• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 369

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    The first series of Heroes was the best television I have ever seen. So inventive and so clever it really did eclipse anything I had ever seen before. I think its that idea of aspiring to achieve your goals whether you can time travel or are just a normal human being that really shines through. Shame that the writers strike killed the rest though.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    An absolutely captivating genre-beding show. It is nearly flawless.
  3. MartinG
    Oct 29, 2006
    0
    Guys I know my vote will be mostly ignored cause of the low rating
  4. chiefn
    Oct 11, 2006
    3
    If you enjoy mainstream drivel like LOST, this is your cup of tea. If you want a thinking-man's show like The Wire, you'll get very, very bored by this very quickly. Better casting is needed.
  5. MattM
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    This show is lazily writen. Every superpower and detiny reference has been done countless times in the sci-fi genre. Character develop is lacking with most being completely one dimensional. Not to mention time travel is a KEY part of this show. How any intelligent person can enjoy a show with time travel the way this show uses it is mind boggling. I prefer shows with non-gaping plot This show is lazily writen. Every superpower and detiny reference has been done countless times in the sci-fi genre. Character develop is lacking with most being completely one dimensional. Not to mention time travel is a KEY part of this show. How any intelligent person can enjoy a show with time travel the way this show uses it is mind boggling. I prefer shows with non-gaping plot holes. Also, the characters for all of their powers and experience discover things way later than the viewer does. Just another one of the many problems with this show. If you want a superhero or sci-fi show that is actually good try Smallville or Battlestar Galactica. Aside from Lost (the best show on TV) those two are actually worth watching. Expand
  6. JackR
    Feb 29, 2008
    1
    The effects in the show make it fun to watch some times. The problem is that it takes itself way too seriously and because the dialog is so poor, it comes off as one of the cheesiest shows on TV. If it had more of a sense of humor I could probably watch it without gagging every 5 minutes.
  7. markhr
    Jul 6, 2008
    1
    Blows huge putrid chunks. Bad acting bad script writing, bad SFX, bad cinematography, bad direction, bad, bad, bad. Heroes is so bad it even makes the original Star Trek TV show, which I frikkin hate, look good.
  8. OrenI.
    Aug 3, 2008
    5
    A lot of people are obsessed with this show. Way too overrated IMO. The plot line is good and all, but you never see any action. Even though these people have superpowers, they rarely use it. It is like a soup opera about "heroes". The only interesting plot line to follow is Peter's and Hiro's. Anything else is just...boring.
  9. CadineL
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    I understand that in order to build a climax, the first 2 or 3 episodes should be viewed and interpreted as an introduction to the serie itself and what its about - not so much a comic book serie! Nevertheless, it shows loose threads but at the same time, an important lack of suspense right now. We can easily foresee what is about to happen and since it is so previsible and missing I understand that in order to build a climax, the first 2 or 3 episodes should be viewed and interpreted as an introduction to the serie itself and what its about - not so much a comic book serie! Nevertheless, it shows loose threads but at the same time, an important lack of suspense right now. We can easily foresee what is about to happen and since it is so previsible and missing action, it makes it kind of dull to watch. Frankly (and mostly unfortunately), I don't think we will be presented with a second season unless the first serie find a way to evolve with more suspense and... action. Expand
  10. Natalie0
    Oct 8, 2007
    5
    This show tries too hard. The acting is bad, and the characters lack depth.
  11. JT
    Dec 1, 2009
    3
    I think I gave this show an honest shot (watching about half of the first season). And true, it does have some great potential, but the episodes are too long and drawn out and the acting is only so-so. This show has found a niche with its fans, sadly, it just doesn't work for me.
  12. BenM
    May 22, 2007
    3
    I cannot believe I actually sat through an entire season of this show. The dialogue and acting was so painfully bad that I nearly walked out on the finale only to realize that I already wasted 20 hours of my life and then deciding that there was no harm in losing another 40 minutes. Poor character development, special effects lifted from the annals of a C movie showing on the Sci-fi I cannot believe I actually sat through an entire season of this show. The dialogue and acting was so painfully bad that I nearly walked out on the finale only to realize that I already wasted 20 hours of my life and then deciding that there was no harm in losing another 40 minutes. Poor character development, special effects lifted from the annals of a C movie showing on the Sci-fi channel at 2:00 AM, and many unsatisfying plot aspects that were introduced and then never addressed by the writers. The only redeeming qualities I can come up for the series are Sylar's make-up (hilarious, he looks like dipped his face in powdered sugar), the green screen background scenery (a weather person's back drop is more convincing), and the sword fight between Hiro and his father that looks like a scene lifted from my neighbor's basement when I was 7 years old. The only things missing were plastic baseball bats in place of their Samuri swords. I honestly do not know what to say to anyone who likes this show when they are sober... Expand
  13. ColdH
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Incredible show... Nothing else to say...
  14. SorryNospam
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Excellent Character Development. Good development of overall universal mythology.
  15. LKnight
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    The plot and cliff hangers keep the viewer's attention on the show, rather than making it wander off to what one did at the office that day. When I watch this show, I hardly know that an hour has gone by! That is a quality I rarely ever find in a television show.
  16. Briankk
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    Great show! Always leaves you longing for the next new twist. Keeps you guessing who is good and bad or both. Great writing! Story and presentaion!
  17. MikeT
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    While the premise is not original. The cast pulls out the stops to execute a beautiful show.
  18. EdS
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    Mediocre writing and acting are overcome by good special effects and a very tightly plotted premise. Extra points awarded for the "oh my god, I remember wishing I had super powers when I was a kid" emotions it stirs up.
  19. Kenji
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    Heroes is very captivating and will most likely become my favorite show this season. While some people may find the show moving at a slow pace, I think the creator and writers are justified. They are obviously placing importance on making the characters more dynamic than the rather static characters in many TV shows today. If the viewers are not allowed to develop an interest in the Heroes is very captivating and will most likely become my favorite show this season. While some people may find the show moving at a slow pace, I think the creator and writers are justified. They are obviously placing importance on making the characters more dynamic than the rather static characters in many TV shows today. If the viewers are not allowed to develop an interest in the characters, then why would they care what happens to them? Expand
  20. Lucas
    Oct 3, 2006
    5
    Heroes is the "Johnny come lately" of the genre; we've seen this before and considering the time slot, this show is way too violent!
  21. L4
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Great show. I'm excited about the actors they casted for this show. THIS IS A GREAT SHOW!!
  22. AdamL
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    I have to agree with the Johnny Come Lately statement. This show is uninteresting, boring and has been done before. Yawn.
  23. ac1983fan
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome series! It's one of the best series on TV.
  24. jamest
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    I have been waiting for a show like hereos to hit television for a long time, it's up there with lost!
  25. PaulR
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    What a remarkable show. The only reason I didn't give it 10 was the fact that in the rare event a quesion is answered, it just raises another 3 questions which we have to wait for an answer for... but what a show!
  26. KuyaP
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    When I first heard of the title Heroes I had thought it to be similar to knock and bash bad new super enemies one after another kind of show. The show's twists and turns that leads to a larger plot obviously provides a more compelling reason to watch it in that it is a show in which the creators definitely had put a lot of thought into making this show. I like the interracial aspect When I first heard of the title Heroes I had thought it to be similar to knock and bash bad new super enemies one after another kind of show. The show's twists and turns that leads to a larger plot obviously provides a more compelling reason to watch it in that it is a show in which the creators definitely had put a lot of thought into making this show. I like the interracial aspect of the show also which is a plus. Also, the acting is not bad at all. The story line is addicting, and the whole show is solid, concise, and non-repetitive. There's a reason to watch every episode, and every episode makes a whole; missing one throws everything out of perspective. I've stayed away from super heroe shows ever since I was 16 because they become very repetitive and boring. This show is a super hero kind of show that appeals to kids and more mature young adults as well because it mixes a solid story line as well as the appeal of "super heroes." Expand
  27. PinoyA
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    This show is amazing. This is not the kind of repetitive show where superheroes constantly meets a new super enemy for every episode. Instead every episode leads to suspense after another that answers questions after another. This show is a thriller, mix comedy, mix drama, mix everything else. Every episode depends on each other that eventually leads to a surprising ending. The pluses in This show is amazing. This is not the kind of repetitive show where superheroes constantly meets a new super enemy for every episode. Instead every episode leads to suspense after another that answers questions after another. This show is a thriller, mix comedy, mix drama, mix everything else. Every episode depends on each other that eventually leads to a surprising ending. The pluses in the show are: not bad acting, interracial actors and actresses, unique powers (someone had compared the powers to X-Men which is not true at all; the powers each character has has a purpose into this complex, solid, well-thought story line). The graphics are simple but flawless. I've stopped watching superhero shows since I was a teen, but watching this show is different. It's not repetitive like the other superhero shows. Expand
  28. AL.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely thrilling to watch and excellent!
  29. MichaelS
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    When are they going to name a character 'Wolverine'? Its the only thing seperating this series from X-Men. I don't know if there was a series before X-Men that perhaps marvel ripped off, you'd have to assume there was. Regardless, the concept makes for a good story. The imagination of the viewer and what "could be" contributes more than anything the writers possibly When are they going to name a character 'Wolverine'? Its the only thing seperating this series from X-Men. I don't know if there was a series before X-Men that perhaps marvel ripped off, you'd have to assume there was. Regardless, the concept makes for a good story. The imagination of the viewer and what "could be" contributes more than anything the writers possibly could; although its the writers' efforts that give your imagination room to move with this series. Watch the episodes all at once rather than waiting week by week though because the series really drags on at times. Expand
  30. Kj
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Great show. Good writing. I agree with the reviewer that said it's like a movie.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 30
    The show is too diffuse, hokey and self-consciously portentous to suggest suspenseful possibility.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    The writing is uneven... but the idea is audacious enough to keep you following the loose threads.
  3. "Heroes" is one of TV's most imaginative creations and might, with luck, become this year's "Lost."