• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    I like the direction the show took in season 2. It became more of a "dramedy" and I think the show will benefit from that. As usual, Cheadle is a master actor, and his portrayal of Marty is too good. I hope we get to see more of Kristen Bell in season 3, because she ties this whole show together, and is what makes this show great.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Season 2 was excellent, it has improved on the errors made in season 1 making it much more enjoyable and a much better show. This season while very good is not perfect but if this is any indication I can't wait for season 3 next year, it is doing a wonderful job at mixing its drama with comedy and features wonderful performances by the whole cast who have a very good chemistry with oneSeason 2 was excellent, it has improved on the errors made in season 1 making it much more enjoyable and a much better show. This season while very good is not perfect but if this is any indication I can't wait for season 3 next year, it is doing a wonderful job at mixing its drama with comedy and features wonderful performances by the whole cast who have a very good chemistry with one another. Well done. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    The Pod (Don Cheadle, Kristen Bell, Josh Lawson, and Ben Schwartz) is back and better than last year. This season was a lot more entertaining than the last season, more comedy and a lot more drama. Once again, the amazing Don Cheadle gives an award worthy performance throughout this season. The second season, while it had its rough patches, it is still a major improvement on theThe Pod (Don Cheadle, Kristen Bell, Josh Lawson, and Ben Schwartz) is back and better than last year. This season was a lot more entertaining than the last season, more comedy and a lot more drama. Once again, the amazing Don Cheadle gives an award worthy performance throughout this season. The second season, while it had its rough patches, it is still a major improvement on the hit-and-miss first season. I am excited to see what's in store for Season 3 (January 2014).

    **I think this series would be much better if it were an hour long, because it is hard to fit so many story lines into just twelve 30-minute episodes.**
    Collapse
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Season 2 takes the show to a new level, I started the season having a mixed opinion of the show but by seasons end it became one of my favorites. Great show. Looking forward to season 3.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jan 16, 2013
    50
    Any sustained development seems to be more of an outlier than a trend.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jan 11, 2013
    70
    House of Lies began as a brash comedy but ended its first season as a drama-comedy hybrid, a direction that needs to continue to keep the show from drowning in its own caricatures. The future might lie in Ms. Bell's character, Jeannie.