• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 127

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2013
    4
    How i met your mother is starting to annoy everyone as the jokes are repetitive, Ted, Marshall & Lilly have started to get boring. There were only 5-6 good episodes in the season which includes the PLAYBOOK. The story line and the characters seem to be awfully close to NBC's ''F.R.I.E.N.D.S'', but friends steals the show with better writing and acting which HIMYM seems to lack. Only Neil's role as Barney has helped CBS to keep this show on air for 5 seasons. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    4
    This season felt like an experiment to me. The experiment being whether or not the writers could prolong this incredibly popular series without (but certainly hinting at) developing the title storyline. The simple answer is no, they can't. I believe How I Met Your Mother will be an unfortunate lesson for all future writers. Don't base an entire show on a closed-ended premise like this. If it is something people will constantly want to know then holding out will just frustrate the viewers. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I never knew about this show until very recently and I accidentally watched an episode and after that I was hooked, since then i have watched every single episode ever made of the TV Show and it is absolutely amazing
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Despite a few hit and miss episodes How I Met Your Mother's fifth season continued to demonstrate all the qualities that made the previous four years so watchable on a fairly regular basis.

    Sure the clever use of flashbacks and cutaways may not have quite the same impact they had when the show first started but episodes like 'The Playbook' and 'The Perfect Week', which must surely rank
    amongst the best the show has ever produced, are a perfect illustration of its unique brand of storytelling and it is very rare not to have a good few laughs along the way. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This is nothing like friends, just people do not want to move on.....and they don't have to, but they also don't have to bring down every other show because this is a refreshing new show and is really funny! It has a great cast and once you start watching it.....you have to go buying every other series, it is just this AWESOME fire deep within you, a LEGENDARY watch!
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This show has a great cast , brilliant story lines , funny one-liners , believable plot and a huge amount of suspense as America , Europe and the rest of the world wait to find out who is the mother of , what has seem to become, our own.
  7. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    An amazing show, NPH is outstanding and the others are irresistible! It is a knock-out, as NPH would say, it's LEGEN.....wait for it.......DARY! So funny and has it's deep moments! Incredible, beware though, you might get hooked on fun!
  8. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing series! I love it an I am totally hooked on it! I am one of the thousands upon thousands of people that really want to know who is the mother and how we meet her! I love it, it is funny, and has a lot of suspense!
  9. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best season from How I Met Your Mother for me. Some outrageous comedy, stupidly funny romance and much more makes this worth watching. The way in which the dopplegangers and the LIly pregnancy storyline unravels is marvelous. Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    And the madness continues! This series is amazing! This show is so exciting, refreshing and laugh-out-loud funny! SO MUCH BETTER THAN F.R.I.E.N.D.S. ! !
  11. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    HIMYM Season 5 is really great. The whole cast delivers great acting and a bunch of one liners. Some of my favorite episodes are Double Date, Robin 101, The Sexless Innkeeper, Duel Citizenship, The Playbook, Slapsgiving 2, The Window, The Perfect Week, Hooked, Twin Beds, Robots vs. Wrestlers, The Wedding Bride, and Doppelgangers. This was another solid season. Overall Score= 85/100

There are no critic reviews yet.