• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 87
  2. Negative: 19 out of 87
  1. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    A steady build-up to an epic finale of the season with very unexpected but brilliant conclusion. It was different from the rest of the tv series you'd usually watch in a positive way. Only negative thing i could say is that it felt almost as if the whole first season's purpose was to be a prologue for the main story to unfold in the upcoming seasons and i understand why some people would review the so called "prologue" season as a bad one but myself on the other hand don't really mind if it leads to an even more epic continuation of the series. I really recommend this for those interested in mystery and fantasy. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    I watched the first seven episodes in one go, and I haven't been as entertained in a very long time. It was difficult to get away from the screen and into bed. It's three o'clock in the middle of the night and I'm working early.

    Reading other reviews, the show seems like a "love it or hate it" kind of thing, although it seems to me that those who didn't like it only watched one episode or less.

    Anyway, if you like mystery, horror, fantasy with a light dash of sci-fi, you should stop reading this silly review and go watch Hemlock Grove. Now.

    And to Netflix: Keep this up and you can take all my money.
    Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Collapse
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This is a captivating new series. I easily lose interest in tv series but this it's unlike many I have seen. I do however suggest they try to speak to all viewers. There is a great deal of female nudity so I assume they believe the majority of viewers will be male, but on the contrary, I know four out of five of my friends whom watch this show are women. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    The show is slower to start, but it's a refreshing change from the generic, white-washed shows usually marketed as supernatural horror. The show has some real horror elements to it, and isn't shy about it. Yes, at times it can remind you of something like Vampire Diaries, but the difference is that it doesn't dissolve into high-school-romance-drivel.

    The show is very reminiscent of Twin Peaks, and it definitely carries the tone of an abnormal small town with mounting tensions. The show isn't episodic, and much of the series is set up for the finale, which finally gives answers in the last few episodes.

    Like many shows or books that play with the gothic horror genre, there are references to other, more famous, works such as Frankenstein and Wuthering Heights.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    This show can be summed up in five words: failure to close the deal. Eli Roth, you let me down, man. This show's first 6 episodes are a well-written, tense unfolding of characters and sub-plots that hook and intrigue you. The next 7 episodes go the way of a big budget, summer action flick: how much destruction can we toss against the screen before anyone notices there's no plot here?

    The show started off walking that tightrope of grisly, over the top revelations and grounding character development. For the first several episodes, they pulled off the tightrope walk and looked sexy doing it. More importantly, they pulled back before they lost the story under the shock.

    Unfortunately, right around episode 7, the writers/director seemed to realize that they didn't have any sensors to appease and they went the way of American Horror Story season 2 towards the end. They stopped writing and started ramping up the skin-crawling taboos factor. They left plots unraveling with no progression. Then at the tail end, it's as though they realize they have all this ground they should cover so they can set up the teaser for season 2. The finale was the longest 58 minutes of my life in recent memory. I know I've got first world problems, but I was literally talking to the screen willing it to be over.

    As a life-long sci-fi horror fan, I commend Netflix for reaching across genres for their original programming content. Keep it up. As for this show, I'm tempted to read reviews of the book this is based on to see if the problem was straying from the script or sticking to it.

    Writers' Side Note: I think I'm getting too old for the "everything with a vagina must be filleted on screen" method of storytelling. Get some therapy and take a real risk.
    Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow, Famke's accent is ridiculous and the only reason I finished watching the series was because it was such a train wreck I had to see how much worse it could get. The craziest part of the series is that there were rooms full of producers, directors and executives s at Netflix that saw this once it was done and didn't yank it immediately and throw it into the trash. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews