• Network: TLC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 7, 2012
    91
    You'll alternate between cooing at 6-year-old pageant queen Honey, gawking at her self-described "redneck" family and pet pig, laughing so hard you cry, and feeling deep shame for not turning it off.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    While I was creeped out by the way Honey Boo Boo was framing the family and presenting them to us, I couldn't help loving the Thompsons themselves.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    As with many of these series, Honey Boo Boo wobbles along that strange line of being at once an exploitative mess, and not just an exploitative mess.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Despite all of TLC's crafty maneuvering, this is a family that likes to laugh with each other. The rest doesn't seem to matter.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    You'll blow a gasket if you watch this show with any trace of superiority or outrage. Instead, bafflement is a good resting spot; a guilty-pleasure glee works even better.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 8, 2012
    30
    If you haven't yet put your affairs in order, this would be a propitious time to do so. The world as we know it is about to end. How do I know? Because Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 7, 2012
    30
    Disturbingly condescending and almost irresistibly cheeky.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 17, 2012
    25
    Here Comes Honey Boo Boo Child is one miserable half-hour. [27 Aug 2012, p.44]
  9. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    Seems to me she's [Alana's mother June is] desperate to stay in the spotlight. And all I can say to that is, "Honey, bye-bye."
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 21 out of 32
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    The most disgusting show I've ever viewed in my entire life! As if "Toddlers n' Tiaras" wasn't bad enough...now this! Is this what television has to resort to...people who are of no class, morals or integrity, making big bucks off of their disgraceful language, absolutely no manners, horrible physical presentation, clearly lacking class, amongst other things I choose to refrain from saying here, as I do pride myself on having class. I've said more than this disgusting show is even worthy of...will never watch again! Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    0
    What a joke...it is pure junk! if this is what tv is heading to {including toddler/tiara and the stupid **** dance instructor one}...then cancel cable. Good god...all these stupid reality shows dominating every channel...no wander the IQ of an average american is going to pot. Full Review »
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    These people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't care what people think about them and it's completely refreshing, no matter what you do someone will criticise you so why care? You'd better redneckognise! Full Review »