• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 97
  2. Negative: 22 out of 97

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    6
    Would have made a cracking 2-hour movie. I really want to like it because it's an interesting concept, but it's just a bit too slow paced, and too little changes from episode to episode.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    The opener left me flat. I could not get interested in the mystery and nor the family problems. It does not meet the threshold of being compelling enough for me to suspend disbelief. Just not very interesting.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    4
    If you are willing to check your common sense at the door, this show just about manages to hold your attention for the length of each episode. Although there are plenty of times where you will find yourself embarrassed for allowing it to do so.

    If it weren't for a relatively strong opening first few episodes I doubt many people would have the patience to sit through some of the
    infuriatingly irritating choices that these characters make as the series progresses.

    The weakness of the the writing team really begins to show as they attempt to flesh out the series with an implausible grander conspiracy. I just hope the show has the dignity not to protract what should have been a 2-hour movie for a further second series.
    Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Aside from my enthusiasm for Toni Collette's acting chops, I thought the premise of this show seemed promising. The pilot underwhelmed, making poor scene choices and rushed plot points. It didn't connect the way it should have and made implausible moves in support of its main conflict.

    I decided to stick with it to see how it all played out plus, I just love Toni Collette. Three
    episodes in, and I'm hooked. The acting is mostly strong (not a fan of Tate Donovan but McDermott is okay), the plot twists are compelling, and the characters have depth. I see this as a less polished Scandal (which I love!) but without the soap opera feel. It's not as fun as Scandal either, but it has its merits and is worth checking out. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    4
    What little promise is shown during the beginning of the show is killed during the painfully slow second half. Plot doesn't get interesting, Side plots are generic, and it really fails to capture you the way good dramas do. That being said, It's not a terrible show but I wouldn't go into it with high hopes either. I'd give it another episode or two to see if it improves but if it doesn't then I am done with it. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    4
    Hostages is a perfect example of a seies out staying its welcome. What started out as fresh and exciting, albeit still ludicrous has become laughably ridiculous. I started out by giving this series an 8, but since it has gone on and on my rating has dropped to 4. I have 1episode left to view, but I don't think there will be any rallying for me to improve my thoughts at this late stage. I will just be grateful for it to end PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    meh. It's not that interesting, it doesn't help that Tate Donovan is in it. I mean, he's a great actor, but seriously, he's in everything now. It would've helped if they developed the character more to make him different.
  8. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    I anticipated that "Hostages" would have a pretty good pilot and then where to go? Something like Andre Brougher's submarine captain show last season. Great opening followed by an incredibly fast journey downhill. I knew something of the plot of "Hostages" before viewing the pilot but a couple of unexpected plot turns gave me some hope for a possible future for this show. Some reviewers call it "over the top" and that is true. I still think this show will have a very difficult time maintaining quality and, frankly, interest. We'll see but I'm afraid its over-the-topness has a good chance of winning and destroying the show. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    The first season has ended and my impressions are good. If we look on the other way for some flaws in story this series has good potential. I hope that, it will be renewed for second season and that they will continue to keep us entertained with better story, may bee faster action and a variety of some new characters with their dark secrets. If you are second guessing on watching first season, give it a try. if you ask me, this show is worth watching. Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    It's like someone ate bad beans and farted a thousand bad cliches. All that remains is McDermott and his leather jacket. High school film students would have done a better job, and as a matter of fact are probably using this as a lesson in what never to do.
  11. Oct 12, 2013
    6
    The first episode wasn't as i expected but i gave it another chance and well i'm glad i did! Episode 2 and 3 did not disappoint! full of suspense and thrill which are my favorite genres! I want more.
  12. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Is this the dumbest show ever? it's up there. as unrealistic as it gets. dumb mistakes all around. silly 'hints' at the hostage situation unraveling, but foiled by one man? another analysis of stupid human beings doing dumb things in a show, makes us all look stupid...
  13. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Usually anything with "Jerry Bruckheimer" is a total utter show. I've finished the series so I think I can come up with a accurate review of the show.

    This show is as Cliché as it gets. The writing is dull, the script is poorly written and it is as predictable as it seems. You have the show supposed to be taken seriously when a Colonel blatantly saying on the phone "Kill our friend on
    Pennsylvania avenue" and a President's Chief of Staff dropping dead with out any suspicion whatsoever? These are the kind of elements that make a silly, dumb, and sad excuse for entertainment. I feel like a 12 year old could comprehend this show just as easy as me. The writing isn't different nor innovative with characters who seem to get out of anything at anytime. This show reeks of an attempt to be hard hitting when it is just plain silly. The only honest reason I watched the series is because the had a great set of cast members; well at least some of them were. I enjoy seeing Dylan McDermott, Toni Collett, and Tate Donovanon screen but the show no where made up for my time watching the show. BOTTOM LINE I did sometimes have myself sitting on my couch going "whats going to happen next episode?" so It was not a complete waste of time. It's a melodrama with some sort of energy, but for the people who seem to like a easy, comprehendible entertainment program these days **cough**the current law & order svu***cough* you will be at home. Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    The main problem? Why didn't Ellen just tell the secret service what was going on and they go to the house and arrest everyone? It's ludicrous and makes enjoying this show almost impossible. The central premise makes no sense. The decisions they make defy logic. It's all ridiculous, yet I keep watching.
  15. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pros:
    The slick and awesome beginning with the tactical infiltration of the house
    The whole "thought of everything" element
    The drug dealer subplot might work, he might come banging on the house and the hostage team has to figure out how to dispose of him?

    Cons:
    The pregnancy subplot. Unless they're held hostage for 9 months, who cares?
    Potential for too much family drama and needless distractions from main plot
    Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2013
    5
    I tried to like this. Right away, you feel it's too over the top. It's yet another show where everyone is in on a conspiracy and there are conspiracies inside the conspiracy. But 20 minutes into the second show, we've got the assasination postponed two weeks, and you can see they're already trying to stretch this thing out, and it's annoying and depressing and implausible. So ready to never think about this show again. Bye. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    It gives me a feeling like Homeland The Following. Great cast, some interesting ideas, and some shocking things happen. Seems like some of the reviews say it isn't realistic, but was 24?
  18. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    Hostages starts out severely limited in where it can go because of it's premise and after the first two episodes I was afraid it wouldn't go anywhere. However, I would like to inform all of you that the show will go somewhere. The entire series will not be episode 1 repeating itself. The writers have a plot and know where they are going with it and hopefully it will be interesting and intense. That being said, so far, none of the characters have done anything to make me like them, and rather, quite a few have done the opposite. I will stick with this show for the time being to see where it goes. It's not great, but it has potential. I suspect it will be canceled much like 2012's Missing starring Ashley Judd which was SO much better, in every way. Expand
  19. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    Wonderful suspense in this great new original story. It is refreshing to see that there can still be an original story out there. Great twists unfold with every episode. Great stuff
  20. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    They go with what they are given,the show has everyday values such as family and bond, but it also has a thrilling sense of what is going to happen next, now that his team is beginning to unravel and the light at the end of the tunnel for the good doctor is getting bigger, there is still a sense of wonder whether or someone is going to step into that light and block the way, the show feels like it doesn't have that much going on, but the questions that still remain are why and who? the main characters cant be the whole thing. Im still dying to see who's behind the curtain making all these calls. Expand
  21. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    Although the acting isn't bad, the plot lines are increasingly contrived and illogical common sense would be a super power in this universe. A single 911 call could and should have ended the show on several occasions already. Time doesn't pass consistently for the characters either. Last week, after a lengthy high speed car chase (presumably) away from home and the bus depot, the "bad guys" return to the house within minutes to force a dramatic return. I had hoped the "willing suspension of belief" necessary to buy into the show would be limited to a convoluted plot to kill the president, but it has extending to implausible physics (time dilation, a gut shot to the abdomen is "through and through" without hitting any organs, distances change) and outright stupidity of the lead characters. I'm done with this one. Expand
  22. Oct 24, 2013
    2
    Though the start of this program had promise not as a continuing series, though it is getting more and more implausible. The doc carries a complete defibrillator around?? And if he was bleeding out, without IV fluids or blood, he would not have been resuscitated. Sorry, this "series" is going downhill fast!
  23. Nov 2, 2013
    3
    The show unfortunately has sloppy writing. There's too many situations where either the characters or audience have to play dumb in order for the plot to continue.

    In other words, it's your basic filler show. It's not going to wow you with anything new.
  24. Nov 4, 2013
    2
    I was sort of excited to see Tony Colette. But the show is just so boring. The pilot was dynamic and premise was promising, but it went downhill almost immediately afterwards. Last episode (6) was so bad and predictable, I'm done with this show.
  25. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    The writing is unrealistic and verging on cartoonish. The Sanders family continues to miss opportunities to get out of their "hostage" situation. They're not suffering from Stockholm syndrome--each has had plenty of opportunity to escape, yet they are portrayed as bumbling, ineffectual fools. All any of them would have had to do was to go to the press and the local police. Duncan's team would have been exposed as murderers and criminals, and they would have no more power over any of the Sanders family. The format is tiring and predictable. We all know by now that no matter what the Sanders family members do, they will be caught or stopped by Duncan's team, so why bother watching? Even the ending will be unreal and absurd, with the Sanders family finally getting out of their predicament by some cheap deus ex machina device and Duncan somehow surviving as the misguided anti-hero. Ridiculous, absurd and a waste of time--as much of network TV is. Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    Watching Hostages...is not time well spent. I do not care for any of the characters. The daughter is pregnant, the son deals drugs, the husband is cheating on his wife (cant blame him though) and the mother is...scary to look at. This family has had many trials and tribulations throughout the series but I cannot find myself cheering for them to escape or breathing a sigh of disappointment when they almost do. The one person whose presence is felt on screen is Dylan McDermott. But overall, the acting is poor, the writing is unprofessional and it just seems to be a degraded version of...I actually cant think of any television show that I despise so much. Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    The pilot was damn good, but subsequent episodes have been losing momentum. I even dubbed the series the most promising new show on TV to friends, but it doesn't seem like the show is well-crafted enough. I know it's hard to write an entire season with a time span of only about two to three weeks, but that's why it should be more than thrilling. Too much moral dilemma so far and too little action. The writers need to heat things up. Soon. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    a very smart television serie, but in some aspects the cleverness can be a little overwheliming and confusing,for example as they changer her minds about killing or not the president, but by far one of the greatest series of tv of this decade!
  29. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Really enjoyable show. Very good character development and writing except for the characters of the two teenagers. Dylan McDermott and the rest of the hostage takers are interesting throughout the season. A worthwhile watch and each episode ends making you want more.
  30. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    Intense and a good ending, may be a little bit to long for a series and you losing it after 45 minutes, but you pick it up very easily and never would you think what could happen next.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    58
    Sanders' husband (Tate Donovan) and teenaged kids are each shielding their own secrets, uncovered by Carlisle and his crew--and covered up by them as well. Unfortunately, they're fairly pedestrian.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    Ain’t much [Collette] can’t do, so when she temporarily foils Carlisle, we have a pretty good idea who’s going to keep the tables turned on this show.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    70
    It’s well-paced and tightly constructed. Yes, some of it feels overdone and silly.... [But] it ends on a nice turn of events that make me really want to see what happens next.