• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 913 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Sarita Choudhury, Mandy Patinkin, Claire Danes
  • Summary: CIA agent Carrie Mathison (Clare Danes) is not convinced the rescued soldier Nick Brody (Damian Lewis) is not a double agent of al-Qaida.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    [A] taut, ingenious spy series. [10 Oct 2011, p.44]
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 30, 2011
    100
    I can't recommend the series highly enough, particularly for the phenomenal performances by Lewis and Danes.
  3. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Oct 3, 2011
    100
    It's no lie to say you don't get this sort of stylish and challenging stuff very frequently on TV, adult subject matter treated maturely in a series that makes you squirm and think.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 30, 2011
    91
    Homeland functions terrifically as both a thriller and a commentary on our post-post-9/11 world, where the War on Terror and the concept of being constantly under surveillance are both facts of life.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Homeland is an absolutely riveting immersion in the paranoia and burnout of America after a decade of the war on terrorism.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Unlike their previous show [24], Homeland takes its time: it doesn't make clear right away who's trustworthy and who's a traitor. Based on the first episode's strong script and performances, it looks as though the reveal will be worth the wait.
  7. Homeland has a chance to be a much tighter--and smarter--endeavor with more nuance than "24" ever had. But if a cougar suddenly appears, and/or if someone comes back from the dead, all bets are off.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 172
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Uau você perde o fôlego com essa grande série merecido o globo de ouro e forte candidata a desbancarUau você perde o fôlego com essa grande série merecido o globo de ouro e forte candidata a desbancar mad men.Claire Danes está soberba nesta personagem.Grandes atuações, personagens e roteiro.Perfeito. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Growing tension keeps you focused on every single detail, plus very convincing performances of the two main characters. This is an excellent TV series, one of those that makes people go to bed with something to think about. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of theI watched the pilot for this show online, and I have never seen anything like it before. It is truly brilliant and Claire Danes is one of the greatest actresses alive. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    The theme was not that promising, i'm really surprised how amazing homeland is. 50 minutes? Looks 15! YES, that attractive. Love Claire DanesThe theme was not that promising, i'm really surprised how amazing homeland is. 50 minutes? Looks 15! YES, that attractive. Love Claire Danes and her character. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Authentic, intense, engaging drama. A class of its own in this genre. Great actors. In fact, very giving, and generous actors. The actingAuthentic, intense, engaging drama. A class of its own in this genre. Great actors. In fact, very giving, and generous actors. The acting alone deserve our time. Clare Danes is simply fearless. Damian Lewis is a dark horse, a pleasant surprise. David Harewood is a genius of subtlety. Morena Baccarin immense talent is still being under-utilized. Engaging, well-paced, complex, REFRESHING writing /directing style. As long as the show don't descend into over-compressed pacing and cheapening of females with excessive shock-value nudity and taboo sex, more please. Collapse
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    6
    I just finished watching Season 1. Not bad, not great. I'm not a big Damien Lewis fan, and he did nothing in this series to change myI just finished watching Season 1. Not bad, not great. I'm not a big Damien Lewis fan, and he did nothing in this series to change my opinion. The CIA cast is great. The final episode was a real let down. Kind of epitomized the whole season. A lot of potential, just comes up short. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    Carrie Mathison isn't bipolar- Homeland is. The last two episodes of this season should have been one or not at all. If i wanted to watch aCarrie Mathison isn't bipolar- Homeland is. The last two episodes of this season should have been one or not at all. If i wanted to watch a soapy family drama- this wouldn't be it. Like mother like daughter: one woman's fear of commitment sends another woman back into the arms of her beloved- alas, too late. I see no reason to return next season- unless Carrie is hired by Hollywood to fight against cyber attacks which threaten Showtime to take Homeland off the air. It took half a season to win me back- and a snoozer of a finale to lose me, again. Expand

See all 172 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board?

    TV Critics Are Getting Fed Up With Homeland. Are You Still On Board? Image
    Published: October 21, 2013
    In the span of two years, Showtime's "Homeland" has transitioned from one of TV's best dramas to one of its most disappointing, according to many critics. Find out why they feel that way, and whether last night's episode changed things for the better.
  2. Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale

    Episode Reviews: Homeland Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: December 17, 2012
    Did last night's season-ending episode rescue an Emmy-winning show that had been running off the rails in recent weeks? Find out what critics are saying about the "Homeland" finale inside.
  3. 2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2012 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 13, 2012
    Nominees for the 70th annual Golden Globe Awards were announced Thursday morning, with Lincoln, Argo, and Django Unchained leading the film nominees and Homeland and Modern Family among the TV leaders. Inside, get a full list of this year's nominees, and a look at major snubs and surprises.
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2012 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 24, 2012
    How was last night's Emmy broadcast? Sample the reactions of TV critics to the show, and get an analysis of the evening's winners and losers (including a complete list of winners).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  7. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  8. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  9. Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale

    Episode Review: Homeland Season 1 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Showtime's "Homeland" is the fall's best new show, but did last night's finale live up to critics' elevated expectations? We sample their reactions inside.
  10. 2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    2011 Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2011
    Get a complete list of film and television nominees for the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.
  11. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  12. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.