• Network: TLC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 62
  2. Negative: 45 out of 62

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    These people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't care what people think about them and it's completely refreshing, no matter what you do someone will criticise you so why care? You'd better redneckognise!
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    You have to look past this family's flaws and see them for what they are...a caring and happy family that doesn't have much, but enjoys life anyways.When I first started to watch the show I thought I would be laughing AT them, but instead I have ended up laughing WITH them. What's disgusting is the way America is responding to this family just because they don't live exactly the same way they do. Bottom line is that this family is not evil or mean, they are not criminals, they are not hurting anyone...why all the hatred towards them? Learn to embrace your fellow neighbor instead of judging them...the world would be a MUCH better place. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    In LOVE with this family! Being raised southern is something to be proud of!!! Shame on yall for taking a glance at them and automatically have some sort of disgust towards them! They are honest, loving, true southern rednecks who embrace who they are and I respect them for that! I was raised in the sticks I drank from a water hose, ate off the floor, played in mud etc and I turned out fine haha... It's not abuse or neglect or ignorant in any way.. it's just a different way of living. If y'all dont like it... Stay up north! Y'all take everything wayyy to seriously!!! yolo people!!!!!! :) Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    I love this show, this family doesn't care about what other people think about them! Yes, they use inappropriate language, yes, Jane washes here hair in the sink, but WHO GIVES A **** It's their life and even they say it, "You either like us or not.'' They are a happy family, and they are the type of family of old times. They are proud to say they are Red Necks, and if everybody got along just as well as them America could be a better place. So what if they live a different life, and who cares if they don't have as much manners? That doesn't give people the right to judge them differently. What if YOU were them? Would YOU like if people judged you this way, you didn't have the proper education, and you couldn't do anything about it. Honey Boo Boo (Alana), Age 6 - Alana has blue eyes and blond hair. She is the most cutest thing I have ever seen, she is nice, happy, and cheerful. She even reminds me of my friend's daughter, Sophia. Sophia has the same attitude as Alana does. I know Sophia personally, and she is adorable, ''crazy'', and a happy child. Alana competes in beauty pageants, and has never won Ultimate Grand Supreme, but her mom Jane is focusing on it. Their family have nicknames. The Dad is Sugar Bear, Jane is Mama, then the sisters: Chubbs, Chickadee, and Pumpkin. Then there is of course Honey Boo Boo. They don't have much, no IPhones, no HD TV' s, no Macbook's, and no 2 showers. But unlike most of us we want everything, IPhones, HD TV' s , Macbook's, Blackberry's, Computers, EVERYTHING! They don't have much but are happy the way they are, and what they do have they appreciate it! When you buy something you use it, use it, use it, and use it, and then buy another (newer version) and forget about the old one, they don't they have what they have, and they are happy. They are country folks, and they are an example, not in the manners, but in the appreciating, and accepting who they are. They don't worry about what others think about them, and leave the problems behind, they just have fun! I recommend this show, it is so funny! You end up not laughing at them, but with them! Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I Love Honey Boo Boo. Say what you want you haters, but Here Comes Honey Boo Boo is the new Jersey Shore of TLC. Probably one of the best shows since the ever-controversial Toddlers & Tiaras. Nice job, TLC. Add more seasons.
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I love this show! everyone says its so disgusting but thats why its so much fun to watch!
    I love Alana she is one bright funny captivating little girl,who is pretty,and it is so much fun to see her,
    she makes me laugh, I think its beautiful to watch the family is so neat.I think the reality and the pure madness behind the show is its real.I think if it were like the waltons it would be
    completely
    boring.I think the producers are right on track to continue the show because inlove watching it!
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    The family lives like they want, and don't care about anyone's opinions of them. The show's outrageous moments and vocabulary manage to pull out laugh after laugh, no matter how trashy you think it is...it's funny.
  8. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    this show is absolutely amazing the family doesn't change to make people happy. yes they may not be the most polite family and are a little weird but they are themselves! not many people are like that any more alot of people now days care what people think they dress a certain way act a certain way eat, talk, anything that will make other people happy and we shouldnt be that way. we should do what needs to be done to make ourselves happy. i very much like this show because of the way they all act they dont give a crap what any of you think they really dont care what anybody thinks. here comes honey boo boo is a great show! Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 17, 2012
    25
    Here Comes Honey Boo Boo Child is one miserable half-hour. [27 Aug 2012, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    As with many of these series, Honey Boo Boo wobbles along that strange line of being at once an exploitative mess, and not just an exploitative mess.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    While I was creeped out by the way Honey Boo Boo was framing the family and presenting them to us, I couldn't help loving the Thompsons themselves.