• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 63
  2. Negative: 17 out of 63
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    Absolutely love it! Can't get enough! Thought it was just one of those brainless teenage werewolf dramas. I was so wrong! It was smart, clever,with a new twist around every corner. I can't wait for season 2. Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Honestly I have to say Hemlock Grove is one of the best series i've ever watched. Needless to say I wasn't sure about it at first but once you get through the first episode it's addicting, I just cant wait till the second season! Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    8
    Although has shades of teen-horror yarns like 'Twilight', Hemlock Grove manages to not fully commit to a young audience. Takes a few episodes to get going, but it's enjoyable, with decent performances from the two young front men especially. If you're a fan of True Blood, you'll probably enjoy this. Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good show. Much better than other supernatural teen franchises it could be compared to. Slow pacing ultimately falls away as the number of questions and subplots grow thicker.

    Hope it gets a Season 2, as it hasn't hit the sweet spot yet, but certainly should do if given the chance.

    Cannot understand the poor critic's ratings, but most are based on the low budget pilot. I don't think any review that doesn't take the series as a whole is very narrow minded. The rules of regular TV don't apply to the new media, and a show that drops all episodes at once should be viewed in it's entirety. Anything else is misinformed.

    FYI, I hate most supernatural stuff, especially werewolves and vampires but it still held my attention. There's enough there to keep the sci fi fans hooked too.
    Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    Janssen's accent is too forced (and I really liked her before this). The pace is very slow...too many scenes with nothing happening. The writing and acting needs a lot of improvement. The potential is there for a good series. Liboiron, Skarsgard, Scott and Taylor are carrying the show. The other actors need to step up their game so that their scenes don't seem so amateur. Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    My wife and I tried to watch Hemlock Grove on Netflix last night, but it was apparently written by an immature teenage boy. Within the FIRST MINUTE, there were cheerleaders, teacher/student lesbianism, a "bad boy" from a "bad family", a hook up and prostitution. It was poorly implemented and forced. Thumbs way down for that drivel. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews