• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
How I Met Your Mother Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How I Met Your Mother is a comedy about Ted (Josh Radnor) and how he fell in love. It all starts when Ted's best friend, Marshall (Jason Segel), drops the bombshell that he's going to propose to his long-time girlfriend, Lily (Alyson Hannigan), a kindergarten teacher. At that moment, Ted realizes that he had better get a move on if he too hopes to find true love. Helping him in his quest is Barney (Neil Patrick Harris), a friend with endless, sometimes outrageous opinions, a penchant for suits and a foolproof way to meet women. When Ted meets Robin (Cobie Smulders), he's sure it's love at first sight, but destiny may have something else in store. The series is narrated through flashbacks from the future.

    Original air time: Monday 8:00 PM EST
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I never knew about this show until very recently and I accidentally watched an episode and after that I was hooked, since then i have watched every single episode ever made of the TV Show and it is absolutely amazing Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing series! I love it an I am totally hooked on it! I am one of the thousands upon thousands of people that really want to know who is the mother and how we meet her! I love it, it is funny, and has a lot of suspense! Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Being a long-term, big-time HIMYM fan, I can honestly say that Season 7 was quite mediocre. The season had its amazing episodes which retained the charm exerted in previous seasons, but there were too many episodes with boring script and dialogue, too less of the central gang 'hanging out' at the signature McLarens Bar, the painful and gradual downfall of Marshall as an exciting character and SO much more. The lowest point in the series was definitely "The Burning Beekeeper" - featuring terrible, unfunny script, lack of the HIMYM charm and the annoying characters of Marshall's boss and Lily's father appearing more and more. "46 Minutes" was disastrous as well when the writers tried to move us by showing the evolution of the group, but only annoyed people that they were going to see less of McLarens Bar. Also, the creators tried to take a break from Ted, which I think is the main reason why everything fell apart in this season. It went from Ted to Barney to Robin to Barney again and then Lily and Marshall, giving the show's first few episodes amazing depth to the script, while some episodes were fillers and extremely annoying to watch. The most disappointing, however, was the finale. Not only did it lack the drama that was present in previous finales, it also lacked the core group's chemistry and showed Marshall as a plain lame character who apparently doesn't have a sense of humour. Lily used to be amazing - her sluttiness, loyalty, kindness and pure fun was all loved. These features of her came on-and-off the show in this season - and especially shows how the writers are kind of forcing the characters to grow up. For example, her biggest sexual moment in that season was when she 'sleep cheated' on Marshall. Now that, I find, is pathetic. So, I prove my point that Lily and Marshall have become boring, dull and lame characters.
    Now onto Barney. For many years, Barney has been the point-blanc source of comedy from the show, with his memorable quotes, strong personality and pure hilarity. He has also faded away - he has 'matured' into someone better, but this new Barney is simply not funny. His jokes are less funny and it really is awkward when he acts like the stereotypical adult. The writers might as well remove his signature suit - they've already removed his womanising skill! Also, throughout the season, Robin as a character faltered - she was either depressed, cut-down or split from the gang (from Ted Mosby at least).
    So as you can see, in this season the characters all went downhill, BIG time. All because they tried to focus on different characters instead of only Ted, forced the characters to mature, attempted to force a touching 'evolution' of the group, removed the hilarity of Robin's pathetic career and removed Barney's womanising traits. There were many things that went wrong in this season.
    Though there weren't only bad things about the season. When Robin found out that she couldn't have babies, the series hit a new high-note in terms of emotional depth, beating Marshall's dad's death in the previous season. This led the surrounding episodes to be depressing as well, burning out any elements of comedy - there were some consequences to this happening. Also, the season premiere was fantastic, as well as "Trilogy Time", "Karma", "The Drunk Train" and "Ducky Tie" bringing back the hilarity and charm of HIMYM. Overall, I hope that the writers focus on Ted and in general improve the comedy and laughs produced, while maintaining the emotional depth that HIMYM is capable of as well as letting characters grow naturally instead of awkwardly maturing into lame characters. And with that, I pray that Season 8 of HIMYM is a jaw-dropping season that stuns fans and brings back the same feeling you get with classic HIMYM episodes!
    Amen.
    Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    For me a good sitcom requires two things, first and foremost it obviously needs to make viewers laugh but we also need to grow to care about the characters involved and How I Met Your Mother has always delivered on both counts, never more so than in this sixth season. One week we have episodes like ‘Glitter’ or ‘False Positive’ that demonstrate the shows intelligent and funny brand of storytelling and the next we have the back to back episodes entitled ‘Bad News’ and ‘Last Words’ that will have many long term fans tearing up.

    I know this is far from a universal opinion but after and up and down fifth season I personally think this is my favourite year so far.
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Seeing that none of these comments are from 2014, let me take the liberty to rant about how the final season has gone so far. I am extremely disappointed at what has become of this amazing show.. Personally I feel Seasons 1-4 were the best of the entire series! Example the Pineapple episode, the Liberty bell, the goat, the airport and beer episode and Ranjeet of course is just awesome!! The characters were FRESH, the jokes were hilarious and the catchphrases were downright LEGENDARY. This show didn't become a pop culture phenomenon just like that. And in contrast to the present, Barney wasn't the only funny character on the show. There's no chemistry between Robin and Barney ANYMORE and the whole Ted hung up on Robin thing just doesn't make sense to me if you put her character into context this season. I feel the biggest let down has been Jason Seagel.. They ruined Marshall for me in the later seasons when they turned him into this mature figure , It's weird to say but the truth is the reason I liked Marshall was because of how cool and spontaneous he was.. Now I feel he's just forcing his character too much.. Lily no longer is that evil awesome puppet master but simply a decoration piece. Overall It feels as if all the quirky things that I loved about this show have gone stale, The characters have gotten old and the writers have struggled to keep the show funny. I Can't even call it a real comedy anymore because suddenly every episode needs to end with a moral of the story happy ending sort of thing and don't even get me started on the annoying laughing track. This show should have really ended 2 seasons ago, they could've totally squeezed together seasons 8 and 9 , and season 7 just had no purpose to begin with (except for the season's opening and closing scenes). The biggest flaw is that we will only actually get to see Ted meet the mother in the final episode which means a proper foundation on which their relationship is built really isn't there, that's why all the scenes with them this season look so forced. I truly love this show and will watch it right to the end but I really feel they could've done it all much better towards the end.. Especially considering how amazing the show has been. I can’t complain about CBS's mediocre standards because the network's also home to great sitcoms like The big Bang theory and Two and a Half men. ] would give this series an overall score of 85/100 Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    5
    The main problem with a conceit like this is that once the writers become more concerned with capturing another season than with the integrity of the plot, the whole edifice starts to look a little shaky. Another issue is that we've heard half of these jokes before ad initum and they are quickly losing their amusement value. Even Neil Patrick Harris and Jason Segel are starting to sound predictable. Having started well with that tantalising clip of a "future wedding", the writers almost singularly fail to follow up on the promise of developing the core storyline, meaning that far too many of these episodes feel like filler, and not especially distracting at that... Collapse
  7. Feb 17, 2011
    0
    This show sucks big time if you haven't noticed CBS shoves it in your face every chance they get and always puts it before their better shows which everyone honestly thinks are better at least anyone who's not a poof and has a decent sense of humor.But commercial reviewers won't say that because it's entire purpose is to promote comedy disguised dramatic crap and push the gay agenda by making you feel associated with it they try to hide it because they know it's wrong not because of any religous reasons because gay people love that arguement just because biologically your not supposed to poke some other dude in the bung hole simple and gay people like neil patrick harris don't like the stigma of just being disturbed in the brain.Crazy people do weird gay-ish stuff all the time.neil says he did a great job pretending his character wasn't gay.I could tell he was a fairy the first first time I saw/heard him.That flamer could have set off the smoke alarms. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews