• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Don Francks, Famke Janssen, Dougray Scott
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 88
  2. Negative: 20 out of 88
  1. May 12, 2014
    10
    It reminds me of Twin Peaks in a way. I can understand if it's not somebodies cup of tea. I didn't see anything wrong with Famke Janssen'sIt reminds me of Twin Peaks in a way. I can understand if it's not somebodies cup of tea. I didn't see anything wrong with Famke Janssen's accent. She is playing an American with a British accent. I have British friends that have lived in America for a few decades and their accents aren't as refined as somebody who is living in the UK! Get over it! Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    (Bear in mind; I'm only on episode 5 of season 1)....Hemlock Grove is trash. But just the kind of trash I was looking for. It's like Twin(Bear in mind; I'm only on episode 5 of season 1)....Hemlock Grove is trash. But just the kind of trash I was looking for. It's like Twin Peaks meets Twilight with a touch of mad scientist thrown in. The script's not great, nor is the acting, however the set and filming are satisfying. It's gross and lurid and corny; but somehow winds up being fun. It's like Twinkies for my brain. If you like trashy, cliche, murder mystery, horror, weird science, small town, teen angst, monster family drama; this show is for you. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be setHemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this show, it's unique and it doesn't hold back. I feel they did an excellent job with the cast and the special effects areI really enjoyed this show, it's unique and it doesn't hold back. I feel they did an excellent job with the cast and the special effects are top notch everything looks so realistic. I'm really looking forward to season 2. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Puzzled that is the only feeling I could use to describe my state of being after completing the first episode of hemlock grove. Unlike pilotPuzzled that is the only feeling I could use to describe my state of being after completing the first episode of hemlock grove. Unlike pilot episode from other series I was unable to really grasp the entire concept of the show or the direction in which it might proceed.One sentiment that I continually felt throughout the entire episode was that I had been dropped into a world that has been going on for sometime without me like starting a book at the halfway point. The amount of bland unnamed characters that were dragged onto the screen in succession over the course 40 minutes was quite off putting as well as the acting quality of this characters as they were paraded across the screen I could not help but feel no sense of realism to the events. I will say that show peeked my interest enough for me to continue watching the series one of the few characters who did intrigue me was Olivia Godfrey (played by Famke Janssen of X-Men and Taken) her character appears to be one of the deeper characters in the story so far. The mother of one of the main characters Roman Godfrey she appears to be a woman of many faces and I felt the acting was above the rest although her accent for the show was unnecessary and pulled attention away from what was going on. Overall I found the story and premiss intriguing but almost felt that we had arrived at the end of the story, while the characters were too many and too bland it will be interesting to see if in the coming episodes some of the characters can be flushed out and given a bit of humanity. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2014
    4
    I watched it based on the fact that Netflix originals have been entertaining and well done (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black). HemlockI watched it based on the fact that Netflix originals have been entertaining and well done (House of Cards, Orange is the New Black). Hemlock Grove, however, lacks the movie quality acting that have differentiated other Netflix originals.

    While the directing is decent, poor screenwriting condemns the cast to canned and often cliche lines. Each episode includes multiple cliff hangers and quirky mysteries to keep the viewer progressing through the show without, however, delivering on the anticipation that the show builds.
    Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow,This is a bad show...embarrassingly bad. From start to finish. The story line is ridiculous, the acting horrible, pacing unjustifiably slow, Famke's accent is ridiculous and the only reason I finished watching the series was because it was such a train wreck I had to see how much worse it could get. The craziest part of the series is that there were rooms full of producers, directors and executives s at Netflix that saw this once it was done and didn't yank it immediately and throw it into the trash. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers