Hemlock Grove : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 97
  2. Negative: 25 out of 97
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have only recently watched Hemlock Grove, in early November 13. And i have to say I thought the brooding, mystery of it all was phenomenal. Being a young adult I have completely indulged myself with the thirteen episode thriller. Dark demons and hidden depths suck you in and leave you speechless. The gore, fantastic. Completely gripping. And the characters, perfectly portrayed, exactly how they should be. As a budding actress myself and looking to go into the darker genre, i was glued to the screen, every actor and actress had that dark spark. It's not just the gorgeous guys i'm infatuated with either, the twists, romance, action and the supernatural element are thrown together in a way that suits this gruesome jaw-dropping series. I am definitely looking forward to the release of the second! And as for the werewolf transformation, it's never been done like that. I have spent countless hours trawling through all things supernatural. Never have I come across one so realistic and in detail. I'm really not sure what all these negative reviews are all about, they must be on the wrong site. Thank you Netflix! Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    Started kind of slow then the show sinks in. Very suspenseful with great characters. I commend the choice of actors. Overly sexual at timesStarted kind of slow then the show sinks in. Very suspenseful with great characters. I commend the choice of actors. Overly sexual at times yet wonderfully gory. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be setHemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    8
    Although has shades of teen-horror yarns like 'Twilight', Hemlock Grove manages to not fully commit to a young audience. Takes a few episodesAlthough has shades of teen-horror yarns like 'Twilight', Hemlock Grove manages to not fully commit to a young audience. Takes a few episodes to get going, but it's enjoyable, with decent performances from the two young front men especially. If you're a fan of True Blood, you'll probably enjoy this. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    At first I really didn't like the show. To many brunette white girls to differentiate between, to many characters in the first episodeAt first I really didn't like the show. To many brunette white girls to differentiate between, to many characters in the first episode overall. However, I persevered. I'm now on episode eight and I'm enjoying it now. There seems to be a lot of good ideas thrown together without much thought, yet they are still good ideas.
    Yes, it is flawed, but, still enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    3
    Just watched the Pilot and...wow, what a chore that ended up being. Terrible script, terrible acting, pacing issues galore, no interestingJust watched the Pilot and...wow, what a chore that ended up being. Terrible script, terrible acting, pacing issues galore, no interesting characters. Jannsen's accent is a total mess. This NF original doesn't come close to the quality of House of Cards. Avoid it. Expand
  7. May 30, 2015
    0
    just watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium whilejust watched the first ten minutes of this and srsly..wtf is this? 2 roman gypsies doing what all gypsies do'? the mother smokes opium while "MOTHERS LITTLE THIEF" steals some clothes? man, does realy every badass speak russian in america and when clothes get stolen u know that gypsies are near? this is so racist cant believe its a netflix production. just thought about paying the 9bucks per month, but not to racist pricks. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Trailers