• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Homeland Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CIA agent Carrie Mathison (Clare Danes) is not convinced the rescued soldier Nick Brody (Damian Lewis) is not a double agent of al-Qaida.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    [A] taut, ingenious spy series. [10 Oct 2011, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    I can't recommend the series highly enough, particularly for the phenomenal performances by Lewis and Danes.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Oct 3, 2011
    100
    It's no lie to say you don't get this sort of stylish and challenging stuff very frequently on TV, adult subject matter treated maturely in a series that makes you squirm and think.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 30, 2011
    91
    Homeland functions terrifically as both a thriller and a commentary on our post-post-9/11 world, where the War on Terror and the concept of being constantly under surveillance are both facts of life.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Homeland is an absolutely riveting immersion in the paranoia and burnout of America after a decade of the war on terrorism.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Unlike their previous show [24], Homeland takes its time: it doesn't make clear right away who's trustworthy and who's a traitor. Based on the first episode's strong script and performances, it looks as though the reveal will be worth the wait.
  7. Homeland has a chance to be a much tighter--and smarter--endeavor with more nuance than "24" ever had. But if a cougar suddenly appears, and/or if someone comes back from the dead, all bets are off.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 167
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Uau você perde o fôlego com essa grande série merecido o globo de ouro e forte candidata a desbancar mad men.Claire Danes está soberba nesta personagem.Grandes atuações, personagens e roteiro.Perfeito. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a rollercoaster ride. This show reminds me (in a good way) of 24. Carrie does some things that defy belief. Of course the reason she is so good and so bad relates to her mental illness. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of the greatest actresses alive. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    The theme was not that promising, i'm really surprised how amazing homeland is. 50 minutes? Looks 15! YES, that attractive. Love Claire Danes and her character. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    An intriguing and engaging drama that is striking in its realism. The dilemma at the core of the story will no doubt keep many viewers hooked and the show does a good job of maintaining it throughout the season. The two leads are excellent, especially Claire Danes who plays an obsessive and tenacious CIA agent. The supporting cast are all given depth and contribute to the overall story. Each episode is paced well so that the story seldom sags and holds viewer interest. However, I can't help but feel that Homeland is missing something that would take it from 'great TV show' to 'classic TV show'. I haven't been able to pinpoint just what this is but regardless, Homeland is still one of the best new series of 2011. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Objectively speaking, Homeland is a good show - well acted and entertaining. But I cannot stand Claire Danes' character's ethical choices. Her self destructive behavior is painful to watch, so much so that I can't watch anymore. Granted some will see this as visceral portrayal of an extremely flawed character, a unique aspect of the show, and part of the reason Homeland is compelling...but it's simply too much for me. In a way it's analogous to Steve Carell's character (Michael Scott) on The Office - very funny but also so painful to watch that it turns your stomach at the same time. Hopefully that makes sense... Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    Love the fictional story line, however, I'd classify this as porn with the graphic bedroom scenes. Also, I guess the writer's are linguistically challenged in that the best descriptive word they seem to be able to come up with is the "F" word. Although I enjoyed the plot, I won't be purchasing season 2. Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board?

    TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board? Image
    Published: October 21, 2013
    In the span of two years, Showtime's "Homeland" has transitioned from one of TV's best dramas to one of its most disappointing, according to many critics. Find out why they feel that way, and whether last night's episode changed things for the better.
  2. Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale

    Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: December 17, 2012
    Did last night's season-ending episode rescue an Emmy-winning show that had been running off the rails in recent weeks? Find out what critics are saying about the "Homeland" finale inside.
  3. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 24, 2012
    How was last night's Emmy broadcast? Sample the reactions of TV critics to the show, and get an analysis of the evening's winners and losers (including a complete list of winners).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  7. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  8. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  9. Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Showtime's "Homeland" is the fall's best new show, but did last night's finale live up to critics' elevated expectations? We sample their reactions inside.
  10. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  11. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  12. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.