• Network: SKY , The 101
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 1, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 11, 2012
    67
    Count on Hit & Miss to find its targets.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Stack
    Jul 6, 2012
    83
    On paper this sounds somewhat ludicrous, but the series is surprising moving. [13 Jul 2012, p.68]
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Every performance here is good--the young actors are remarkable--and though the script sometimes goes just where you would expect it to, the characters seem authentically unpredictable.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Hit & Miss, once you get past the successive bombshells of its opening minutes, is a painful yet endearing drama about trying to build a family in a landscape blighted by loneliness and rejection.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    A lot of viewers may say, "I can't watch this." It will reward those who do.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 6, 2012
    60
    It remains to be seen whether the series will be capable of using the unquestionable talent of Ms. Sevigny and the rest of the cast to build a show that's compelling enough to convince viewers its worth tuning in on a weekly basis.
  7. Reviewed by: Gareth James
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    What makes Hit & Miss one of the strongest UK dramas to hit US TV so far this year is its reframing of such high-concept premises within unsensational contexts.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jul 12, 2012
    75
    It's an incredibly poignant look at Mia and her new family, and Sevigny is outstanding.
  9. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Though I understand how effective the hit-man aspect of the story must have seemed on paper, both as a thematic device and a driver of plot, Mia's story was interesting enough with out the being saddled with such an ultra-violent profession.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 9, 2012
    75
    Hit & Miss doesn't take long to convince us that its characters and plot are not only possible, but credible and, dare I say, touching.
  11. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 12, 2012
    50
    Hit & Miss has so many ups and downs that it cannot dodge the critical judgment any hack might deliver by quoting its title.
  12. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 10, 2012
    70
    The first two hours of Hit and Miss come across as a finely observed, well-acted independent film, and I wasn't really sure whether there was a lot more story left to tell as Episode 2 came to a close, but I'm willing to let Mia prove me wrong.
  13. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Hit & Miss is so slow and earnest and teachy--several scenes involve Mia's young son exploring his own sexual identity by donning a dress and headband--that much of the show seems to be performed on tiptoe, and a giggle seems like the appropriate response.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Hit & Miss, the fun is just beginning, and I can't wait to see where this twisted but strangely affecting story goes next.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 6, 2012
    80
    What has the potential to be absurd--a title pun in search of a series--plays, albeit slowly, as taut and absorbing.
  16. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    This plot sounds laughably bizarre, but Hit & Miss has a strikingly strong sense of pace and character.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Wow! Saw a poster for the show and thought I'd give it a go. First episode I thought "interesting I'll watch the next", then I was hooked! Brilliant cast and writing. A very different concept to the usual thriller/dramas with lots of angles to it. I hope Sky film more, loved it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    One more british series that (no surprise) goes to heart of controversial transsexual Chloe and the relations of 2 adolescents and 2 younger kids who recently lost their mother. 10+ !!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    For all its flaws and occasionally botched execution, Hit & Miss remains an extremely compelling preoccupation. From its sumptuous cinematography to Sevigny's awkwardness and destructive impulses, few would begrudge Abbot a second series, if only to right the irksome wrongs of the first. Full Review »