• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 16, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The most electrifying new main character to hit television in years. [16 Nov 2004, p.C01]
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    What would you get if you combined the brains behind "The Usual Suspects" and "The X-Men" with the writer of "Quiz Show" and "Homicide: Life On the Streets"? Aside from a lotta smarts, you'd get House, the best new show since "Lost." [16 Nov 2004, p.91]
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    An engrossing new series with a fascinatingly unsympathetic character at its core. [14 Nov 2004, p.TV--5]
  4. Reviewed by: Manuel Mendoza
    Mar 11, 2013
    91
    In place of the by-now clichés, House substitutes wit, taut writing and a performance by British actor Hugh Laurie that should put him immediately in the running for a best-actor Emmy. [16 Nov 2004, p.14E]
  5. House is a rarity for TV: a true anti-hero, someone who's hard to embrace but easy to accept. [15 Nov 2004, p.2C]
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 1, 2013
    90
    Funny, probing and unsentimental, House may shock the systems of viewers used to sweetie M.D.s like ER's Dr. Carter. But as an honest look at techno-medicine and the prerogatives of genius, it's a tonic.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    At turns funny, terrifying and moving. [16 Nov 2004, p.73]
  8. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    Although the promising drama has its self-conscious moments when the offbeat stuff seems a trifle forced, Laurie delivers a consistently fascinating performance as the abrasive diagnostician. Even with the labored interludes, the series stands as, to borrow an old rock lyric, “a very, very, very fine” House. [16 Nov 2004, p.E4]
  9. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    Hugh Laurie is simply brilliant as the sarcastic, Vicodin-popping, cane-clutching healer in House. You want to see a heroic doctor? Go watch Matthew Fox save an island on "Lost." Want to see a terrific performance by a comedic actor who may singlehandedly save the medical drama? Here's your guy. [16 Nov 2004, p.E3]
  10. Reviewed by: Sid Smith
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    Entertaining, genre-bending. [16 Nov 2004, p.C1]
  11. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    Laurie is a wonder. His drawn face, scraggly beard, hollowed eyes and gaunt body add an offbeat distinction to his dignified performance. His is a sinister quirkiness. [15 Nov 2004, p.F-01]
  12. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    He's rude, sarcastic, bitter, brilliant and, delightfully, the most compelling character of the fall TV season. [14 Nov 2004, p.11]
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 11, 2013
    88
    This is one House call worth making.
  14. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    83
    Between Laurie's more-great-than-good doctor and cases that encompass everything from bad ham to complete body meltdown, House preys on all that's wrong (and some of what's right) with modern medicine.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    I love House. I love how thoughtful the lines in it are, I love the puzzles and how nicely they tie in with the side-drama between the main characters. I love how each of the medical mysteries are different throughout the seasons. I love what an **** House is because even though he's an **** he's a funny **** at least. I love how smoothly new characters get introduced and little by little, layers about them get peeled off so you learn more and more details just as you would get to know an actual person. It balances drama with intellect and comedy just beautifully.... showing the characters as they evolve and change and grow throughout the series while of course saving the lives of many interesting patients.

    Admittedly, I would love to give it a 10 but the reason I can't is because I really can't say I enjoyed the 8th/last season as much as I loved the others. I own all of them on DVD (just before they got put up on netflix) and although I'll watch any of the seasons multiple times I don't watch the last one nearly as much. Secondly, I do have to point out that, for the most part, the layout of the show is all the same and you sort of come to expect it. It's enjoyable but....still....redundant....
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    I've been watching this on netflix for a little bit now, and I haven't even finished the first season yet. I really like it so far though. I like the medical mystery and the plot line a lot. If you enjoy medical dramas, I'd highly recommend checking this out. Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2014
    7
    I caught a few half seasons of House later on in its initial run on Fox but since it was recently added to Netflix streaming I decided to start watching it all from the begging. This first seasons format was the typical case-of-the-week procedural with a few story lines stretching multiple episodes, I prefer shows that have an overarching serialized plot, House is a rare exception.

    The show has a few key elements that make me like it despite its flaws and format. Hugh Laurie plays Doctor House beautifully and is the main reason for my liking the show, his character is a defiant cynic who is a bit of a misanthrope. You well either love or hate House because of those characteristics and his attitude overall, but at least you'll know after watching the first episode weather or not you want to watch more.

    House doesn't have a lot of connections with people but the ones he does have are quite interesting, The dialog and friendship between him and Dr. Wilson is very entertaining and grows through the series as I remember it. The Cuddy connection is also fun to watch.

    The low lights for the show is the predictable pattern it uses when diagnosing the medical case for that week. The diagnostic team for season 1 consists of House, Cameron, Chase, and Foreman. They will sit around the white board with House and toss up their ideas as to why some patient is sick. No body will really like the first few ideas but they will begin the treatment for something anyway to try and narrow down the real cause. After a few more tests, breaking into the patient's house, or by some other trope, new information will be gathered about the patient. Because of this new information they are more sure of what is wrong in their next white board session and they start in on the next treatment with a great deal of confidence but every episode they will be wrong again and it will fail as well, toward the end of the episode House will come up with the real reason the patient is sick and the shows over. From time to time Dr. Wilson or some other person will be involved with the diagnostic potion but its still very predictable unfortunately. Somehow House manages to make all of this otherwise lackluster part entertaining and interesting.

    Also Jennifer Morrison is great as Dr. Cameron, a very caring somewhat shy person who happens to be one of the shows first smoke shows, her vest and lab coat wardrobe for season 1 is on point.
    Full Review »