• Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 652 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 652

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    4
    This first series was slightly tedious at times, US politics not being my favorite source of entertainment. However, I was curious about Spacey's rave reviews and I like him as an actor. Given the dispassionate style of the series, I found it hard to develop a genuine interested, and I followed until the end out of mere curiosity.

    Most characters are manipulative, sleazy and unpleasant.
    All seem to have hidden agendas. The plot-line gets confused and for me it will never make sense how the journalist played by Mara actually figured out that Frank is a lying bastard and possibly a murder. The part about Frank supporting Peter was genuine enough and Frank changed his plan only after Claire sort if stabbed him in the back.

    Hence, the "conspiracy theory from the start" does not make sense. Not one of my favorite series, but Spacey and Wright are good, although Ms. Wright wardrobe is super boring, with her black pencil skirts, sprayed on shirts and perennial stiletto heels, she looks like a parody of a "power woman", just out of an ad for any expensive designer brand.
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    A stillborn series that began with the embarassing, moronic scene, that can't be anything but self-parody. Spacey's sardonic asides make him look almost pathetic and self-deluded, and I don't think that was the creators' intention. Everything is so tired, boring and numbingly predictable.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    4
    One of the most contrived pre-credit opening sequences I've seen recently, and the show doesn't get much better from there. It's as if David Fincher's direction to every character had him strapping on a fake Southern accent and saying, "Oh you are just wicked. And privileged. And naughty. Go." Every time Kevin Spacey turns and speaks to the camera, I wonder if anyone on set had second thoughts about how this was going. False, artificial notes ringing all over the place... Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    4
    I was really looking forward to this show, but after 10 episodes I'm really wondering if I will bother to finish it. You know what? It's just not clever. That's so disappointing because the original British version was indeed very clever. I've always loved Kevin Spacey, but after 10 episodes I still see the Southern accent as pointlessly pasted on a cheap, student actor kind of trick. And that damn little reporter wannabe not sexy, not intelligent, not interesting, I don't get it. But the writing, it's just bad. The dialog is ok, but the plot lines are way too simplistic and canned in 10 episodes I've yet to see anything clever. To the normally great David Fincher: please ignore all the high ratings and learn from this vacuous debacle. You can do better. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    Two types of characters pervade this series and are responsible for the entirety of the contrived plot: the smart and bold character, and the shortsighted, easily manipulated, tunnel-visioned idiot. Would you think the president of the U.S. would be in that second category? He is. As of the stupidity of certain characters isn't contrivance enough, ridiculous circumstances, like an overly simple cover-up of a congressman's DUI incident (in DC nonetheless) form pillars of the plot.

    The story doesn't get anywhere interesting either. None-stop frivolous sex, bribery and blackmail loses its appeal before the halfway mark.

    I finished it only for Spacey and his relationship with his wife. They are odd, disgusting and yet, awkwardly adorable. Other than that, I don't have anything positive to say.
    Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    3
    It can be entertaining at times, but after six episodes, it just seems to be a little too over the top. Alright- we get it- Washington is a tough and dirty place, and Spacey's character is not to be messed with. Add a little suspense or maybe give him an actual foil, and you might be on to something. Instead... it gets repetitive, and even boring at times. To me this is most certainly NOT the West Wing, because somehow or another I don't think Sorkin needs to show his main character eating ribs all the time as a metaphor for eating everyone up. We get it already, we get it. Now how about making a more interesting and three dimensional story? Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    3
    A show where a one-dimensional sociopath repeatedly (and predictably) outsmarts lesser one-dimensional sociopaths while explaining obvious plot developments to the audience. House of Cards is 13 hours you might regret losing. Then again, if swooning over Spacey's far-too-easily executed schemes is your thing, this might be worth your Saturday. Don't get me wrong: I love shows centered on an anti-hero (Sopranos, Dexter, Breaking Bad). But unlike those, House of Cards fails to give any insight as to why Underwood is such a malevolent SOB; it just expects you to get off on his (and everyone else's) bloodthirsty quest for power. But hey, if you want to lock yourself in a room with a cast of frigid, cynical politicos, buy the subscription. Expand
  8. ysd
    Mar 15, 2014
    1
    Season2 - Points for acting. Writing not so much. Consistent victory of the political mafia all the way to presidency with scandalous debauchery makes it so predictable. We get it - Politics is beyond dirty. But making murderers out of unelected presidents. At episode 2, I suspected the grand finale , by season 7 - I was on it. Regardless Good entertainment but bored by the end. Too predictable and too desperate to scandal. Makes the media and FBI and CIA look like ignorant goons Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Feb 22, 2013
    70
    I found the first two episodes handsome but sleazy, like a C.E.O. in a hotel bar. Yet by Episode 5 I was hypnotized by the show’s ensemble of two-faced sociopaths. Episode 8 was a thoughtful side trip into sympathy for Spacey’s devilish main character, but by then I was exhausted, and only my compulsive streak kept me going until the finale--at which point I was critically destabilized and looking forward to Season 2.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 6, 2013
    100
    Watch at whatever pace you'd like--immediately. Given its quality, I think you'll be drinking it all in sooner rather than later.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    Fincher's unemotional style comes through in the first two episodes, and the show could use more heat. But Spacey makes it worth watching.