Hemlock Grove : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 91
  2. Negative: 22 out of 91
  1. Lvy
    Apr 28, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent series, the best horror, passion, mystery and love drama series I have seen so far!!!!!!
    I can't wait to see season two coming soon in New Zealand.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Ok, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end ofOk, so yes the pilot is a little rough and uncertain in all aspects from cinematography to acting to pacing. But give it to the end of episode 2 and it starts to pay off. From there it just gets better and better. Yes, this is a supernatural mystery horror melodrama, that's what you signed up for so hopefully that's what you want... but! But! For once you don't spend most of the show hating the main characters or yelling at the screen about how stupid they are being. I genuinely liked ALL of the characters and felt empathy for them, even for 'the bad guys'.

    And there is some serious horror in there. Both of the psychological and gore based varieties.

    If you liked Twin Peaks you will probably like this show, it does not have the brilliance of Lynch behind it... but it's a lot less difficult to watch than anything he has ever filmed.

    All that said I didn't love the stingers at the end of season one... I did like that a day after finishing it I am still processing what happened in the last fine minutes of the show though. Here's hoping that they male all of that make sense in season 2!
    Collapse
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be setHemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    8
    This show was very slow at the start Through character development and murder mystery there was a lot of ground to cover. I think with all ofThis show was very slow at the start Through character development and murder mystery there was a lot of ground to cover. I think with all of its minor flaws, some people fail to see the true beauty in this show. From the transformations of the monsters to the minor details installed from the mysteries, this show has a lot of depth. Not only that but it is very dark and left me wondering what is going on where most other shows have a pretty obvious direction. I see a lot of complaining about the acting and accents in this show. Though it does seem rough at times, all the acting seems to have an underlying reason behind it all. The first episode is kind of rough to get through and at times you may feel lost while watching, but these are the reason I kept watching. After finishing the series I really like the new things they did that seem pretty original.
    WATCH THIS SHOW IF:
    1. You are looking for a dark series to watch with a new spin on the supernatural.
    2. You find it easy to figure out a plot in a TV series after watching the first episode.
    3. You like murder mysteries.
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    7
    This series seems to provoke very strong reactions, both positive and negative, but I thought it was pretty good. Better than average for TVThis series seems to provoke very strong reactions, both positive and negative, but I thought it was pretty good. Better than average for TV horror, but nothing made it really special. I haven't seen many reviews mention the lack of humour though and that surprises me. All the great horror series had humour; Hemlock doesn't –– And that's what places it somewhere near the top of the second division for me Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2014
    4
    I watched it based on the fact that Netflix originals have been entertaining and well done (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black). HemlockI watched it based on the fact that Netflix originals have been entertaining and well done (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black). Hemlock Grove, however, lacks the movie quality acting that have differentiated other Netflix originals.

    While the directing is decent, poor screenwriting condemns the cast to canned and often cliche lines. Each episode includes multiple cliff hangers and quirky mysteries to keep the viewer progressing through the show without, however, delivering on the anticipation that the show builds.
    Expand
  7. May 30, 2015
    0
    just watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium whilejust watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium while "MOTHERS LITTLE THIEF" steals some clothes? man, does realy every badass speak russian in america and when clothes get stolen u know that gypsies are near? this is so racist cant believe its a netflix production. just thought about paying the 9bucks per month, but not to racist pricks. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews