• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2013
  • Season #: 1
High School USA! Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created by Dino Stamatopoulos, the animation show resembles the Archie comics but with a modern themes and darker humor. The show is part of Fox's late-night Animation Domination High-Def programming.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Ski
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    Most viewers will recognize the South Park-like humor, critiquing the problem by critiquing the mainstream response to it. But unlike South Park, which usually offers something like “hope”(however sarcastically rendered), High School USA! is mostly just bleak.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Parts of it are funny, but it feels more like an adult's creation.
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Occasionally, it reaches its potential but, all too often, its delivery falls short of our expectations.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 18, 2013
    40
    All told, the gags are as indistinguishable from a dozen other cable or Web shows as the generic look is.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 19, 2013
    40
    A broad and dull spoof of the Archie gang, slides down the wall quickly.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Any way you look at it, it doesn’t quite scan--which is the point, probably. The show’s not meant to be dissected; it’s meant to be watched as the makers intended: more than half-blazed.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    Honestly, This show doesn't make me laugh all the time, But when it does, It sure is funny. A name like "Blackstein" is pretty racist, but I find it hilarious the way these characters fit together. Characters like Amber and Cassandra kind of remind me of cliche valley girls, which isn't a good thing. And Brad is one of those typical jocks that are buff and mean. But somehow, these characters work in a way that is funny. The most likeable character is obviously Marsh. He is sweet and kind. Blackstein comes second. Brad third. Amber and Cassandra tied in fourth place. The plots of the show were amusing but not very interesting. One episode in particular, was one of the most predictable episodes in a TV show I've ever seen. The show itself is somewhat amusing. Though it could be a little less vulgar. Vulgarity isn't always the best solution to making a funny show. Too bad it Fox killed it. I was beginning to like it a lot. Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    6
    Having seen 2 episodes, It's really not that bad. It's just a really perverted animated show that I am honestly surprised to see on Fox. If you like shows like Family Guy then I'd recommend giving a chance. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    5
    I know it's supposed to be a take on how stupid school can be, but it doesn't have cleverness that other shows like South Park and Daria have. Not really worth watching outside of a giggle or two. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    4
    Stupid and sometimes insulting (just not in the way the writers intended). The idea of creating a vulgar comedy centered around events that are currently happening is high schools is a good one, but it's clear that the writers lack any real understanding of the topics or how teens deal with them. It's clear from both the animation and characters that this is an attempt at making a vulgar "Archie" rip-off/parody. The worst offense of this show is just how not funny it is. Rather than making jokes it focuses on trying to shock and offend. The problem with this is that it's genuinely not offensive, it's just stupid. The first episode "Bullies" is a clear example of this. Rather than actually taking a deep look at the topic while simultaneously making jokes about it like a show like "South Park" would, this show tells us that bullies are to be shown pity because they are not in control of their own actions and that we're bad people because we view what they are doing is wrong. It's stupid, unfunny, and shows a clear lack of understanding of the topic. Make no mistake "High School USA!" is a poor attempt at an animated comedy show, and really isn't worth anyone's time. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    Basically, this is a badly animated and badly written spoof of Archie comics. It has parodies of the main character, like a closet gay Archie, slutty and "awkwaaaaard" Betty and Veronica, and a bully Moose. To make it (ironically?) P.C., "Veronica" is Asian, and there is a Afro-American nerd thrown in the mix. Yes, this is Highschool USA...

    Unlike the very tame and lame Archie, this show handles many subject that are very 2013, such as bullying and homosexuality. However, this is done very crass and poorly, and it just reminds you of how GOOD a show like South Park actually is.

    Maybe the writing will improve, but I'm afraid the atrocious animation will be kept the same. It's probably done to be ironic or something like that, but it's just horribly done. Cheap is the word that springs to mind. Again, check South Park on how GOOD simple animation can be.
    Collapse
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Utterly terrible story-line, they tried using dark humor but they just came off as being insulting rather than witty. The conflicts in the show are mediocre and the resolutions are not much better. save yourself some time and watch anything else. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    The humor isn't dark...It's dumb.

    I expected more...An Asian Veronica and African American nerd makes me bored and sad....It's just lame.

    Shark jumped on first episode. I really don't get the point of view...It seems like boring clueless people trying to be edgy. What happened to Mr. Stamapopolous?
    Expand