Homeland : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Homeland Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1033 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    There are a couple of bush-league moments in the show....[But]those are minor quibbles, made even more insignificant by the extraordinary performances of Danes, Lewis, Patinkin and Baccarin.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    Once you watch the first episode, it's going to be hard standing the wait for the next.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Oct 3, 2011
    100
    It's no lie to say you don't get this sort of stylish and challenging stuff very frequently on TV, adult subject matter treated maturely in a series that makes you squirm and think.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 30, 2011
    91
    Homeland functions terrifically as both a thriller and a commentary on our post-post-9/11 world, where the War on Terror and the concept of being constantly under surveillance are both facts of life.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Homeland is an absolutely riveting immersion in the paranoia and burnout of America after a decade of the war on terrorism.
  6. Reviewed by: Sophie Gilbert
    Oct 2, 2015
    80
    For now, at least, Homeland is back with a surprising show of force.
  7. Homeland has a chance to be a much tighter--and smarter--endeavor with more nuance than "24" ever had. But if a cougar suddenly appears, and/or if someone comes back from the dead, all bets are off.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 178
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Uau você perde o fôlego com essa grande série merecido o globo de ouro e forte candidata a desbancarUau você perde o fôlego com essa grande série merecido o globo de ouro e forte candidata a desbancar mad men.Claire Danes está soberba nesta personagem.Grandes atuações, personagens e roteiro.Perfeito. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Despite all the inaccuracies a lot of people have tried to point out, I still feel that the first season of Homeland was one of the bestDespite all the inaccuracies a lot of people have tried to point out, I still feel that the first season of Homeland was one of the best inaugural season on TV in years. Claire Danes' portrayal of the bipolar CIA agent is exceptional and all I can think of right now is "how the hell is she not a bigger star???" Because she should be. As long as the writers and producers keep the story tight and smart (don't mind the haters), Homeland will definitely be a classic! Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of theI watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of the greatest actresses alive. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Best new show on television this year. Great spy thriller. Claire Danes and Mandy Patinkin are both excellent. Kind of weird mixture of 24 andBest new show on television this year. Great spy thriller. Claire Danes and Mandy Patinkin are both excellent. Kind of weird mixture of 24 and Nurse Jackie. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    Instantly hooks you to the TV. The whole first season delivered amazing acting and an incredibly interesting story. Shows like this are reallyInstantly hooks you to the TV. The whole first season delivered amazing acting and an incredibly interesting story. Shows like this are really rare, the concept is really promising and you'll just love Claire Danes' performance. Definitely worth checking out.
    Although the middles of each episode tend to get kind of boring, it all connects well as the story develops and the ends of the episodes are fun to watch.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    'Homeland' lacks pace sometimes. Well mostly, to be frank. But it makes up for that with the atmosphere and suspense.
    The acting is on the
    'Homeland' lacks pace sometimes. Well mostly, to be frank. But it makes up for that with the atmosphere and suspense.
    The acting is on the right side, the plot thickens with every episode and you sit before the TV just hoping for a break or solid evidence for Carrie. You can feel that this is coming to something big. What exactly is Brody's role in this is yet to be unfolded.
    Solid piece of entertainment.
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    First of all, I will admit that this show is great in many ways. In fact, it is great in most ways and for most of the first season I wasFirst of all, I will admit that this show is great in many ways. In fact, it is great in most ways and for most of the first season I was obsessed with it. However, I absolutely refuse to support a show that essentially tricks me into thinking that it is, for the most part, non partisan. Soon enough I found that not only does the show lean to the left, it practically could not be anymore offensive than it currently is. The entire shows message is that radical Islamic terrorists are not truly villains and that the reason America is attacked is because of the "war-mongers" in political power. I am sure that this sort of thing does happen in reality, but the way "Homeland" portrays the whole scenario is inexplicably offensive. It is a vile tactic that makes the viewer want to sympathize with some of the worst scum on this planet. It truly is shameful that this show is even on television. I honestly wonder if the creators of this show actually are empathetic to the 9/11 bombers. One day, when your plane goes into a building or a bomb goes off on your bus, you aren't going to be pitying the poor suicide bomber. I could rant more about "Homeland" and its flaws but I think the message alone should be enough to deter most decent viewers. Expand

See all 178 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board?

    TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board? Image
    Published: October 21, 2013
    In the span of two years, Showtime's "Homeland" has transitioned from one of TV's best dramas to one of its most disappointing, according to many critics. Find out why they feel that way, and whether last night's episode changed things for the better.
  2. Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale

    Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: December 17, 2012
    Did last night's season-ending episode rescue an Emmy-winning show that had been running off the rails in recent weeks? Find out what critics are saying about the "Homeland" finale inside.
  3. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 24, 2012
    How was last night's Emmy broadcast? Sample the reactions of TV critics to the show, and get an analysis of the evening's winners and losers (including a complete list of winners).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  7. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  8. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  9. Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Showtime's "Homeland" is the fall's best new show, but did last night's finale live up to critics' elevated expectations? We sample their reactions inside.
  10. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  11. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  12. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.