Home Improvement : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 1991
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    The show is well-conceived, well-written and very funny. [16 Sep 1991]
  2. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Greg Dawson
    Jun 21, 2013
    100
    Home Improvement isn't groundbreaking TV or even the most original new show of the year (that would be Eerie, Indiana), but it's the most perfectly realized: an idea whose time has come - the ripe-for-ribbing men's movement - combined with sharp writing and once-in-a-blue-moon cast chemistry. [17 Sep 1991]
  3. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Jun 21, 2013
    83
    There are more than a few good laughs in tonight's episode, and next week's is even better. [17 Sep 1991]
  4. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jun 21, 2013
    80
    Nourished by clever writing, the comic delivery of Allen and the earthy freshness of Richardson, "Home Improvement" is funny enough in spots to make you laugh out loud.
  5. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Eric Mink
    Jun 21, 2013
    80
    A very funny show. [8 Sep 1991]
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 25, 2013
    75
    Allen is one of the fall's freshest finds. But all the best punch lines in the hilarious pilot came right out of his "Men Are Pigs" stand-up routine. With the writers out on their own, the humor seems to be thinning out.
  7. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Monica Collins
    Jun 21, 2013
    75
    There are several hearty laughs in "Home Improvement" - the best you can ask of any TV comedy. [12 Sep 1991]
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 9, 2013
    75
    In his sitcom debut, Tim Allen is a natural — not just funny, but an interesting TV presence: charming but a little edgy, a wise guy, but a wise guy with a lot on the ball.
  9. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 21, 2013
    63
    A one-joke domestic sitcom redeemed by the joke's effectiveness. [17 Sep 1991]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    7
    Acquire The Essential Information Regarding The Best Fence Provider

    Hi my name is Chris. I am a working person; I recently bought a new row
    Acquire The Essential Information Regarding The Best Fence Provider

    Hi my name is Chris. I am a working person; I recently bought a new row house for my family. I observed all the houses in my block didn’t have any fence. So to draw the extent of my boundary I decided to install a fence around. As I’m always away and traveling on work I’m concerned of my house for safety from robbery. That is why i felt it is necessary for me to install a fence which is modern and attractive in which i feel safe and secure when I’m away from home. As I’m a working guy i don't have that much time to go around and shop for fence plus i don't have much idea about fence jobs at all. I took a look and browsed about but didn’t found the best and under my budget. Buying and installing of Fences are extremely costly these days and i was considering spending heavily for the fence that’s when i heard this about clotures frontenac inc from a friend of mine. After I got their name i.e. clotures frontenac inc I went and searched and browsed about them on the internet. I came to find all the necessary information on them on the net and I contacted them and placed my order. I am happy that I gave my fence job to clotures frontenac inc. Their fence is made of good quality material with nice and trendy designs. Their type of fence also comes in a variety of designs giving you options to choose from. Their fence is easily installable and they also give you an option to do the fencing job on your own and give a 30% discount on the bill if you opt so. I think many of the fencing companies would not be providing such an option. I would say from my experience that clotures frontenac inc is good and reliable company giving a good service in the fencing jobs they do and I would recommend anyone to go with them if they have a fencing job to do.
    Full Review »