• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 573 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 573

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Breaking bad and this show are way above anything else currently on television. Amazing everything. Do yourself a favor and check out the show. The critics are dead on.
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Possibly the best show I've seen in my life. There is constant suspense, you never know what will happen next, and, unlike a lot of shows, it tries to maintain a certain level of believability.
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The best show on Tv is back and is better than ever, New tist and turns that you would have never expected. Homeland Season 2 is definitely going to win Oscars at the next year's emmy.
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    5
    Claiming that this is top tier TV is just wrong. The acting is very good, particularly Danes, Patinkin and Lewis, but this season is a classic example of the "how do we flog this for another hit" when the first one so obviously wrote itself into a corner. I would give Breaking Bad, The Wire, Deadwood all 10s, but everyone seems to be putting this in the same sphere, which is farcical. The plot is just stupid and patronising (why would Abu Nazir be an ally to Hezbollah?!!). Even under extreme pressure, we have to believe that a US soldier would convert to islam because he witnessed an event every soldier knows his government is complicit in - having then returned and had an epiphany about his family, he decides to remain allied to the same set of arguably worse innocent civilian killers. I don't mind 24, silly stuff like that, but this presents itself as serious political drama. It's getting boring as well.... Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has become completely unrealistic and absurd. You can't be a CIA agent and have bi-polar disorder, but if you do have it evidently you can go to the Middle East on the CIA's behalf to get intelligence for them from one of your former contacts. Revealing Carrie's disorder to her bosses killed the show after just one season. Also, what about the classified documents she had in her personal possession? She should be in prison for season 2. What a waste this show turned out to be. I watched the 1st season right after hearing about the Emmy wins. I thought if it can beat Breaking Bad, Mad Men, AND Boardwalk Empire it must be good, but I thought wrong. It WAS a very good show (not close to the 3 I just mentioned) but they turned it into the same unrealistic story 24 was. The writers & creators just play the audience for idiots while they count their money. How anyone could give this show a positive score is beyond me. I would give this show a negative score if I could. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time even getting started with it. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Homeland Season 2 is awful.
    Even if you can get over the huge plot holes and awfullness (I can't) (The CIA mole, is a double agent, for another organization, to assassinate a congressman, but then not, why?, A nutjob Schizo is not only on the case for the CIA, but solves EVERYTHING and everyone else is worthless). And Brody, good one second, bad another, all while ditching his family? Why? The show is officially awful.
    Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    0
    This season was complete crap, Brody should have died in season 1 and the characters should have moved now the show has become a forced and horrible love story instead of a spy story
  8. Oct 10, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the acting is as sublime as season one, I am having a hard time suspending disbelief with some of the action in season 2 through episode 2. This is not to say I hate the show but I wonder why nobody else seems to be bothered by these crazy plot holes.

    Just a few of my questions below.

    I know they try to explain away Brody's access to classified information because he may be a VP candidate, but come on. A first term representative is watching live feeds of the US attempting to kill the most wanted man in the world?

    Even getting past that we are supposed to believe that all of our best targets are kept on a one page list that is kept in a 4 button combination safe. Also, said list is accessible if you can be alone in an office for two minutes. If I is that easy why not just pay off a janitor rather than risk a deep cover terrorist that is a congressman? Even if we get past that, we are to believe that Brody could really save Nazir with a text from the situation room. One would think that international texts during top secret missions might be blocked or at least tracked. Domestic texts for that matter too.

    Finally, I am dreading how they get around Brody being exposed by the video Sal finds at the end of episode 2. If the beginning of this season is any indication it will be beyond belief!
    Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2012
    2
    This is a shockingly overrated series. The plot is utterly, ridiculously beyond any shadow of credibility, with the shifts in character loyalties and incessant hints at hidden agendas a never-ending bore, and an absolutely hilarious, shockingly shallow take on the secret-service and analyst work (and I am saying this as one who, apparently, happens to know a lot more about it than the screenwriters). I should conclude that not in this world, nor in any alternative universe, would a whack-job such as the Claire Danes character pass the tests and clearances to land a secret service field job (this has nothing to do with the actress being horribly miscast, rather with how the part is written), and that on any sane planet, this show would be dropped by the audiences after Season 1 at the latest. I was hoping it would improve with time, or that the critics were right this time, but had to drop it after four episodes as a complete waste of time. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Best show on tv right now in my opinion. Each episode just takes things way off my expectation (In a good way) , absolutely brilliant! Can't wait to see where they go with this. If you haven't watched this show yet please do! You will not be disappointed.
  11. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Homeland is simply the best on television at the current moment. The excellent written plot that comes with a twist, makes you simply addicted and forces you to watch 1 episode after the other. Great cast, and once again the best there is. People who give negative reviews, i struggle to understand what the hell popped up in your brain.
  12. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    Comparing this to Breaking bad is a travesty. The acting is just too over the top from Claire Danes. The story is terribly unbelievable. I'm still not really sure what her role in the CIA is was, because the characters all over the map. Besides the fact that there is no way she would be even IN the CIA. There is way too much incorrect information in the show for me. I LOVE THE PREMISE. But the execution is awful, with far too many holes. I'd like to think the US government isn't this stupid, otherwise we'd all be dead by now. Expand
  13. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    The people writing negative reviews are either upset Breaking Bad fans or they have no idea what real television is. Homeland is one of the best written and acted TV shows in history. Every character, every episode, it is as near flawless as you could ever expect. Damien is a master actor and so is Claire. I saw someone writing a review giving this a ZERO and trying to say that Damien should have died in season 1. This is absolutely insane because the show revolves around him. That is like saying Bryan Cranston should have been killed off of Breaking Bad. It is nonsense. Do not believe the haters, this show is amazing. Expand
  14. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This show is really above and beyond everything on television, breaking bad and homeland probably have the best writing and acting out of any show ever created.
  15. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    The first season of Homeland began with an interesting premise, and ended on a fantastic note. The second season builds upon the successful elements of the first season, chiefly the suspense and a strong cast of characters, both leading and supporting. It was truly a work of art. Claire Danes affirms my belief that she is one of Hollywood's most dedicated actresses. She portrays an individual suffering from bipolar disorder with laudable accuracy and pure realism. With a riveting start, I am positive that the season will continue to feed my fascination and appetite for excitement. I do not expect for there to be a dull moment. Collapse
  16. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Still a good show but its all getting a bit silly ...and Claire Danes character is waay to over - emotional and weepy...especially for a so-called CIA agent. The romance that is on and off again between the 2 main protagonists makes little sense also.
  17. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This show gets better and better with each episode. I was a bit skeptical at first on how far they could take a story line about an American Hero turned traitor, but they continue to amaze me on the direction they are taking. Great acting, great story, great suspense, great characters.
  18. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Every episode is like watching a four-star Hollywood thriller, it's that good. The plot twists are insane. Brilliant acting all around- Claire Danes will be a legend for her performance.
  19. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a show that knows what it's doing. The writing is crisp, as is the directing. The acting is amazing, especially Danes, Lewis, and Patinkin.
  20. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    People had been telling me since last season I had to watch Homeland. Sick one weekend a couple of months back I added Showtime and watched all of the first season back to back in one sitting. Couldn't stop watching. Season 2 hasn't disappointed and I can't wait to see each episode every Sunday night. This has made it into my top five and is probably my number 1 drama now. Great acting, writing and stories. It's like 24 with a bi-polar, female Jack Bauer. Expand
  21. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    At first I was pretty skeptical to watch this series, I thought it was still a series that dealt with terrorism again, the American house superhero who will save the world against the evil Arabs, but I was surprised by the quality of the acting in particular Claire Daines & Damian Lewis and especially the originality of the script
  22. Mar 17, 2013
    4
    Season One was great, but Season Two was just plain awful. Almost all good shows jump the shark at some point, but this one went bad in a hurry. So sorry to see this show get all sorts of "24" stupid (circa Seasons 5 thru 8) so quickly.
  23. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    I like this first episode of the new season a lot. We know the characters well now so the pacing has picked up. Not only that but the premise looks like it will be just as intense and interesting as last season's (if not more so). Co-developer, writer Howard Gordon (24) knows what he's doing.
  24. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Just like last season, Homeland delivers those tense moments that have you on edge. I thought this season's plot was again well done and the actors did a great job. The finale left me with anticipation for next season with a major question unanswered.
  25. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    I was a bit skeptical about Season 2 of Homeland. Frankly, my skepticism grew even bigger after watching central episodes (5,6,7), but the series regained momentum in the last four shows. Its biggest positive aspects are the bond that the viewer creates with every character, the constant suspense as to what their true intentions are, the unexpected plot turnrounds, and overall spy-movie atmosphere. Its biggest flaw? Sometimes it seems worthless to watch the whole episode, as the real plot-twisters come always at the end of each episode. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    This weeks show used a silly daughter to just fill time. Clair Danes always seems to be running around for no real purpose. Is she an agent or not. The entire hit and run made no sense except, that the poor girl got to throw Brody's daughter out of her house!!!
  27. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Homeland is one of the best shows on television right now. This and Breaking Bad are the only really great dramas on TV. The difference between the two is that Breaking Bad moves at a slow pace, wheres Homeland moves and develops are 100 miles an hour. Things are constantly being revealed, and just when you think the writers have cornered themselves, they easily write there way out of it. Claire Danes is the best actress on television and Damian Lewis is a fantastic actor. The entire cast can really act (besides the guy who plays Brody's friend Mike) and the writing is terrific. A great all around show. Expand
  28. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Aside from maybe one so-so episode this season of Homeland is just as good as the first. I didn't think it was possible but Claire Danes & Damien Lewis topped what they both showed in the debut season. Season two allowed more of the main cast to showcase what they could do, most notably Morgan Saylor & Morena Baccarin who both have moments of brilliance this year. This is the kind of show that comes around maybe twice a decade at best. Believe what you've heard when it comes to the massive praise this show has attained. Best show of 2012! Expand
  29. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Homeland is still one of the best series on television. In this season, the acting was even better, the Carrie-Brody moments were downright beautiful. There were a lot of twists and turns and they were handled properly. I must say that the writers of the show are so daring and great at what they do. Of course there were a few plotholes in this season especially in the finale but I refrain myself from calling them plotholes as they'd be explained in next season properly (hopefully!). So much happened in this season and I only hope for more in the next season and I really want it to be even better than the first season. Expand
  30. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The wait for Season 2 was at an all time high. Waiting for September 30th, 2012 was nearly impossible. Finally Season 2 started and we were excited..... that was until they realized that Carrie was telling the truth. Discovering the hidden tape that showed Brody's confession to bombing the Vice President and other political figures just minutes after Tom Walker killed congresswoman in Season 1. Obviously that suicide bombing failed, and the tape was discovered by Saul and brought to the attention of CIA head David Estes. Nick Brody was suddenly a confessed enemy of the state and after 4 maybe 5 episodes suddenly the premise of the show..... no longer existed. Brody was in love with Carrie, he was also part time CIA member as well as a Congressman and being nominated for Vice President, and still also a part-time terrorist working with Abu Nazir, who later came to the US..... only to be murdered. From episode 5 till episode 11 and 30 minutes into episode 12 it felt as if the show was ending for good even though the show was quickly renewed for Season 3. The weird and somewhat forbidden love that was Carrie and Brody was incredibly dull and made no story progression until the season finale. It was just sort of there with more sneaking off and sex. Only this time it was under surveillance of the CIA. The show saw the debut of a new character, Quinn, who was responsible for stabbing Brody in the hand when he wouldn't answer Quinn's interrogation questions honestly. You wondered where the show would travel after the death of Abu Nazir. Would Brody take over as the new worlds biggest terrorist? Would Brody die, and a new terrorist would come to light? And then, at a memorial for the Vice President, a terrorist attack took place killing David Estes and many others. And suddenly, the reasoning for the lackluster season and the shows premise being destroyed suddenly made sense. Carrie and Brody, both attending the Vice President's memorial, left the room, mid-memorial to go have an afternoon sex session mainly so Carrie could tell Brody that she would choose him over a potential CIA job promotion, actively taking Saul's old spot once Este's got rid of Saul for reasons that didn't make sense. Brody suddenly realized his car in front of the building where the memorial was being held and thus the shocking moment that made the crap season suck. The terrorist attack, the the attack that Congressman Brody will now be blamed for. Did he do it? If he didn't do it, then who did? Regardless, Carrie helped Brody create a new identity and helped him leave the country. The season ends with Brody headed to Canada, essentially a domestic enemy on the run, and Carrie returning to DC, to the shock of Saul, show that she survived the explosion. The Season 2 finale quite possibly saved the season and maybe the show as a whole. I can't wait for Season 3 now, despite the premise of the show kind of being destroyed. How long can Brody's run from the law last? Super excited. It'll sort of be a whole new show kind of when Season 3 debuts. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The show hasn't lost its clever agility at building pressure-cooker suspense and then lobbing in a surprise. [8 Oct 2012, p.55]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 1, 2012
    100
    Homeland is as riveting and addictive as when we last saw it, kicking off with no lull in the pulse-pounding action.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 28, 2012
    100
    Given the extravagances of the plot and the characters, that it feels plausibly seated in the real world is a testament to everyone involved in its production. But it is especially due to the actors.