House of Lies : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Jan 9, 2012
    40
    House of Lies lacks the heart of "Shameless" and Kaan lacks the likability of Duchovny's Hank Moody, which means we care very little about the characters after two episodes.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    With the subtlety of a sledgehammer, the show right away telegraphs that there is more to Kaan than meets the eye, that he's not just a con. We're just not inclined to believe him.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    I didn't laugh much. I did, however, check my watch, still secure on my wrist, to determine when the show would be ending.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 6, 2012
    60
    Like many of Showtime's most cherished series, House of Lies can be annoying and entertaining at the same time.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 5, 2012
    58
    Too brittle and full of bile to cleanly hit the target.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 3, 2012
    60
    The program is moderately entertaining and very much in keeping with the tone of "Californication."
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 37
  2. Negative: 23 out of 37
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Like many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age whereLike many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age where marketing and economics is such a rich topic to explore, this show comes and decimates it. One of the worst pilots. Giving it a 3 for Don and Kristen and Jean-Ralphio from Parks and Rec. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I only wanted to watch this for Don Cheadle and Kristen Bell. When the pilot leaked online I jumped on it. The first thing you see is Don Cheadle's ass. Then you meet his extremely flamboyant son. Hundreds of jokes about gays follow. Cheadle's character breaks the fourth wall a lot, and it's annoying. Then there's a scene in a restaurant where a hooker talks about having sex with women. Seriously? This show is terrible, the critics are wrong. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    Are the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick andAre the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick and rude. Kristen Bell is absolutely killing her career. Full Review »