• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 89
  2. Negative: 20 out of 89
  1. Lvy
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent series, the best horror, passion, mystery and love drama series I have seen so far!!!!!!
    I can't wait to see season two coming soon in New Zealand.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Ok, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end ofOk, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end of episode 2 and it starts to pay off. From there it just gets better and better. Yes, this is a supernatural mystery horror melodrama, that's what you signed up for so hopefully that's what you want... but! But! For once you don't spend most of the show hating the main characters or yelling at the screen about how stupid they are being. I genuinely liked ALL of the characters and felt empathy for them, even for 'the bad guys'.

    And there is some serious horror in there. Both of the psychological and gore based varieties.

    If you liked Twin Peaks you will probably like this show, it does not have the brilliance of Lynch behind it... but it's a lot less difficult to watch than anything he has ever filmed.

    All that said I didn't love the stingers at the end of season one... I did like that a day after finishing it I am still processing what happened in the last fine minutes of the show though. Here's hoping that they male all of that make sense in season 2!
    Collapse
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be setHemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I’m glad Netflix renewed the series. Just finished watching all of Hemlock Grove, it was a bit slow the first 2 episodes but when it did reachI’m glad Netflix renewed the series. Just finished watching all of Hemlock Grove, it was a bit slow the first 2 episodes but when it did reach climax it was hard not keep watching. I liked the story line unique and fresh with a great mix of thriller and mystery combination. Can’t wait for season 2! Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good show. Much better than other supernatural teen franchises it could be compared to. Slow pacing ultimately falls away as the number of questions and subplots grow thicker.

    Hope it gets a Season 2, as it hasn't hit the sweet spot yet, but certainly should do if given the chance.

    Cannot understand the poor critic's ratings, but most are based on the low budget pilot. I don't think any review that doesn't take the series as a whole is very narrow minded. The rules of regular TV don't apply to the new media, and a show that drops all episodes at once should be viewed in it's entirety. Anything else is misinformed.

    FYI, I hate most supernatural stuff, especially werewolves and vampires but it still held my attention. There's enough there to keep the sci fi fans hooked too.
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    Janssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. TheJanssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. The writing and acting needs a lot of improvement. The potential is there for a good series. Liboiron, Skarsgard, Scott and Taylor are carrying the show. The other actors need to step up their game so that their scenes don't seem so amateur. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow,This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow, Famke's accent is ridiculous and the only reason I finished watching the series was because it was such a train wreck I had to see how much worse it could get. The craziest part of the series is that there were rooms full of producers, directors and executives s at Netflix that saw this once it was done and didn't yank it immediately and throw it into the trash. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews