House of Lies : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    [The actors] are cramped by obvious, unsubtle writing and a show that doesn't seem to have much of an idea of where to take these sardonic characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    In trying to be about over-the-top characters, it forgets to be about people.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    House of Lies about the thievery of management consultants, manages to turn a theme with reasonable comedic potential into a vehicle for 16-year-old males, though dressed up as satire for sophisticates.
  4. Reviewed by: Luke De Smet
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    Because from its embellished execution to its uninspired writing and very conception, the smarmy House of Lies is like so many speculative financial bubbles that characters like Marty have had their hands in: There's just nothing there.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 37
  2. Negative: 23 out of 37
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Like many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age whereLike many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age where marketing and economics is such a rich topic to explore, this show comes and decimates it. One of the worst pilots. Giving it a 3 for Don and Kristen and Jean-Ralphio from Parks and Rec. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I only wanted to watch this for Don Cheadle and Kristen Bell. When the pilot leaked online I jumped on it. The first thing you see is Don Cheadle's ass. Then you meet his extremely flamboyant son. Hundreds of jokes about gays follow. Cheadle's character breaks the fourth wall a lot, and it's annoying. Then there's a scene in a restaurant where a hooker talks about having sex with women. Seriously? This show is terrible, the critics are wrong. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    Are the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick andAre the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick and rude. Kristen Bell is absolutely killing her career. Full Review »