• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 72
  2. Negative: 17 out of 72
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    Started kind of slow then the show sinks in. Very suspenseful with great characters. I commend the choice of actors. Overly sexual at times yet wonderfully gory. Expand
  2. May 22, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is a good show. It starts off slow, but it's worth a chance. The bad reviews are from people who watched five minutes of the first episode. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I’m glad Netflix renewed the series. Just finished watching all of Hemlock Grove, it was a bit slow the first 2 episodes but when it did reach climax it was hard not keep watching. I liked the story line unique and fresh with a great mix of thriller and mystery combination. Can’t wait for season 2! Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Puzzled that is the only feeling I could use to describe my state of being after completing the first episode of hemlock grove. Unlike pilot episode from other series I was unable to really grasp the entire concept of the show or the direction in which it might proceed.One sentiment that I continually felt throughout the entire episode was that I had been dropped into a world that has been going on for sometime without me like starting a book at the halfway point. The amount of bland unnamed characters that were dragged onto the screen in succession over the course 40 minutes was quite off putting as well as the acting quality of this characters as they were paraded across the screen I could not help but feel no sense of realism to the events. I will say that show peeked my interest enough for me to continue watching the series one of the few characters who did intrigue me was Olivia Godfrey (played by Famke Janssen of X-Men and Taken) her character appears to be one of the deeper characters in the story so far. The mother of one of the main characters Roman Godfrey she appears to be a woman of many faces and I felt the acting was above the rest although her accent for the show was unnecessary and pulled attention away from what was going on. Overall I found the story and premiss intriguing but almost felt that we had arrived at the end of the story, while the characters were too many and too bland it will be interesting to see if in the coming episodes some of the characters can be flushed out and given a bit of humanity. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    Janssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. The writing and acting needs a lot of improvement. The potential is there for a good series. Liboiron, Skarsgard, Scott and Taylor are carrying the show. The other actors need to step up their game so that their scenes don't seem so amateur. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    My wife and I tried to watch Hemlock Grove on Netflix last night, but it was apparently written by an immature teenage boy. Within the FIRST MINUTE, there were cheerleaders, teacher/student lesbianism, a "bad boy" from a "bad family", a hook up and prostitution. It was poorly implemented and forced. Thumbs way down for that drivel. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews