• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 108
  2. Negative: 22 out of 108

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    When i first watched this season i actually thought it was decent and that the other seven seasons where better, but after watching the whole series over again i realized that season eight is actually one of the best HIMYM seasons. It has great writing and one liners, and is almost as amazing as the first season. Some of my favorite episodes are Farhampton, Who Wants to Be a Godparent, The Autumn of Break-Ups, The Stamp Tramp, Twelve Horny Women, Lobster Crawl, The Over-Correction, The Final Page Part One and Two, Band or DJ, Ring Up, P.S I Love You, Bad Crazy, The Ashtray, Weekend at Barney's, The Time Travelers, The Bro Mitzvah, Something Old, and Something New. This season is full of great moments, especially seeing what Ted's future wife looks like at the end of the season. I cant wait to watch the ninth season. Overall Score= 95/100 Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    The jokes are repetitive and simply not funny...HIMYM should' have ended in the fifth season itself when there was a decline in viewership ratings. Barney has become pathetic which has also contributed for this series to fall as he was the only funny character when the show started
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Back when season one started out I was hooked. I wanted to know who Ted Mosby's future wife was going to be and thus I have followed the show from Victoria to Zoey to the "cliffhanger girl" at the end of season eight. But now as we have reached the end of this season the comedy has become a bit dull and the pace of the story has become quite slow which disappointed me. There truly isn't much difference between Ted from season one and Ted from season eight. I also like to add that one important introduction scene at the end of season eight could have been placed in any episode throughout the eight seasons and that comes across to me as horrible writing for this character because she should be introduced so casually. Overall season eight was average and sadly the introduction at the end of the season was nowhere as interesting as Ted Mosby's previous love interests but despite that I am sticking with the show because season nine is going to be the last season. To be honest I feel that the show was going strong for me until the end of season six. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The first several seasons of this show were great. There was a lot of comedy and romance and it was overall very enjoyable to watch. Now, I feel like the show has just dragged on too long. I no longer find every episode good and I kinda wished they ended the series earlier when it was still a great TV show.
  5. May 11, 2013
    0
    the writers of this show are sucking, its not funny anymore, they are trying too hard to make it funny. The acting is pathetic, Neil's role has let CBS to run this series for so long, the network should have shut this show down after the 5th season.
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    It's really hard to keep a tv series funny for a season but how i met your mother have been doing it for 8 season now and this is why this is the best sitcom ever with a slight, soft touch of romance along the side. Girls look for the love storyline in it. Guys look forward for Barney's new pickup lines and ways to get girls. i saw you could benefit a lot from this show by entertainment and life lessons. What a show. i do not want to see this end. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Although the season had a few below average episode, it still had it's share of absolutely great ones, revealing more about Ted's journey of meeting The One, than any other season ever has.
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    0
    Just kill me now. I am sticking with this show to the bloody end as I have invested my time into the first seven seasons. However, I am very disappointed in this final season. It's like the writers just gave up. If you are the type of person who purchases seasons on DVD you might want to wait for this one to show up used in the bargain bin at that shop that buys and sells DVD's and other media. I foresee a 99 cent special at your goodwill in a few years. I can see why no one wants to marry Ted, he never grew up. Collapse
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    Many a long term viewer of How I Met Your Mother may see fit to moan about several aspects of the show over recent years and in particular the fact that after eight years we still haven’t met the mother of his kids. To those people I would remind them that this is a sit-com and, while it’s perhaps not quite as consistently sharp as it was in its prime, I still find myself laughing out loud during almost every episode and that’s enough for me. Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2013
    0
    This show is missing what made it so funny before. The show used to be a goofy funny show. Now the writing has gotten terrible and they are trying to make it to dramatic
  11. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    It's back, and with a nice start to the season, traditional HIMYM at it's finest with new twists, skits and laughs. Greatly looking forwards to this season as it could be close to its last.

There are no critic reviews yet.