Hostages : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 20, 2013
    50
    The series does hint at Carlisle's motivation, and maybe the show will get more interesting once his reasons for wanting the president dead are revealed, but the pilot doesn't exactly demand viewers tune in for episode two.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    60
    Hostages unfolds with the crisp efficiency of a humorless event planner checking tasks off a list.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    58
    Throughout the pilot, you’ll wonder why this couldn’t all be handled in a mediocre two-hour action movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    By pilot's end, the tension level is more "Parenthood" than "Homeland."
  5. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    58
    Sanders' husband (Tate Donovan) and teenaged kids are each shielding their own secrets, uncovered by Carlisle and his crew--and covered up by them as well. Unfortunately, they're fairly pedestrian.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Sep 22, 2013
    50
    Hostages feels as if it's impulsively running on autopilot, periodically checking off boxes on a laundry list of genre clichés.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    It is to say that this mimicking is just that, as if the creators here have watched those shows ["24" and "Homeland"], but have no original inspiration, and instead think that plot twists in and of themselves make a drama bracing.
  8. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Other than a few other corny ideas (the whole Presidential assassination trope is a little cliché), Hostages delivers a compelling plot with enough tension to keep viewers interested for 45 minutes.
  9. Reviewed by: Zack Handlen
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    While the pacing is solid and the direction is competent, nothing rises above the average. The pilot is too tasteful to be intense, and too silly to be affecting. It’s middlebrow to the bone.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    It gives me a feeling like Homeland The Following. Great cast, some interesting ideas, and some shocking things happen. Seems like some ofIt gives me a feeling like Homeland The Following. Great cast, some interesting ideas, and some shocking things happen. Seems like some of the reviews say it isn't realistic, but was 24? Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    The opener left me flat. I could not get interested in the mystery and nor the family problems. It does not meet the threshold of beingThe opener left me flat. I could not get interested in the mystery and nor the family problems. It does not meet the threshold of being compelling enough for me to suspend disbelief. Just not very interesting. Full Review »
  3. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    The first season has ended and my impressions are good. If we look on the other way for some flaws in story this series has good potential. IThe first season has ended and my impressions are good. If we look on the other way for some flaws in story this series has good potential. I hope that, it will be renewed for second season and that they will continue to keep us entertained with better story, may bee faster action and a variety of some new characters with their dark secrets. If you are second guessing on watching first season, give it a try. if you ask me, this show is worth watching. Full Review »