House : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 16, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
House Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 202 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: House (aka House MD), from executive producers Paul Attanasio, Katie Jacobs, David Shore, and Bryan Singer is a new take on mystery, where the villain is a medical malady and the hero is an irreverent, controversial doctor who trusts no one, least of all his patients.

    Dr. Gregory House
    House (aka House MD), from executive producers Paul Attanasio, Katie Jacobs, David Shore, and Bryan Singer is a new take on mystery, where the villain is a medical malady and the hero is an irreverent, controversial doctor who trusts no one, least of all his patients.

    Dr. Gregory House (Hugh Laurie) is devoid of bedside manner and wouldn't even talk to his patients if he could get away with it. Dealing with his own constant physical pain, he uses a cane that seems to punctuate his acerbic, brutally honest demeanor. While his behavior can border on antisocial, House is a maverick physician whose unconventional thinking and flawless instincts have afforded him a great deal of respect. An infectious disease specialist, he's a brilliant diagnostician who loves the challenges of the medical puzzles he must solve in order to save lives.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
House M.D.: House Psa
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The most electrifying new main character to hit television in years. [16 Nov 2004, p.C01]
  2. Dallas Morning News
    Reviewed by: Manuel Mendoza
    Mar 11, 2013
    91
    In place of the by-now clich├ęs, House substitutes wit, taut writing and a performance by British actor Hugh Laurie that should put him immediately in the running for a best-actor Emmy. [16 Nov 2004, p.14E]
  3. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 11, 2013
    90
    At turns funny, terrifying and moving. [16 Nov 2004, p.73]
  4. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    75
    House stands out on the strength of its misanthropic main character.
  5. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Mar 11, 2013
    70
    Hugh Laurie is cranky, scathingly honest, brilliant Dr. Gregory House, whose amazing diagnostic abilities almost make up for his abrasive personality, in the Fox medical drama House. [16 Nov 2004, p.E06]
  6. Variety
    Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 11, 2013
    70
    House could well be one of those development stories where the operation is successful but the patient still dies. A well-made medical hour with an intriguing star, the show feels somewhat mismatched with Fox's lineup and instantly stale based on its resemblance to NBC's "Medical Investigation," which was clearly grown in the same Petri dish. [15 Nov 2004, p.4]
  7. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 11, 2013
    30
    Not only will reality-show fans be disappointed, so will anybody looking for a little humanity sprinkled in with the enormous overdose of pretentious claptrap. [16 Nov 2004, p.F1]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing show, Dr. House is an incredibly charismatic and complex character and Hugh Laurie does such a tremendous job of playing that role.Amazing show, Dr. House is an incredibly charismatic and complex character and Hugh Laurie does such a tremendous job of playing that role. The show does a great job of balancing drama and comedy along with the characters changing/evolving over time. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    This was tied for my favourite TV show, ever. I was saddened when they announced that Dr. Gregory House would not be in any more strangeThis was tied for my favourite TV show, ever. I was saddened when they announced that Dr. Gregory House would not be in any more strange adventures which somehow tie into the plot to save the patient in the end. Collapse
  3. Jul 17, 2017
    10
    This is one of the best series, I wish I had finished his broadcast.
    House is an arrogant **** but at the same time a genius.
    The serial is
    This is one of the best series, I wish I had finished his broadcast.
    House is an arrogant **** but at the same time a genius.
    The serial is about Dr. House, Dr. Wilson and Dr. Cuddy.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    I love House. I love how thoughtful the lines in it are, I love the puzzles and how nicely they tie in with the side-drama between the mainI love House. I love how thoughtful the lines in it are, I love the puzzles and how nicely they tie in with the side-drama between the main characters. I love how each of the medical mysteries are different throughout the seasons. I love what an **** House is because even though he's an **** he's a funny **** at least. I love how smoothly new characters get introduced and little by little, layers about them get peeled off so you learn more and more details just as you would get to know an actual person. It balances drama with intellect and comedy just beautifully.... showing the characters as they evolve and change and grow throughout the series while of course saving the lives of many interesting patients.

    Admittedly, I would love to give it a 10 but the reason I can't is because I really can't say I enjoyed the 8th/last season as much as I loved the others. I own all of them on DVD (just before they got put up on netflix) and although I'll watch any of the seasons multiple times I don't watch the last one nearly as much. Secondly, I do have to point out that, for the most part, the layout of the show is all the same and you sort of come to expect it. It's enjoyable but....still....redundant....
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2017
    8
    very informative,makes me a little more paranoid about my health issue. no unnecessary drama, this would be better if the show explain some ofvery informative,makes me a little more paranoid about my health issue. no unnecessary drama, this would be better if the show explain some of medical words so the viewer doesnt feel left out. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2015
    7
    One of those I watched because the Mrs kept putting it on but after a while it wasn't half bad. It's well written, very well acted and lightOne of those I watched because the Mrs kept putting it on but after a while it wasn't half bad. It's well written, very well acted and light enough to watch during the day (for those of you with kids).

    Even if this kind of series is not your thing you can't deny that Dr House is interesting and a total legend :)
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House is losing its charm! Story lines are becoming redundant. I used to like this show...What happened?
    It seems like they love connection between House and Cuddy knocked things overboard for me, at that point I grabbed my life vest and jumped off the House Boat. I haven't stopped watching it completely, just not as often as I used to. After 13 left, and they killed off Kutner (Kal Penn) the boat start capsizing.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers