• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hemlock Grove Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Brian McGreevy's novel of the same name, the murder of 17-year-old Brooke Bluebell in a small Pennsylvania steel town leads to suspicions toward Peter Rumancek (Landon Liboiron), 17-year-old Gypsy and Roman Godfrey (Bill Skarsgard), the heir to the Godfrey estate.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Apr 24, 2013
    83
    Hemlock Grove takes its time with story lines, ensuring that each one has plenty of room to ripen. It carries out every dastardly deed with gusto, but still offers enough moments of levity.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    It manages to be lush, gross, frightening, and ridiculous--all at the same time.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 24, 2013
    58
    Hemlock Grove overall falls well short of anything resembling sustained brilliance. Still, each episode may well push just enough buttons to pull you along to the next one.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 17, 2013
    42
    There are just a lot of crazy, crazy ideas hurled out there with no real thought given to pace or tone or how to mesh them all together.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 15, 2013
    40
    If the underlying formula is as old as “Dark Shadows,” there’s still a need for more narrative momentum than the 13-episode series initially delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 11, 2013
    20
    Weird can be good, but this isn’t intentionally weird so much as it is plain bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    20
    The Roth-directed drama is an almost unwatchable muddle of horror tropes and painfully creaky dialogue.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 77
  2. Negative: 18 out of 77
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    Started kind of slow then the show sinks in. Very suspenseful with great characters. I commend the choice of actors. Overly sexual at times yet wonderfully gory. Expand
  2. CKA
    Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Great Show! Never judge a show based on the pilot (they are just introducing you to everyone, unfolding relationships and connections with everyone, building the story). By the end of the 2nd episode you are dying to know what happens next and to find out the details. Looking forward to a continuation. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Hemlock Grove is an amazing series, it is slow developing but so what, so is Game of Thrones. Its more murder mystery that happens to be set in a supernatural universe. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    When I first started watching this show, my husband and I laughed when we shouldn't have and I started to think it was horrible but I couldn't stop watching it. My husband gave up on it on episode 2 but I stayed the course and was pleasantly surprised to actually like Hemlock Grove for what it is. Does it have pacing issues? Yes. Are there accent issues? Yes. But i consider a show good if i can keep pushing through it and be thoroughly entertained.

    So check this out if you are bored and cannot find anything on Netflix. And watch until at least episode 3 before you pass judgement. It is like LOST in that way.
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    I binge watched this whole series in one sitting which most people won't. That is unfortunate. You could not accurate summarize "Lost" by only watching the pilot. You get the beginning premise and an introduction to the characters but the entire arc as a whole is what matters. This is definitely the case with Hemlock Grove...it is a 13 hour feature that continually ramps up. This is a show you can really sink your fangs/claws into.

    Though it has some flaws, the characters have depth and personalities. The settings and cinematic approach to the visuals make it a feast for your eyes. It's Cruel Intentions or Twin Peaks with vampires and werewolves or it's Twilight if it were NC-17. I hate to draw the parallel, because the only thing in common is that there's 2 guys and a girl. The rest is great and engaging Stephanie Meyer wishes she could create. I enjoyed the series' pragmatic approach to the super natural and magic. Nothing is overt and it all seems very incidental. To me, this sort of subtly is what makes high concept shows more compelling. I enjoyed that there is room for a continuation, but also that every character had a definitive conclusion to their story this season. Worth watching if you have Netflix. It may start slow, but the payoff is worth it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    This show can be summed up in five words: failure to close the deal. Eli Roth, you let me down, man. This show's first 6 episodes are a well-written, tense unfolding of characters and sub-plots that hook and intrigue you. The next 7 episodes go the way of a big budget, summer action flick: how much destruction can we toss against the screen before anyone notices there's no plot here?

    The show started off walking that tightrope of grisly, over the top revelations and grounding character development. For the first several episodes, they pulled off the tightrope walk and looked sexy doing it. More importantly, they pulled back before they lost the story under the shock.

    Unfortunately, right around episode 7, the writers/director seemed to realize that they didn't have any sensors to appease and they went the way of American Horror Story season 2 towards the end. They stopped writing and started ramping up the skin-crawling taboos factor. They left plots unraveling with no progression. Then at the tail end, it's as though they realize they have all this ground they should cover so they can set up the teaser for season 2. The finale was the longest 58 minutes of my life in recent memory. I know I've got first world problems, but I was literally talking to the screen willing it to be over.

    As a life-long sci-fi horror fan, I commend Netflix for reaching across genres for their original programming content. Keep it up. As for this show, I'm tempted to read reviews of the book this is based on to see if the problem was straying from the script or sticking to it.

    Writers' Side Note: I think I'm getting too old for the "everything with a vagina must be filleted on screen" method of storytelling. Get some therapy and take a real risk.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    My wife and I tried to watch Hemlock Grove on Netflix last night, but it was apparently written by an immature teenage boy. Within the FIRST MINUTE, there were cheerleaders, teacher/student lesbianism, a "bad boy" from a "bad family", a hook up and prostitution. It was poorly implemented and forced. Thumbs way down for that drivel. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews