Heroes : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 373

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sonjeC.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    It's hard to disagree that this is an amazing show when EVERYONE in school watches it at least in NJ anyways kevin l how could u give it a 0 and say its best on dvd.
  2. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    8
    It's a show that grows on you. I have to admit, that in the beginning, I didn't like it. I hated it. Since I watch lost all the time, I was making all the comparisons. Weird freaky connections, black kids with superpowers, strange companies (dharma, the company), plot twists, no one in the hell knows what's going on. So I bashed it for a bit, calling it a Lost rip-off It's a show that grows on you. I have to admit, that in the beginning, I didn't like it. I hated it. Since I watch lost all the time, I was making all the comparisons. Weird freaky connections, black kids with superpowers, strange companies (dharma, the company), plot twists, no one in the hell knows what's going on. So I bashed it for a bit, calling it a Lost rip-off (they're very similar in the bare bones of things). Then Sylar happened. yes, Sylar. i admit, i think Sylar's hot. but mostly since he's the best villain i have seen. Ben on lost is just plain creepy but Sylar is complex and I understand what he's going though in a weird way... yeah, there are holes and yes the second season is a bit messy. but after the writer's strike is FINALLY over, i will be happy. because they're real. i am certain that if ordinary people mysteriously obtained superpowers, they would react in the ways the heroes people have. some would think this is a higher calling, others would use it for their advantage, and others would try to be rid of their powers. I've grown to deeply like it and i suppose my family is tired of hearing me praise Sylar all the time. plus for me, it's like lost never ended. Expand
  3. KevL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Best show on the Box, the BBC better tie up season 2, those greedy sky punters already took LOST.
  4. ZachF
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome show, end of story.
  5. Jan
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I just cant stand waiting for the next episode to come out, as usual. 10 out of 10 for this freaking unique effect. Not a lot of series made me feel like this...
  6. TonyT
    Feb 14, 2007
    9
    What a terrific show. The writing is brilliant, even though I have trouble figuring out some of the action. The only thing better on TV is 24.
  7. mmgood
    Feb 15, 2007
    8
    The show is excellent overall, but I've found the most recent episodes are just addiong more plot lines without resolving any previous ones. If the trend continues, I expect viewship to drop.
  8. EricC
    Mar 1, 2007
    1
    Please, don't get caught up in this trend of secretive reality-bending soap operas that create more mysteries than they can answer. I got in to Lost when it was big and recently realized how ridiculous it reallly was. This is the same, only with terrible acting and dialogue that's unforgivable. Oh, man, the dialogue. Porn writers could have written better talk scenes than this. Please, don't get caught up in this trend of secretive reality-bending soap operas that create more mysteries than they can answer. I got in to Lost when it was big and recently realized how ridiculous it reallly was. This is the same, only with terrible acting and dialogue that's unforgivable. Oh, man, the dialogue. Porn writers could have written better talk scenes than this. And don't use the whole super hero thing as a reason to watch. I can safely call myself a nerd, and I think it's ridiculous. Go turn on some cartoons, you'll find better heroes. I'd rate this show a 4 if they promised to stop talking, but I'm not expecting that. God, the dialogue!!! Make it stop!!! Expand
  9. NeilB.
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    I love this show, but of late it seems they weren't prepared to be picked up for the season...The writing has become a little soap-opera. Not much takes place per eposide. I know it has high ratings and I'll continue to watch, but c'mon, do we need 8 min. of commercials at every break...???? And, there are so many characters with stories interwoven, just make the show two-hours...
  10. HihuPot
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Best. Show. Ever.
  11. GaryB
    Apr 19, 2007
    7
    This is a pretty good, enjoyable serial drama. The FX are topnotch as far as tv goes. The problem is that every episode there is an average of 3.5 poop jokes (yes, i counted and averaged them). This number seems exceedingly high for this type of show, especially when these are the only types of jokes ever on there. Pretty good once you get past that caveat though.
  12. wesr
    Apr 23, 2007
    2
    boring. someone needs to teach these writers how to pace a show. instead of telling the story of one character per episode, they try to jump around and juggle the stories of about 10 characters each episode. the result: by the end you've spent about 5 minutes on each character and the story as a whole has progressed very little. throw in some terrible lines and mediocre acting, and boring. someone needs to teach these writers how to pace a show. instead of telling the story of one character per episode, they try to jump around and juggle the stories of about 10 characters each episode. the result: by the end you've spent about 5 minutes on each character and the story as a whole has progressed very little. throw in some terrible lines and mediocre acting, and this show's not worth anybody's time. yeah, it's popular now, but that just proves that the general public has really bad taste. Expand
  13. TRiopka
    May 1, 2007
    8
    Better MUSIC would make this show a classic. I don't know how often background music is neglected, resulting in an inferior production. The most recent future episode would have been MUCH more dramatic with the right background tempo and/or music. Instead, we had mostly silence with the occasional dramatic beating sound. Peter (Milo's) acting is great, but there was not enough Better MUSIC would make this show a classic. I don't know how often background music is neglected, resulting in an inferior production. The most recent future episode would have been MUCH more dramatic with the right background tempo and/or music. Instead, we had mostly silence with the occasional dramatic beating sound. Peter (Milo's) acting is great, but there was not enough to back him up! When will these execs get it? (The first several Star Trek movies completely missed the boat on the music aspect which the old series had down pat) Expand
  14. FriaD
    May 22, 2007
    10
    I love this show so much!!!!!! It's suspenseful, creepy, wonderfully written, with enough humor to keep all audiences entertained. Hiro's happy-go-luckiness is such a contrast from the rest of the show. I love all of the sci-fi aspects and references to other sci-fi shows/movies/comics. I especially liked Stan Lee's guest star role. All in all, a wonderful show.
  15. ChristpM.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    This is the most exciting and not at all boring show ever. I've watched up to episode 22 and was exhilarated the whole way. GREAT SHOW!!!!!
  16. JustinB
    May 8, 2007
    10
    The writers of this show always do their homework. Every intricate detail in the show is premeditated to avoid questioning, and if a blank does happen to need filling, expect the answer in the following weeks episode. The show's storyline is similar to the Tarantino popularized version of a story: jumping from one character to the next, at different points in time in the story, and The writers of this show always do their homework. Every intricate detail in the show is premeditated to avoid questioning, and if a blank does happen to need filling, expect the answer in the following weeks episode. The show's storyline is similar to the Tarantino popularized version of a story: jumping from one character to the next, at different points in time in the story, and showing each characters connection with the other directly and indirectly. Expand
  17. Daniel
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    it's a great show
  18. DavidK
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    10/10 whats more to say its amazing
  19. MelissaH
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    How can anyone not like this show? If you don't understand it you need to see it from the beginning. I am looking forward to the next season. Can't wait!
  20. GitaA.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    The show is very nicely. I like this film, and I can't wait for season 2.
  21. AsIf
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    it is sometimes hardto follow but wheb you get the basic idea of the tv show you enjoy it load and are on the edge of your seats. I believe these critics have mostly underrated the show. I believe it is better having several people than just one person, it would make it boring all the time
  22. PartyLikeA.Rockstar
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Phenomenal Show!The plot is sharp with a amazing group of actors.I think it isn't confusing and people who aren't sci-fi fans will still LOVE this show.I'm not particularly a sci-fi fan but still LOVE this show.The reason people don't like is it is because either the rich (which they call confusing) plot or the timing.If you don't like the show because of the Phenomenal Show!The plot is sharp with a amazing group of actors.I think it isn't confusing and people who aren't sci-fi fans will still LOVE this show.I'm not particularly a sci-fi fan but still LOVE this show.The reason people don't like is it is because either the rich (which they call confusing) plot or the timing.If you don't like the show because of the timing, that just means you really like it and can't wait for more.Trust me on this, this show is cool, suspenseful and as rich as chocolate cake. Expand
  23. AlexR.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    The last episode has a brilliant ending!
  24. ZaneS.
    Apr 23, 2008
    6
    The show COULD be better. I'm not sure how, though. Maybe they can start with the acting, and the dialogue. The dialogue is so bad, it's hard to watch, same with the acting. My best friend is obsessed with this show, her boyfriend is also, and I'm still not sure why.
  25. KennyS.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Heroes is a great show, and isent like the other shows, it fully explains how these people got there powers and there are still more to discover. Its a great for all the superhero fans out there like myself, to get away and get some new things to see.
  26. CoryD.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    Interesting ideas and well thought through. Is it perfect? No, but it is better than anything else like it.
  27. ShaneM.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic show, the only one that I actually follow on TV. Love it!
  28. Dennis
    Nov 18, 2009
    2
    In its defense it seems like it could have a pretty cool plot, but the dialogue and acting are so unbearable that I honestly don't know how anyone can get that far into it. Oh, did I mention the acting was mind-numbingly awful?
  29. KevinC
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    Heroes season 1 felt like one long and awesome movie. I don't see what is so pretentious about the show, maybe some people just don't get it and like to call it pretentious. Or maybe some people don't like it because of the sometimes silly two and a half minute long narrator intros?
  30. Ryan
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    The show does a great job of developing it's characters and making sure to mix action with plot. I hope that people who only care about flashy special effects and dislike plot don't get this show canceled.
  31. robranger
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great show, gore unnecessary.
  32. RobY
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Are you kidding me? This show is great..! Unabashed superhero fun! What would you do with your superpowers? I agree...best new show on TV.
  33. ZaxNeon
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Somebody finally figured out that you have to give people answers as much as you string them along with questions. The great part about Heroes is the pacing. Great action and you don't have to wait till season 3 to find something out. I hope it stays around awhile.
  34. EliC
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    Terrific acting but don't think too deeply about the show's logic. This show will unfortunately go nowhere as the writers continue to put themselves into a implausible plot hole. Hint; Hiro's ability to manipulate space/time negates the entire premise of the series.
  35. ErikaDC
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Great ! ! !
  36. markm
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    I've been barren of Television for a while now thanks for Heroes im into the sci fi pictures
  37. MichelleM
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Love the show!
  38. DavidD
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Incredible! It has a very movie like quality to it. I am totally enjoying it very very much. I can't wait to see the next episode every time!
  39. IanA
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    I think the characters are awesome and visually it's one of the most solid shows out there right now. The music is great as well. The only thing that annoys the heck out of me is the narration, especially the guy at the end who is always talking about "The cheerleader is blah blah but the power of EVIL is close at hand" and I think the show is much more complicated than that old OH I think the characters are awesome and visually it's one of the most solid shows out there right now. The music is great as well. The only thing that annoys the heck out of me is the narration, especially the guy at the end who is always talking about "The cheerleader is blah blah but the power of EVIL is close at hand" and I think the show is much more complicated than that old OH No Evil type stuff. Expand
  40. Mike
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Thow is REDIC!!!!
  41. Sammy
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Best new show, period Makes waiting for 24 to occupy my Monday nights much easier
  42. SheriR
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Love it, love it love it!!!
  43. RickM
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, likable show.
  44. JasonM
    Oct 24, 2006
    6
    The show is a bit too violent for it's time slot, and since Monday nights seem like a family night for different religions, watching this show may not be a good choice for families with children. Also, the show shouldn't have a web camera prostitute doing strip teases for her clients in this family hour time slot. The decapitation and blood and gore is pointless. Why edit Friday The show is a bit too violent for it's time slot, and since Monday nights seem like a family night for different religions, watching this show may not be a good choice for families with children. Also, the show shouldn't have a web camera prostitute doing strip teases for her clients in this family hour time slot. The decapitation and blood and gore is pointless. Why edit Friday the 13th movies on TV if Heroes can show what they cannot show? The story is intriguing enough for me to wonder what's next and watch the next episode. So far I've only missed one, because I was busy last night. And I won't watch it next Sunday either, but will probably watch next monday's... NBC is notorious for one thing, they bring out junk in potentially good shows, which is why this show got a low rating, and they seem to make it alot worse as the show progresses. So do us all a favor, and make the gore short lived and make it more intriguing without the prostitution bit and I will change my rating. Expand
  45. RyanW
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I Love it!!
  46. bigheffe
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Best new show on TV!
  47. AngelC
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    New Favorite show
  48. JonO.
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    Overall, a strong first showing. I was enthralled. Great casting, characters, and quality sets and cinematography. Well done. I'm hooked and will watch again. Can't wait to see how the story arc pans out.
  49. LuisDR
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Freakin awsome!! its a bit slow in certain parts, but its like Average joe turns Xmen!! OMG i cant wait till tomorrow!
  50. JasonB
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Very well done and with endless possibilities. Love it!
  51. tobyb
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    left me waitin for next week, love the little asian stocking stuffer.
  52. Uadji
    Sep 26, 2006
    7
    It was a decent start and an interesting premise. I think they may have tried to cram too much into the first show but I'm curious to see where it leads.
  53. KendallT
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I'm an instant fan. Keeps you intrigued throughout and leaves you excited for next week, what more could you ask?
  54. JesseW
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Very promising
  55. BrandonS
    Sep 27, 2006
    4
    Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode is as mediocre as the first, though, I think I'll pass on this one. Expand
  56. [Anonymous]
    Sep 28, 2006
    7
    Sci-Fi Superheroes being chased by some crazy government operative. It's been done before but the first episode was enteraining enough to make me want to watch another one.
  57. AlejandroC
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Great show! I can't wait to watch next week's episode.
  58. brianp
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Very good show. I will set my dvr up for a season pass.
  59. RobC
    Sep 29, 2006
    8
    Excellent tone, atmosphere, and character development which should make for some intriguing storylines, but unfortunately offset by a lame and stale evolutionary premise. That's been done a million times already; we don't need yet another version. But the dark humor and heart will make it rise above the weaknesses.
  60. GabbyR.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Fabulously written, directed, and (for the most part) acted. The beginning of the season 2 storyline should've been re-written, but this show still deserves a strong '10.'
  61. KlemenK.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best show ever!!!
  62. SteveG.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Now this - this - is the best TV show in a very long time. Hiro caught my attention during the first show, which I caught while channel surfing, and I fell in love with the bugger. I had not heard anything at all about the show, but I was hooked from minute one when he teleported to New York. The rest of the cast is as good, the mix is excellent, the writing as good as any on TV, and the Now this - this - is the best TV show in a very long time. Hiro caught my attention during the first show, which I caught while channel surfing, and I fell in love with the bugger. I had not heard anything at all about the show, but I was hooked from minute one when he teleported to New York. The rest of the cast is as good, the mix is excellent, the writing as good as any on TV, and the overall plot - "Save the cheerleader" - how can you not love it? Sylar makes a great, nearly impossibly powerful, bad guy, and Zachary Quinto's portrayal will maybe go down in the annals of TV history. It is a show I will always look upon as one of my favorites. Expand
  63. HugesMix
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Best series I never see
  64. SammyP.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    One of the best series ever created.
  65. RicardoS.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Kevin L. is an idiot. His rating does not make any sense. Anyway this is a fairly interesting show. The dialog is mediocre but the effects make up for it.
  66. GBJeff
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    A but slow sometimes but interesting. I really look forward to this show.
  67. FredBob
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    Love the show, i think its one of the best TV shows of the last couple years. Great acting and well thought out plot line.
  68. johnl
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    sweet
  69. HaydenP
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    It's so good i'm in it
  70. AlyA
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Such a wonderful superhero show. I love it. The season finale left me wondering what else could possibly happen so of course I will be tuning in to the season 2 premiere.
  71. KevinL.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Shows like this are better off on TV BOXSET than television itself. Its countless plotlines and characters give it little room to develop over time and it is easily forgettable if you aren't paying enough attention to watch it weeks apart. Heroes is best on DVD.
  72. EvelynE.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome! you shouldn't take it so seriously.
  73. JasonN
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    Plays on the beginnings of superpowers instead of spending all of the time on crash 'em up special effects and "fighting the bad guys."
  74. HedyF
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    This is the best new show of the season. My older kids enjoy it as much as I do. I won't miss an episode!!
  75. JacobF
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    By far the best new show on television. It makes me smile to come back to these sites and see how people bashed it. It was the first to be picked up for a full season and I have no doubt it will be the first to be picked up for a second season. Congratulations Heroes! Let the awesome stories keep coming.
  76. TylerH
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    I began watching this show because I'm a fan of Noah Gray-Cabey, and I've been following the development of his career. I Love this show, and most of the actors that I recognize from other shows and movies. Adrian Pasdar, Milo Ventimiglia, and Ali Larter, these actors are terrific, but Noah ROCKS! GO MICAH! This is a totally awesome show!
  77. HeatherS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    It is an awesome show! I love it and look forward to watching it every Monday! The characters are great and the story line is pretty good, too. At the end of every episode it leaves you with a cliff hanger like no other! You get into the characters, and you can't do that with most shows!
  78. Jan 30, 2011
    6
    The first season started ok, but everything declined until the show was cancelled. Although it had some good points, after the first 2 seasons it really didn't make any sense to keep on trying to save it. The originality and driving force of the beginning simply was not there.
  79. Aug 22, 2010
    8
    A very styilish and creative sci-fi drama with complex stories and characters. Very disappointed that they just cancelled it without wrapping up the main storylines but in a way it kind of makes it the more memorable. This is one show that will demand to be revisited in the future and I predict that it will.
  80. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    I found heroes a very well done show. Nice character development, and a nice thick plot.
    Season one was definitely their best season. I wish they'd bring it back for another season or at least a special to conclude the series, how they'd cope with life with their secrets being exposed.
    I will miss heroes, hopefully they'd bring it back in the future. R.I.P Heroes.
  81. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Heroes is a wonderfully creative concept. It does have many parallels to 'The 4400' which pre-dates this series but has developed interesting characters and story-lines. Even the 'bad guy', Silar is an understandable character in his own way. For the most part the casting is excellent and makes use of actors strengths.
  82. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This show was simply AWESOME. Nothing in the world can beat the concept and storyline, not even Harry Potter! Each episode had so much. The first season was amazing. Second season was the best. Third and Fourth weren't so good. Too bad that they had to kill it because of the high costs :|
  83. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    To me (and no doubt many others), the first season of Heroes will always stand out as the best. If I were reviewing this show by season, I would give season one a 10. The other three seasons, although I still enjoyed them to some extent, just didn't measure up to the original. Season two was okay, season three was a bit better, and season four was okay, with a somewhat empty conclusion.To me (and no doubt many others), the first season of Heroes will always stand out as the best. If I were reviewing this show by season, I would give season one a 10. The other three seasons, although I still enjoyed them to some extent, just didn't measure up to the original. Season two was okay, season three was a bit better, and season four was okay, with a somewhat empty conclusion. Overall, definitely give the first season a chance. The other three are worth watching in my opinion, but don't expect too much. Besides, if you go into a show expecting little, then you'll be all the more impressed if something does end up exceeding your expectations. Expand
  84. Sep 15, 2011
    2
    My friend had told me that Heroes was a great show and I must watch it. So I started to watch seasons 1-4 the first two were good, but only if you like a show that only gives you questions as answer never giving you the full story. season 4 was the worst ever, from the terrible cast that they had added robert knepper I knew the show was just a waste of time after that. the guy couldnt actMy friend had told me that Heroes was a great show and I must watch it. So I started to watch seasons 1-4 the first two were good, but only if you like a show that only gives you questions as answer never giving you the full story. season 4 was the worst ever, from the terrible cast that they had added robert knepper I knew the show was just a waste of time after that. the guy couldnt act drunk after finishing a bottle of Whiskey. then they turn Claire into a lesbian which is cool but come on she could have any chick, but goes for the bridge troll which is her roommate. i spent 80 hours of my life watching this filth would normally want them back but claire is hot so..... Expand
  85. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    First two episodes were boring as hell. Too slow and uneventful. But once you watch the third, you'll want to see what happens. It's kinda gripping and addictive because it's not fast paced but isn't mundanely slow. Every episode, something happens. It's good entertainment and keeps you hooked. Worth watching to pass the time and it has a wide range of acharacters. You can follow the storyFirst two episodes were boring as hell. Too slow and uneventful. But once you watch the third, you'll want to see what happens. It's kinda gripping and addictive because it's not fast paced but isn't mundanely slow. Every episode, something happens. It's good entertainment and keeps you hooked. Worth watching to pass the time and it has a wide range of acharacters. You can follow the story of ones you like but for all of them to link up, it takes a fair while. What makes Series 1 the best is how there's continuity. In Seasons 2 and 3, for example, the story lacks focus and just jumps around whereas in season 1 every cut from one character to another continues where it left off. It may seem slow but at least it's more engaging. Expand
  86. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    I stopped watching this show when this season ended. Wanted to end on a high note, when the show was creative, very entertaining, thrilling and featured great characters.
  87. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    The first season was original, had great engaging characters and had an excellent plot. The ensuing seasons weren't able to capture my attention on the same level. The main Heroes are all very well developed and I found myself caring for everyone of them, including Sylar. It was certainly better than most of the superhero movies coming out every other year. I was unable to stop until IThe first season was original, had great engaging characters and had an excellent plot. The ensuing seasons weren't able to capture my attention on the same level. The main Heroes are all very well developed and I found myself caring for everyone of them, including Sylar. It was certainly better than most of the superhero movies coming out every other year. I was unable to stop until I reached the end. Expand
  88. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    The first season was amazing. I watch like 10 episodies at once. I start thinking about all mysteries and cant stop watch at next episody.

    But, at season 2 i get bored, i stop watch becouse every think change. With the writer's strike the series come down, was never the same from the first season.
  89. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    Heroes has incredibly strong storylines, flawless character development, and wonderful music to accompany both characters and emotion packed scenes. Within it's first season it successfully explored the benefits and pitfalls having incredible (albeit somewhat deadly) gifts would have on the average citizen by exploring the aftermath of these gifts on a wide variety of characters (whichHeroes has incredibly strong storylines, flawless character development, and wonderful music to accompany both characters and emotion packed scenes. Within it's first season it successfully explored the benefits and pitfalls having incredible (albeit somewhat deadly) gifts would have on the average citizen by exploring the aftermath of these gifts on a wide variety of characters (which includes a New York politician, a nurse, a cheerleader from Texas, a comic book lover from Japan, and a working single mom) It's villain, Sylar, was compelling and creepy, and it's other antagonists, which included the charming Mr. Linderman and The Company, tied in the inevitable villain aspect of the whole hero-villain dynamic of the show. After it's first season, the show's quality diminished as some of the best parts of the show, (the individualized and initially isolated developments in the character's storylines especially) began to be overshadowed by increasingly overdramatic dialogue, an over exploitation of the tragic element of living with superpowers, and the self righteousness and sometimes plain stupidity and selfishness of some of the main characters that can easily irk a viewer. Even it's most frequent and compelling villain, Sylar, shifts from mysterious, deadly, and just plain scary to repetitive, whiny, and somewhat annoying as he somehow manages to escape death time and time again throughout all four seasons against all forms of logic to the contrary. All in all though, the acting is phenomenal, and it really is a wonderful show to get engrossed in despite it's flaws. Expand
  90. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    La primera serie que tuve la oportunidad de ver , esta primera temporada fue un aliciente y la mejor de todas, la introduccion de personajes como Peter, Nathan, Niki, Hiro y otro heroes mas y no olvidar al antagonista Sylar fueron simplemente geniales, esta serie era muy adictiva y no podia esperar para ver otro capitulo.
  91. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    They should have never stopped producing episodes, this show was great The story gets a bit tangled every now and then and i think that's what kept me watching it always wanting to see what happens next.I think the actors play their role properly Yeah this mutant stuff might seem ripped off from x-men but...i think the story goes in a different way compared to the x-men so...it's worthThey should have never stopped producing episodes, this show was great The story gets a bit tangled every now and then and i think that's what kept me watching it always wanting to see what happens next.I think the actors play their role properly Yeah this mutant stuff might seem ripped off from x-men but...i think the story goes in a different way compared to the x-men so...it's worth watching, gladly recommending it Beware tho, prepare for a heartbreak since the ending was very sudden The rumours say they will continue the show with different actors ,for who's interested Expand
  92. Jul 11, 2015
    10
    One of the best SEASONS I've seen on television. Yeah, the show gets really bad further on, like, REALLY bad (season 2, I'm looking at you), but season one is just awesome. Like, really really good.
  93. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    This was a very good series with very diverse characters, the story line did go a bit off track but I was overall entertained until the end. However I was extremely annoyed by the ending, not going to ruin anything for those who haven't watched it but putting up To Be Continued wtf ! I know the show got cancelled but atleast draw a conclusion or do a two-hour special concluding the series,This was a very good series with very diverse characters, the story line did go a bit off track but I was overall entertained until the end. However I was extremely annoyed by the ending, not going to ruin anything for those who haven't watched it but putting up To Be Continued wtf ! I know the show got cancelled but atleast draw a conclusion or do a two-hour special concluding the series, ending on a to be continued has and still pisses me off Expand
  94. Dec 13, 2014
    4
    I hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House withoutI hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House without the hospital. Expand
  95. Apr 17, 2015
    9
    Very captivating and a truly unique take on the superhero genre! I found myself hooked watching most of the season from 11 to 5 am. Its really cool how it somewhat differs from other known brands like Marvel and Dc with their own set of heroes yet this portrays a new perspective on powers already known and unkown with engaging characters that many will find interesting in their own way.Very captivating and a truly unique take on the superhero genre! I found myself hooked watching most of the season from 11 to 5 am. Its really cool how it somewhat differs from other known brands like Marvel and Dc with their own set of heroes yet this portrays a new perspective on powers already known and unkown with engaging characters that many will find interesting in their own way. Although realism wasn't seen much in the series with no strong scientific statements or footage on how the powers really work on the body or how they're even possible to exist but either way it has an interesting story and cast that will make you want more... Although i wouldn't say much about the rest of the seasons but they're worth a watch. Expand
  96. Jun 27, 2015
    10
    Heroes Season 1 was one of the greatest TV experiences ever. It was non stop thrills and is extremely re watchable. The acting is top notch, the effects are great, and the story telling is so great.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 30
    The show is too diffuse, hokey and self-consciously portentous to suggest suspenseful possibility.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    The writing is uneven... but the idea is audacious enough to keep you following the loose threads.
  3. "Heroes" is one of TV's most imaginative creations and might, with luck, become this year's "Lost."