passionate story. My favorite show currently is "Rectify", but this is so much more fun that i think it really should be hemlock Grove. If this doesn't prove that critics are morons, nothing can.
  77. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    I really enjoyed this show. Sure, it's a little bizarre, but if you're a fan of the bizarre, then you'll love Hemlock Grove. Great acting too! I hope they don't cancel this show.
  78. Jul 17, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had not watched HG up until July 2014. I was so eager to start watching the series after seeing the buzz over social media when Season 2 uploaded to Netflx. I just *forced* myself to finish Season 1 and what an unpleasant experience that was. I understand that a fair amount of gore is expected for horror shows; but much of it was obviously & shamelessly gratuitous. Having Peter's face eaten off, and having him return later with full face intact was senseless and did nothing to explain or enhance the story. Other explicit sexual imagery; such as Olivia fondling her son's aroused genitalia through his trousers was also irrelevant & unnecessary, yet the writers simply threw it in for no justifiable reason. I'll pass on Season 2. What a shame. It started out with such promise. It was so engaging at first, but then it took some sort of "sell-out" plunge, as if to cater to the worst, classless, basest denominator. Expand
  79. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    I really hope a season 3 comes out. I love the story line and all this show has to offer in entertainment.

    I read some of the professional critics here, and I have to say that they are completely insane on their negativity. To be frank!....dear high paid critics, I'm sick of you guys and your bad taste in movies, shows, etc.

    This story line is very rich, and offers great surprises.
    While critics will praise plots such as 50 Shades of Grey (which is JUST stupid - seriously), they can't see where normal veiwers like us simply enjoy these types of fun, suspenseful, mysterious, knee-jerking, old romantic types of plots! All cast is great, even the girl who played Shelly!

    Here is the question: Would I prefer a movie like 50 Shades or a plot where I could yell at the TV..."What the Hell is that now?" And then, at the end, when all might have been solved, just keeling over - off my couch - because of a great cliffhanger. When one feels like this, then the writers did an awesome job! Please Netflix....Let Season 3 continue.
    Expand
  80. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    At first I really didn't like the show. To many brunette white girls to differentiate between, to many characters in the first episode overall. However, I persevered. I'm now on episode eight and I'm enjoying it now. There seems to be a lot of good ideas thrown together without much thought, yet they are still good ideas.
    Yes, it is flawed, but, still enjoyable.
  81. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't wait until I find out what happens to Nadia,the baby and the journey to find her. Totally surprise ending for me. This is a very compelling show ,I was on the edge watching,it's been a long time since I watched something like this,amazing how at every twist and turn ,SUPRISE! Expand
  82. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Best show I've seen in a while. Love it!!! I hope they make a season 3!!!!!!!!! I'm so addicted. :) I don't know why they didn't come up with this one a long time ago.
  83. Aug 8, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This series has a ton of great ideas & characters but it seems as if the writers have no clue on how to write a cohesive story. There are too many instances where the show jumps from one thing to another without any explanation on how the characters got there. For example, there is a scene where the 2 main characters (rich boy & gypsy boy) are sitting in class & rich boy passes a note to gypsy boy asking if he can watch(watch what?). Gypsy boy then leaves the classroom without answering. Next thing you know both boys are in gypsy boy's home waiting for him to turn into a wolf. At no point since the series started did gypsy boy tell anyone that he was a werewolf nor did the writers ever indicate that. This was in ep 2 but this lack of attention to detail is seen through the entire series. It seems that the creators of the show decided to just patch things together to get from one cool thing to another without any actual concern for a good, solid story. This show is not as good as Lost, Buffy, Angel, Supernatural or a bunch of others that tell big stories per season but it is entertaining when you have nothing else too watch. Expand
  84. Aug 10, 2014
    6
    I really want to like this because the genre is a personal favourite of mine.. But unfortunately it has got too many ideas and characters thrown together, and it takes way to long to clarify any of them. If this was a regular series were you had to wait a week for the next episode, I would not bother waiting. And the attention to details is, well.. I saw the episode were Roman cuts his face, for then in the next scene to have the band aid on the wrong side of his face... come on people.. But regardless I am enjoying it because I love the genre and I do love the actors and I they are doing a great job! I would keep watching for the sole reason of good acting. Expand
  85. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    Hemlock Grove (Season 1) is an amazing season! An incredible cast with awesome characters and an unexpected ending. If you like a good series get ready to be glued to the screen.
  86. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I'm really waiting on Netflix to renew this show. This is the only show I anticipate and supremely enjoy. Eli Roth is a genius, great acting, especially by Landon and Famke. The characters are interesting. What drew me in first season was the plot. I literally watched the show over again every night since February, when discovered, to the release of season 2. It's just something you don't see and it's refreshing. There is a reason Netflix picked the show up. Season 2 was completely different. But I trust Eli. I wonder if all seasons will be like American Horror Story where every season goes in a new direction. All in all, I love the show. I keep checking to see if it gets a renewal because then there will be nothing on television to watch really, if not. And I'll miss the actors altogether. Please don't axe the show, Netflix! Expand
  87. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE THIS **** Seriously its an amazing show. I like Orange is the new black but nothing gets me going like Hemlock Grove.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.