• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 759 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The US remake of the 1990s British political miniseries moves the shenanigans to Washington DC. After learning he won't be appointed to a coveted Cabinet position, House Majority Whip Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey) and his wife Claire plan revenge on the administration he helped elect.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 6, 2013
    100
    Watch at whatever pace you'd like--immediately. Given its quality, I think you'll be drinking it all in sooner rather than later.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 28, 2013
    90
    It's a heavyweight new contender in the drama category, just as Netflix now is as a content provider.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 1, 2013
    90
    Deeply cynical about human beings as well as politics and almost gleeful in its portrayal of limitless ambition, House of Cards is a wonderfully sour take on power and corruption.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 31, 2013
    80
    Too jaded to lament the backroom maneuvering of politicians, the creators of House of Cards instead take that state of affairs as a given, tart it up, and fashion a wry piece of escapism--a backstabbing procedural delivered in a sophisticated style.
  5. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Feb 22, 2013
    70
    I found the first two episodes handsome but sleazy, like a C.E.O. in a hotel bar. Yet by Episode 5 I was hypnotized by the show’s ensemble of two-faced sociopaths. Episode 8 was a thoughtful side trip into sympathy for Spacey’s devilish main character, but by then I was exhausted, and only my compulsive streak kept me going until the finale--at which point I was critically destabilized and looking forward to Season 2.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    Fincher's unemotional style comes through in the first two episodes, and the show could use more heat. But Spacey makes it worth watching.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    This series is about as inside-the-Beltway as Fiji, and Fincher's main plan to compensate for the stupidity level is to have the gentlemen whip off their glasses and the ladies whip off their clothes.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 134
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Loved it, from the beginning to the end of the first 2 episodes I've watched. It has the David Fincher mood in it, KevinAbsolutely amazing! Loved it, from the beginning to the end of the first 2 episodes I've watched. It has the David Fincher mood in it, Kevin Spacey's constant neutrality in every bit of the show in a really cold blooded character, and the fluidity in which the story unfolds. Seriously, great show, watch it if you can, or get 1 month free on Netflix just to watch this. Best premiere I've seen in a series for a LONG time, maybe the best since Breaking Bad. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    I wholeheartedly suggest that before starting the first episode, you get munchies set up along side you and strap yourself in with a seat-beltI wholeheartedly suggest that before starting the first episode, you get munchies set up along side you and strap yourself in with a seat-belt for the ride of your life. Kevin Spacey was born to be Francis Underwood. I have not seen in my 65 years any political drama that is so engrossing. The characters are real to life, with everyday problems. When you are watching the story unfold, think about the present day politics........ Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Great cast. Fantastic script. The dialogue, the characters, and the plot itself are very interesting and highly entertaining. Decided to giveGreat cast. Fantastic script. The dialogue, the characters, and the plot itself are very interesting and highly entertaining. Decided to give this show a try after some glowing recommendations from my friends, and I honestly watched the first six episodes in one day because I couldn't get enough of it.

    As an aside, I love the whole releasing all the episodes at once deal so that you can watch the season in your own time.
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I notice many comparisons to The West Wing. While they are two different entities, its not stupid to compare them. To me, this is an AlternateI notice many comparisons to The West Wing. While they are two different entities, its not stupid to compare them. To me, this is an Alternate West Wing. It has the same fantasy as The West Wing. House of Cards has an extreme dark side. As shown right off the bat in the first 2 minutes of the Pilot. House Majority Whip Francis (Frank) Underwood played by the fantastic Kevin Spacey, is not afraid to get his hands dirty. Issues Frank Underwood encounter in Season 1, whether it be an Education Bill, Jobs Bill, or dealing with a Representative who has a drug and alcohol problem, Frank always his true goal in sight. And that goal is to be on top of the mountain in the world of Politics. The show, a Netflix Original Series, has so many strengths, that it pretty much cancels out the cons. And there are not many cons. Very little. For me the cons are very nit-picky as the quality and story telling of the show is very well done, by not only the actors and actresses, but by head-writer Beau Willimon who has an amazing sense of Political storytelling and who's research is most pivotal to the show's storytelling success. The show has been so successful as Netflix's first ever Original Series, a recent survey says that more than 10% of Netflix subscribers have streamed House of Cards, whether it be just the first episode, or through the entire 1st season. While Netflix won't give out the Viewership numbers, Netflix has confirmed that House of Cards is the DVD rental/Instant Streaming Mogul's most watched item for their Instant Streaming. 13 episodes clearly isn't enough. Netflix has ordered a second season, and well played, because fans are demanding it. So, while House of Cards may seem like a dark political drama on the surface, you must dig deeper to discover it is about power. The main theme of the show is power. How and what people will do to get what they ultimately achieve, whether it be famous journalist, or Secretary of State, Power is the ultimate motivator in this Political soaked drama. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2015
    9
    Loved this series! I think the show alone is why most of America dislikes congress and is unhappy with the government. Kevin Spacey isLoved this series! I think the show alone is why most of America dislikes congress and is unhappy with the government. Kevin Spacey is amazing, he pulls off the coldest character ever. The goal is simple for Frank Underwood yet the path he takes to it is exciting but also funny. As a student learning about how the government works, I would suggest this to anyone with an understanding of the US. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    A dark and cynical take on Washington with an incredible score, first-rate production values, and excellent performances (particularly by theA dark and cynical take on Washington with an incredible score, first-rate production values, and excellent performances (particularly by the female cast). What keeps it from being better is that it is occasionally let down by heavy-handed and hammy dialogue and seriously hurt by a questionable turn in the 11th episode. This season is essentially all build-up, so at least there is another season to look forward to. 7.6/10 Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    A stillborn series that began with the embarassing, moronic scene, that can't be anything but self-parody. Spacey's sardonic asides make himA stillborn series that began with the embarassing, moronic scene, that can't be anything but self-parody. Spacey's sardonic asides make him look almost pathetic and self-deluded, and I don't think that was the creators' intention. Everything is so tired, boring and numbingly predictable. Expand

See all 134 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  2. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  3. House of Cards: Reviews for the Complete 1st Season

    House of Cards: Reviews for the Complete 1st Season Image
    Published: February 20, 2013
    Is Netflix's "House of Cards" worth 13 hours of your time? We found over a dozen critics who have watched the entire season, and here's what they have to say about the ambitious new series.