• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 367 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 367

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinG
    Oct 29, 2006
    0
    Guys I know my vote will be mostly ignored cause of the low rating
  2. chiefn
    Oct 11, 2006
    3
    If you enjoy mainstream drivel like LOST, this is your cup of tea. If you want a thinking-man's show like The Wire, you'll get very, very bored by this very quickly. Better casting is needed.
  3. MattM
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    This show is lazily writen. Every superpower and detiny reference has been done countless times in the sci-fi genre. Character develop is lacking with most being completely one dimensional. Not to mention time travel is a KEY part of this show. How any intelligent person can enjoy a show with time travel the way this show uses it is mind boggling. I prefer shows with non-gaping plot This show is lazily writen. Every superpower and detiny reference has been done countless times in the sci-fi genre. Character develop is lacking with most being completely one dimensional. Not to mention time travel is a KEY part of this show. How any intelligent person can enjoy a show with time travel the way this show uses it is mind boggling. I prefer shows with non-gaping plot holes. Also, the characters for all of their powers and experience discover things way later than the viewer does. Just another one of the many problems with this show. If you want a superhero or sci-fi show that is actually good try Smallville or Battlestar Galactica. Aside from Lost (the best show on TV) those two are actually worth watching. Expand
  4. JackR
    Feb 29, 2008
    1
    The effects in the show make it fun to watch some times. The problem is that it takes itself way too seriously and because the dialog is so poor, it comes off as one of the cheesiest shows on TV. If it had more of a sense of humor I could probably watch it without gagging every 5 minutes.
  5. markhr
    Jul 6, 2008
    1
    Blows huge putrid chunks. Bad acting bad script writing, bad SFX, bad cinematography, bad direction, bad, bad, bad. Heroes is so bad it even makes the original Star Trek TV show, which I frikkin hate, look good.
  6. JT
    Dec 1, 2009
    3
    I think I gave this show an honest shot (watching about half of the first season). And true, it does have some great potential, but the episodes are too long and drawn out and the acting is only so-so. This show has found a niche with its fans, sadly, it just doesn't work for me.
  7. BenM
    May 22, 2007
    3
    I cannot believe I actually sat through an entire season of this show. The dialogue and acting was so painfully bad that I nearly walked out on the finale only to realize that I already wasted 20 hours of my life and then deciding that there was no harm in losing another 40 minutes. Poor character development, special effects lifted from the annals of a C movie showing on the Sci-fi I cannot believe I actually sat through an entire season of this show. The dialogue and acting was so painfully bad that I nearly walked out on the finale only to realize that I already wasted 20 hours of my life and then deciding that there was no harm in losing another 40 minutes. Poor character development, special effects lifted from the annals of a C movie showing on the Sci-fi channel at 2:00 AM, and many unsatisfying plot aspects that were introduced and then never addressed by the writers. The only redeeming qualities I can come up for the series are Sylar's make-up (hilarious, he looks like dipped his face in powdered sugar), the green screen background scenery (a weather person's back drop is more convincing), and the sword fight between Hiro and his father that looks like a scene lifted from my neighbor's basement when I was 7 years old. The only things missing were plastic baseball bats in place of their Samuri swords. I honestly do not know what to say to anyone who likes this show when they are sober... Expand
  8. AdamL
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    I have to agree with the Johnny Come Lately statement. This show is uninteresting, boring and has been done before. Yawn.
  9. johnc
    Oct 31, 2006
    1
    Is anything ever going to happen? I quit watching too dull!
  10. AzraelA
    Sep 28, 2006
    3
    This show suffers from the worst writing I've seen on television in a while. Far too talky and lacking any of the punch of better sci-fi thrillers like Lost (which it is inexplicably being compared to). The first episode is a slow, clunking, misshapen hulk which interrupts its shallow character developments every 20 minutes with dull special effects. For those who haven't This show suffers from the worst writing I've seen on television in a while. Far too talky and lacking any of the punch of better sci-fi thrillers like Lost (which it is inexplicably being compared to). The first episode is a slow, clunking, misshapen hulk which interrupts its shallow character developments every 20 minutes with dull special effects. For those who haven't figured it out yet, the writers have taken a cliche of a stereotype of a character and matched it with a superpower stolen directly from an X-Men character in order to create each of the protagonists. So much for originality...and copyright infringement. Expand
  11. bigking
    Sep 29, 2006
    4
    A yawnfest. I was so badly wanting something to happen that would justify 10% of the hype this thing is getting. It didn't happen. Basically, it's one of those shows that will probably be cancelled soon, and some people will whine about it. I won't be one of them.
  12. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    1
    Please, don't get caught up in this trend of secretive reality-bending soap operas that create more mysteries than they can answer. I got in to Lost when it was big and recently realized how ridiculous it reallly was. This is the same, only with terrible acting and dialogue that's unforgivable. Oh, man, the dialogue. Porn writers could have written better talk scenes than this. Please, don't get caught up in this trend of secretive reality-bending soap operas that create more mysteries than they can answer. I got in to Lost when it was big and recently realized how ridiculous it reallly was. This is the same, only with terrible acting and dialogue that's unforgivable. Oh, man, the dialogue. Porn writers could have written better talk scenes than this. And don't use the whole super hero thing as a reason to watch. I can safely call myself a nerd, and I think it's ridiculous. Go turn on some cartoons, you'll find better heroes. I'd rate this show a 4 if they promised to stop talking, but I'm not expecting that. God, the dialogue!!! Make it stop!!! Expand
  13. wesr
    Apr 23, 2007
    2
    boring. someone needs to teach these writers how to pace a show. instead of telling the story of one character per episode, they try to jump around and juggle the stories of about 10 characters each episode. the result: by the end you've spent about 5 minutes on each character and the story as a whole has progressed very little. throw in some terrible lines and mediocre acting, and boring. someone needs to teach these writers how to pace a show. instead of telling the story of one character per episode, they try to jump around and juggle the stories of about 10 characters each episode. the result: by the end you've spent about 5 minutes on each character and the story as a whole has progressed very little. throw in some terrible lines and mediocre acting, and this show's not worth anybody's time. yeah, it's popular now, but that just proves that the general public has really bad taste. Collapse
  14. Dennis
    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    In its defense it seems like it could have a pretty cool plot, but the dialogue and acting are so unbearable that I honestly don't know how anyone can get that far into it. Oh, did I mention the acting was mind-numbingly awful?
  15. BrandonS
    Sep 27, 2006
    4
    Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode is as mediocre as the first, though, I think I'll pass on this one. Expand
  16. KevinL.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Shows like this are better off on TV BOXSET than television itself. Its countless plotlines and characters give it little room to develop over time and it is easily forgettable if you aren't paying enough attention to watch it weeks apart. Heroes is best on DVD.
  17. Sep 15, 2011
    2
    My friend had told me that Heroes was a great show and I must watch it. So I started to watch seasons 1-4 the first two were good, but only if you like a show that only gives you questions as answer never giving you the full story. season 4 was the worst ever, from the terrible cast that they had added robert knepper I knew the show was just a waste of time after that. the guy couldnt actMy friend had told me that Heroes was a great show and I must watch it. So I started to watch seasons 1-4 the first two were good, but only if you like a show that only gives you questions as answer never giving you the full story. season 4 was the worst ever, from the terrible cast that they had added robert knepper I knew the show was just a waste of time after that. the guy couldnt act drunk after finishing a bottle of Whiskey. then they turn Claire into a lesbian which is cool but come on she could have any chick, but goes for the bridge troll which is her roommate. i spent 80 hours of my life watching this filth would normally want them back but claire is hot so..... Expand
  18. Dec 13, 2014
    4
    I hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House withoutI hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House without the hospital. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 30
    The show is too diffuse, hokey and self-consciously portentous to suggest suspenseful possibility.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    The writing is uneven... but the idea is audacious enough to keep you following the loose threads.
  3. "Heroes" is one of TV's most imaginative creations and might, with luck, become this year's "Lost."