• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
How I Met Your Mother Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As season seven begins, Barney prepares to wed, Robin has new suitor, Ted discovers with his new building project is helping him in the ladies department, and Marshall finds his dream job.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This season of How I Met Your Mother continues the upwards trend it has displayed since its arguable low in season five with witty dialogue and an amazing cast. In quality, HIMYM and The Big Bang Theory clearly distance themselves from the otherwise redundant CBS comedies, and retain both humour and niveau. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Being a long-term, big-time HIMYM fan, I can honestly say that Season 7 was quite mediocre. The season had its amazing episodes which retained the charm exerted in previous seasons, but there were too many episodes with boring script and dialogue, too less of the central gang 'hanging out' at the signature McLarens Bar, the painful and gradual downfall of Marshall as an exciting character and SO much more. The lowest point in the series was definitely "The Burning Beekeeper" - featuring terrible, unfunny script, lack of the HIMYM charm and the annoying characters of Marshall's boss and Lily's father appearing more and more. "46 Minutes" was disastrous as well when the writers tried to move us by showing the evolution of the group, but only annoyed people that they were going to see less of McLarens Bar. Also, the creators tried to take a break from Ted, which I think is the main reason why everything fell apart in this season. It went from Ted to Barney to Robin to Barney again and then Lily and Marshall, giving the show's first few episodes amazing depth to the script, while some episodes were fillers and extremely annoying to watch. The most disappointing, however, was the finale. Not only did it lack the drama that was present in previous finales, it also lacked the core group's chemistry and showed Marshall as a plain lame character who apparently doesn't have a sense of humour. Lily used to be amazing - her sluttiness, loyalty, kindness and pure fun was all loved. These features of her came on-and-off the show in this season - and especially shows how the writers are kind of forcing the characters to grow up. For example, her biggest sexual moment in that season was when she 'sleep cheated' on Marshall. Now that, I find, is pathetic. So, I prove my point that Lily and Marshall have become boring, dull and lame characters.
    Now onto Barney. For many years, Barney has been the point-blanc source of comedy from the show, with his memorable quotes, strong personality and pure hilarity. He has also faded away - he has 'matured' into someone better, but this new Barney is simply not funny. His jokes are less funny and it really is awkward when he acts like the stereotypical adult. The writers might as well remove his signature suit - they've already removed his womanising skill! Also, throughout the season, Robin as a character faltered - she was either depressed, cut-down or split from the gang (from Ted Mosby at least).
    So as you can see, in this season the characters all went downhill, BIG time. All because they tried to focus on different characters instead of only Ted, forced the characters to mature, attempted to force a touching 'evolution' of the group, removed the hilarity of Robin's pathetic career and removed Barney's womanising traits. There were many things that went wrong in this season.
    Though there weren't only bad things about the season. When Robin found out that she couldn't have babies, the series hit a new high-note in terms of emotional depth, beating Marshall's dad's death in the previous season. This led the surrounding episodes to be depressing as well, burning out any elements of comedy - there were some consequences to this happening. Also, the season premiere was fantastic, as well as "Trilogy Time", "Karma", "The Drunk Train" and "Ducky Tie" bringing back the hilarity and charm of HIMYM. Overall, I hope that the writers focus on Ted and in general improve the comedy and laughs produced, while maintaining the emotional depth that HIMYM is capable of as well as letting characters grow naturally instead of awkwardly maturing into lame characters. And with that, I pray that Season 8 of HIMYM is a jaw-dropping season that stuns fans and brings back the same feeling you get with classic HIMYM episodes!
    Amen.
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    Still has good jokes and good stories. It is more about the other characters than Ted these days but the Barney and Robin story is still good as long as they don't do too much Ross and Racheling. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2012
    3
    Season 7 seems to show the writers' uncertainty of the show. My guess is Alyson Hannigan's pregnancy has roCked the momentum of the show or something to that effect. Season 7 has lost the suspense of meeting Ted's wife. Not sure how this series will last at this point. Collapse
  5. May 12, 2013
    2
    What the hell is wrong with the actors & writers they have killed the only funny thing which has carried them through 6 seasons Barney Barney has started to suck as the writers do not have any new funny things for him to say. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    1
    I agree completely with Claire. My husband and I are great fans of the show, but after watching the latest episode last night we decided to abandon the show. The season has been pretty bad from the beginning, but we had hope. No more after the latest episode. The the plot line and writing were terrible. I actually had to look away at one point because I was so embarrassed for the show. I just feel sad. The show used to be great. Did they get new writers? Something has changed and hopefully they will wrap it up this season. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    A once funny show has lost its charm. Perhaps there are new writers. Perhaps bringing in Kal Penn was a bad idea. Whatever the reason, it's over. it's not witty, the curve-ball humor is gone, and the show will lose fans. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews